We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Took my mother for a treat as she had just come out of hospital to the bistro for a early bird which clearly says two meals for £16, what a rip off it is every thing is extra veg etc and you end up spending over £50 which I don't mind if you have had a decent meal I had belly pork as a main, and all it came with was a apple pure and a bit of black pudding garnished with a green leaves on to!!, and my mum had fish which came with a tea spoon of spinach and two potatoes, I can't believe that they can serve meals like that a hotel of that standard. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone as you don't feel like you have had a meal!!. TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!! Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzy2011conwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

The perfect honeymoon venue. Rich in history and grandeur. Our stay was enhanced by the genuine warmth and eagerness to make our stay special by first rate staff who were incredibly pleasant and personable. The Spa facilities are amongst the very best you will encounter. Costly but worth that extra in our opinion.

Room Tip: Stasyed in a more expensive Snowdian View Suite within the main Hall. The view was everything you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My partner decided to spring a surprise getaway to Bodysgallen one day whilst I was feeling rather ill and had never been to Wales before. We drove up from London and stayed in the beautiful bottom floor of the Engine Room with some amazing old artefacts outside of the building. We loved it so much there, we kept extending our stay, and making friends with the locals who worked there. We ate at the restaurant who even made bespoke food for me due to my illness and allergies which was absolutely lovely of them! I'm somewhat OCD with my fitness regime so often enjoyed some relaxing time doing laps every morning in the pool, and also had a wonderful massage. The pool/spa was just a quick 30 second jog from our door which was perfect! They gave goggles out too just in case you forget your own. We asked those who worked there where was best to go exploring, they each drew out directions for us and each day we tried heading to the places everyone had suggested. I swear I've never been so blown away by Britain's countryside before! The whole feel at Bodysgallen was so restful, tranquil and very clean and friendly. I do go for a bit of an exploration in the main hall, where some friends and couples sat quietly for afternoon tea in front of the fire place. We also ventured down through the gardens and woods to take a look over the town and see the surrounding hills in the morning, and there's a beautiful meditation garden you can sit and watch the birds and flowers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimLeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at this hotel. Every aspect of the hotel, the staff, food, decor, gardens and Spa contributed to making this a very special place indeed.
We stayed in Park Cottage, private and very spacious just a few short steps to the main building.
We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We held the entire wedding event for our daughter and new son in law at the beautiful Bodysgallen Hall on the last Saturday in January 2012. We had exclusive use of the hotel for 24 hours during which time we held the marriage in the annex room provided for the purpose, followed by a reception and dinner in the main building. Our 50 guests stayed over night in the wonderful rooms throughout the building and some of the cottages.

The staff were absolutely excellent with very attentive, but discrete, service from start to finish. Every little request, and we had a few, was executed without the least difficulty. At the reception the canapes were quite excellent, certainly not your ordinary canapes! The dinner was delicious, quite the finest roast beef I have had for many a long day. The table service was top notch.

The bedrooms are all very different, each being fitted, furnished and decorated in its own style. The bathrooms are what one should expect of an old country house - variable in size and furnished with a certain amount of historically interesting fittings and plumbing! But it all worked well. The building is beautiful inside and out, set in stunning countryside with gorgeous views over Snowdonia with Conwy and its castle in the middle distance. Neighboring trees have been cut to ensure good views of the castle from the hall. Even in the coldest of a short January afternoon the gardens were lovely with the early bulbs making a show. The snowdrops along the drive were in full bloom; the parkland surrounding the house was occupied by content sheep - what an idyllic approach.

Our guests have been unanimous in their effusive appreciation of a wonderful event – the very best wedding most have ever been to - they tell us. Several of our guests also made use of the Spa and thoroughly enjoyed their swims.

Expensive? Well, yes, but reasonable value for money when you consider the entire package, and competitive with other establishments offering similar facility, but often without the historic beauty. Only one item I thought was over priced - Champagne at £70 a bottle. And if I was going to make one change to the place? - the four deep gullies across the drive - there must be a more comfortable way of getting rid of the surface water!

We don't have any more daughters to marry off, but if we did we would have no hesitation in going to Bodysgallen Hall again. At least we can go and enjoy lunch when we are passing that way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side get views of Conwy and the mountains; on the north side views over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ww1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
3.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
1.8 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,753 reviews
3.6 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
979 reviews
23.6 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
34.9 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $352 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing