We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great spot!”

Review of Friston Down

Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
You can enjoy exclusive use of the pool at set times of the day Master bedroom with natural light and good quality furnishings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
You can enjoy exclusive use of the pool at set times of the day
Master bedroom with natural light and good quality furnishings
Sunset from your garden at Friston Down Cottage
Enjoy a drink overlooking the village green at East Dean
The deli on the village green at East Dean
Twin bedroom as the third bedroom works particularly well for families
Family bathroom with bath, bidet and separate walk-in shower
Spacious lounge with stereo system and Sky TV
The view over the South Downs from the garden
The view of the buildings from the drive
The view from the court yard in front of your cottage
The view of the cottage from the garden at the rear
Beachy Head with its spectacular white chalk cliffs nearby - don't go too near the edge!
Second family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Second double bedroom with great hanging space
Family bathroom upstairs with the master bedroom
Cycle the promenade at Eastbourne nearby
The view towards Eastbourne from Beachy Head
Character chair in the bedroom
French doors leaad out onto your private terrace
The beach at Birling Gap nearby is ideal for family fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eastbourne, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AustinR60...
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great spot!”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 weeks while traveling with 2 small children and our in-laws. The place was perfection! Large grounds were perfect for our 2 year old to run around, and great for entertaining our family who lives in the area. The property owners were very accommodating and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. Lovely views, great hikes, and a great property to come home to. 10 minute walk to a bus stop, so very easy to get around, even without a car. We will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds and yard
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Thanks for helping other guests with your feedback.
So pleased that you enjoyed Friston Cottage - it really is a wonderful place isn't it, with the views over the South Downs towards the sea, the pool, huge gardens and the most hospitable owners you could ever meet.
I hope we can book this again for you.
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you love the countryside, the wide open spaces, the white cliffs of the Seven Sisters, this is the place to go. Perfect environment for hiking, mountain biking and other outdoor activities. Ending the day with a good glass of wine and a tasty meal at the local pub.
As for the cottage, it is all positive. Located on top of a hill, perfect quiet spot, with an amazing view overlooking Friston Forest. Also close to the village green of East Dean. Cottage is clean and very well equipped. And the hosts/owners do just about anything to assure you do not lack anything. We had a wonderful holiday!
Susan W, The Netherlands

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Thank you Susan for your feedback on Friston Down Cottage.
At Exclusively Eastbourne we are extremely fortunate to have some amazing properties in our portfolio, but this cottage, it's location and the goodwill and service from the owners really does take some beating.
I do hope we can help you again
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerla v
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in a lovely part of England”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

In 2 hours from Dover. The landscape is beautiful and the house is perfectly located in a very quiet lane, with the owner's house nearby but not overlooking. Inside, it's clean and comfortable with a large flat screen tv , cd’s, dvd’s and a modern hifi with iPod player/charger. WIFI available.

Linen and towels are extra. There's a washing machine, dishwasher and a microwave. Plenty of pots, pans, dishes, plates, glasses, bowls, cutlery, utensils etc. There are also lots of games, books, magazines and dvds to keep you occupied in the evenings.
The garden is beautiful with a swimmingpool and a large field to play and rest.
The hosts are sp friendly: we had a good time and will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: environment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the warm feedback - great to hear you enjoyed the idyllic location, tempting swimming pool and warm hosts at Friston Down Cottage - it really is the amazing combination, isn't it?!
I think something has changed in translation - towels and linen are definitely included in the price, as is the WiFi and all utilities so there isn't anything extra to pay on top.
Looking forward to having you back another time
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0Deirdre
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at The Cottage at Friston Down was excellent.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really impressed with the high standard of accommodation and how very homely and spacious it felt. The cottage is equipped with all the latest gadgets and kitchen utensils. Extremely clean and comfortable. As a family of 6 consisting of a 2 year old, toddler, parents and grandparents we had quite a few different needs – The Cottage at Friston Down was perfect for us with the outside terrace/patio, large flat garden, heated pool, table tennis table, football goals and of course Dillon the puppy!! The location was ideal; a 5 minute drive to Eastbourne, beaches, walks, supermarkets and Druscillas Park. We had a very good time at Friston Down and Phil and Carolyn the owners are very welcoming and helpful. Thanks again to Phil for everything.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Wonderful to hear you were impressed with the quality and size of the accommodation.
Phil and Carolyn genuinely enjoy having others experience their cottage and I think this is reflected in the welcome and general hospitality they offer. That said, they will also leave guests alone if that is what is wanted and they seem to instinctively know and react accordingly.
Thanks for finding time to leave a review and I'm sure the owners will be smiling when I pass on your comments!
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkFamil...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extra special. The place is out of this world but the owners make it a place never to be forgotten. My children aged 2 and 3 are already asking when we can go back to our holiday home and I can see them wanting to return year after year as there was something there for all ages. Everything we needed and much more was provided in the kitchen and there was every mod con going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time at the cottage.
It consistently blows away expectations (here at Exclusively Eastbourne we would never over-sell any of our properties - we'd much rather have our guests enjoy similar experiences to yours!), so to hear it was 'out of this world' really does make me smile :)
The overall quality of the property and all the fittings really are outstanding, aren't they?
Thanks for taking time to pass on your thoughts - I do hope other potential guests find them helpful (but not so much that it's always full when you want to come back!)
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing