We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Tram Chips

Fish Tram Chips
Ranked #20 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
392 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

While staying in Conwy, we drove to the nearby seaside resort of Llandudno for takeaway fish and chips for dinner. We bought it from a shop near the tramway to the top of the Great Orme, cleverly named Fish Tram Chips. We both decided on haddock. We carried our meal and walked down to the seafront and found a bench to sit on. We ate under the watchful eye of a giant seagull. The batter was lovely and crisp though a little greasy. The fish was very good. The chips were good also but we learnt something out eating hot food out in the UK. It gets cold very quickly when the air temperature is only 10 degrees.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarjofromBrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    152
    82
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We visited on the 13th May, based mainly on some of the reviews on this site. All in all we found it to be pretty poor overall, and I base this review on the outlet being a fiah and chip shop rather than a restaurant. We bought a cod meal and a haddock meal. The fish itself, in both cases, was delightful, but the batter was very poor; thick, strange tasting and greasy.
The chips left us both with a peculiar feeling of having been pre-cooked, fried oven chips was the best comparison that we could come up with.
Mushy peas passed the test, but even the bread and butted had the consistency of having been left exposed to the atmosphere for a good few hours.
And then the bill.......£20+ for two people to eat a less than average chippy lunch - simply doesn't stack up.

If you walk down the hill to the main shopping street you will find 2/3 other options for significantly less money. We haven't eaten at them so I can't review the food, safe to say they wouldn't have to be anything special to better Fish Tram Chips.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RinkyDinkRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Llandudno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We visited Tram and chips on the wednesday 9th of May, a friendly little chip shop with retaurant just across from the tram station, the fish was excellent, lovely crisp batter and soft flakey haddock, the chips were cooked to perfection, crisp outside, and fluffy inside, the staff were friendly and the service first class, with the added bonus of watching the trams come and go from the station.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adi_c309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Ever fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We visited this restaurant on Saturday, 5th May. We had a delicious meal. Fish was outstanding, fresh, flaky, crisp thin batter. The chips were also first class( were the potatoes pre-cooked? ) crisp on outside, soft inside. The mushy peas were home done and tasted like it, perfect. With friendly staff, fresh flowers on table, all bright and clean we really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you to Steve, and Alison. We hope to be back sometime.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victorianchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a great little F&C shop opposite the Victorian Tram Station - there are also tables to eat in. Some recent reviews on here are disappointing however we enjoyed our meal there in the last couple of days - tasty, generous portions. Someone else said the Mushy Peas were tastless - I enjoyed them. The service seemed good.....so I would recommend it and I would go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Tram Chips also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Fish Tram Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing