We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our stay at The Cottage at Friston Down was...”

Review of Friston Down

Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
You can enjoy exclusive use of the pool at set times of the day Master bedroom with natural light and good quality furnishings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Friston Down Cottage is an annexe to the larger house at Friston Down
You can enjoy exclusive use of the pool at set times of the day
Master bedroom with natural light and good quality furnishings
Sunset from your garden at Friston Down Cottage
Enjoy a drink overlooking the village green at East Dean
The deli on the village green at East Dean
Twin bedroom as the third bedroom works particularly well for families
Family bathroom with bath, bidet and separate walk-in shower
Spacious lounge with stereo system and Sky TV
The view over the South Downs from the garden
The view of the buildings from the drive
The view from the court yard in front of your cottage
The view of the cottage from the garden at the rear
Beachy Head with its spectacular white chalk cliffs nearby - don't go too near the edge!
Second family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Second double bedroom with great hanging space
Family bathroom upstairs with the master bedroom
Cycle the promenade at Eastbourne nearby
The view towards Eastbourne from Beachy Head
Character chair in the bedroom
French doors leaad out onto your private terrace
The beach at Birling Gap nearby is ideal for family fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eastbourne, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
0Deirdre
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at The Cottage at Friston Down was excellent.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really impressed with the high standard of accommodation and how very homely and spacious it felt. The cottage is equipped with all the latest gadgets and kitchen utensils. Extremely clean and comfortable. As a family of 6 consisting of a 2 year old, toddler, parents and grandparents we had quite a few different needs – The Cottage at Friston Down was perfect for us with the outside terrace/patio, large flat garden, heated pool, table tennis table, football goals and of course Dillon the puppy!! The location was ideal; a 5 minute drive to Eastbourne, beaches, walks, supermarkets and Druscillas Park. We had a very good time at Friston Down and Phil and Carolyn the owners are very welcoming and helpful. Thanks again to Phil for everything.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Wonderful to hear you were impressed with the quality and size of the accommodation.
Phil and Carolyn genuinely enjoy having others experience their cottage and I think this is reflected in the welcome and general hospitality they offer. That said, they will also leave guests alone if that is what is wanted and they seem to instinctively know and react accordingly.
Thanks for finding time to leave a review and I'm sure the owners will be smiling when I pass on your comments!
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkFamil...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extra special. The place is out of this world but the owners make it a place never to be forgotten. My children aged 2 and 3 are already asking when we can go back to our holiday home and I can see them wanting to return year after year as there was something there for all ages. Everything we needed and much more was provided in the kitchen and there was every mod con going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time at the cottage.
It consistently blows away expectations (here at Exclusively Eastbourne we would never over-sell any of our properties - we'd much rather have our guests enjoy similar experiences to yours!), so to hear it was 'out of this world' really does make me smile :)
The overall quality of the property and all the fittings really are outstanding, aren't they?
Thanks for taking time to pass on your thoughts - I do hope other potential guests find them helpful (but not so much that it's always full when you want to come back!)
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanP52744
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I confess I have never written a review before, but do feel the need to express my overwhelming satisfaction with our recent holiday at this location. The accommodation is excellent, beautifully finished, with so many personal touches which indicate that this is a labour of love for owners Phil and Carolyn, and not simply a business. All rooms are well maintained, especially master bedroom, lounge and kitchen/diner, and both bathrooms are spacious and modern. The gardens are immaculate, and the views of the surrounding countryside breath-taking. It is such a quiet peaceful location, we had no disturbances and felt totally at home. The boys loved the TV and video system, and the kitchen had every possible utensil required. And the swimming pool really was comfortably warm! Phil and Carolyn are perfect hosts, balancing attentiveness with privacy. The place oozes quality and thoughtfulness, and I could find no fault. I really miss eating breakfast on the patio in the mornings, and watching the sun go down in the evenings! Will certainly look to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and grounds
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
If anything is capable of prompting a first review I think it is Friston Down Cottage :)
Great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, quality of accommodation and the love that the owners invested in this most amazing place.
Patio breakfasts and sensational sunsets - I do hope you get back to experience them again!
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Salo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations. Incredible house, lovely family, fantastic views.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

It was better than home from home. Spacious and very comfortable. We had a great time and hope to go back. Lots to see and do and easy for day trips to London. We brought back shells and chalk from the beach but above all very happy memories. Many thanks to the warm and wonderful family.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2014
Thanks for the review - and wonderful to hear that Friston Down Cottage was even better than you had hoped!
It feels very secluded, but is actually very close to Beachy Head and Birling Gap, situated as it is right on the South Downs Way. The views from the bedroom really are amazing aren't they?!
Thanks again
Carl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dajster
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Excellent Hosts And A Really Nice Cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I would highly recommend Friston Down In Eastbourne, quite simply the owners couldn't do more to make you feel welcome, Phil is extremely knowledgeable about the local area with good suggestions for a day out, he's also a really nice guy, his wife Carolyne is an excellent cook, it was my birthday when we were there and they cooked our family an excellent meal. The accommodation is excellent, with really comfortable beds, full sky package and wifi. On arriving we agreed times with Phil and Carolyn when we could use the pool, no hassle there and their family is willing to fit around you. The pool is a really good size and heated to 30oC when we were there. I would highly recommend this property and if we were ever in the Eastbourne area again I would most definitley stay here. Well done Phil and Carolyn, thanks from our family for a great week spent with you.

Our family was 2 adults, 3 children aged 4 - 13.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts were excellent
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review (and what lovely words!).
The accommodation really is a genuine gem - a very rare example of a wonderful property, in a sublime location, combined with owners who are extremely helpful - I so please it suited your family perfectly.
Thanks again
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing