We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,362)
Filter reviews
2,362 results
Traveller rating
1,293
776
196
62
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,293
776
196
62
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool sea view apple juice jacuzzi bath groupon deal sea front four poster bed lovely hotel on arrival breakfast was buffet style evening meal dining room short break standard room an upgrade restaurant staff plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 2,362 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We stay in Best Western quite a lot and this has been the best so far-
Staff on arrival where great and friendly, Room was great and could not Fault.
Bar and meal Great, Breakfast was brilliant, 100% would be returning.
one small thing Wi-Fi is 'The Cloud' and was very slow and would not let me download pics.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thank you for your review.

Always to see a regular Best Western client visiting and I am glad to see you had a great stay with us.

I note your point about our wifi which is very unusual for us as we are 'fibre' and usually provide a fast service and I will definitely check this out.

Thank you for mentioning our food and my staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for 3 nights break. On check in we were upgraded to a executive room when we went to the room there was no bath just a personal preference of our. We went to reception and asked to change room with a bath the two receptionist could not do enough to help and accommodate our need very swiftly we were given a choice of two room. We settled in our room very comfortable clean and very warm and cosy. Room cleaned very well everyday. The breakfast was the best I have ever had you get a buffet and a choice from a menu I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg. All the restaurant and bar staff are very polite and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as we went out and about at night trying different places to eat out. The swimming pool is pleasant and a nice touch to the hotel. The hotel is across from the beach you can sit outside and have your tea and coffee watching the waves come in. The hotel is a 15 min walk from the station the taxis are cheap. The hotel is close to the pier a nice Victorian tea room in the pier. If you are looking for a good pub with nice food the crown and anchor is a 5 min walk up the road they have entertainment Thursday Friday Saturday. We would like to say thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay pleasant and relaxing. We will defiantly be returning in the summer. If you are looking for a pleasant hotel warm clean good food and excellent staff good location this is the hotel. Any body who complains about this hotel must be mad.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thank you for your review.

Great to see that your 3 night with us were so good for you and that we were able to upgrade you as well, which we always will if we can.

Thank you for saying our Breakfasts were so good and only if it was that easy to say constructive criticism from other clients is 'mad' but I appreciate your candor and point.

Thank you for mention my staff also as they all appreciate it and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Excellent facilities, lovely, large, high room. Wonderful staff who are extremely helpful - hoowever - beware the restaurant. The Full English Breakfast was made totally unappetizing simply because it was grossly under-cooked. Pink and white bacon, half cooked sausages (good quality too). Only the scrambled egg was cooked to extinction. The evening meal was loaded with salt - and lacked a few fresh vegetables, which would have lifted the experience. Shame, nice hotel ib good location, but h - the food!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank daffodil603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you found our facilities excellent.

My apologies for your restaurant experience, this has been looked into and adjusted, generally most of our reviews on food are very positive as you can see so it is really disappointing that we let you down on this occasion.

Thank you though, for mentioning my staff and hopefully you will let us try again i the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Second time we have stayed at this hotel 19th -21st February.Greeted in a very professional way & immediately given an upgrade - room 303 - to an executive room.We were on a Buyagift deal so dinner was included which was delicious.Breakfast on both days was plentiful & the staff were extremely friendly & helpful.Can't wait for our next visit.Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this hotel - haven't been disappointed on either visit
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HelpingHands89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thank you for your review.

Good to see you return to see us again and we will always upgrade if we can.

Thank you for mentioning our food offering and my staff.

Always keep an eye on our website for the very best monthly offer which is always great value for money and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Stayed on a one night Travelzoo deal which included breakfast and a two course evening meal. We had a sea-view room which was very spacious and comfortable.

All the staff were very friendly and the evening meal was excellent. The waiters were all smartly dressed, polite and helpful. My wife is a coleliac and they provided gluten free toast for breakfast. The lounge and bar area is very comfortable and the drink prices very reasonable.

The hotel has a small indoor heated pool which was a bonus, it was a lovely temperature so just right for relaxing after a day out.

Good location on the seafront and you can walk for a long way along the promenade. Parking was very easy right outside the hotel, but expect it would be different in the height of summer.

Overall and excellent one night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thank you for your review.

Good to see that you had a great overnighter with us on a recent deal.

Thank you for saying that our evening food offering was excellent and that my staff continued the general theme.

I agree that in the summer parking can be challenging but the good thing about this time of year is that it is really easy and very cheap.

We always will stock gluten free options for you and even if you would like something else always feel free to ask and we can adjust any dish accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews