We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Boyne House Guest House(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
USD 96
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Langtons(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 306
USD 276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 115
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Sheldon B&B(Eastbourne)
USD 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
USD 205
USD 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 126
USD 117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 166
USD 157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
332
91
21
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
91
21
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpillow menusuperior roombiscuitson arrivalhuge showerdvd collectionfresh fruitfull englishguest houselittle extraswarm welcomehot breakfasteggs benedictsuperb breakfastsmoked salmonkippers
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Having booked an impromptu night in Eastbourne I didn't do much research but my luck was in. For the price I would say this establishment is excellent. Great location (central but quiet). Beautifully kept interiors and a pleasant breakfast. I do appreciate it wouldn't be a great choice for people of poor mobility but that wasn't a concern for us. Would definitely return. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

My wife and I own a 4-Star Guest Lodge in Johannesburg so, have high expectations of similar establishments.
Mowbray can relax. It is a well-run boutique hotel in a good location, close to the sea and Town Centre. The room we stayed in was well-appointed and clean. Thoroughly enjoyed the comprehensive breakfasts served by friendly, competent staff. And, as for you, Angela, I have a job for you when you've had enough of the miserable UK weather and decide to emigrate to sunny South Africa ! Regards, Alan - Winchester Lodge, Johannesburg

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_Sampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We stopped here for 3 nights at short notice. The room was very comfortable with a choice of pillows. The breakfast choice was superb! It was a short walk to the center and we had free parking in the nearby street. The owners made us very welcome.
Very happy to recommend this hotel. We were on the third floor but there is a lift for all floors. Given a free map with discounts to local restaurants. I did struggle to get the hang of the shower!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrian100666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I'll list the good features:-
Location - a very short walk to the promenade, the seafront and an easy walk to town - all on the flat.
Easy, free all-day car parking on the street - courtesy of The Mowbray.
Caring, helpful staff - especially Angela and Lavinia. Nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent breakfasts with a great variety of fruit, cereals, cooked breakfasts, smoothies and good coffee. As much as you want.
A warm, comfortable, clean 2nd floor superior en-suite room with king size bed.
Overall, a very reasonable off-season, all-in price.

The negative issues will be well known to management and can be easily offset by the many good points mentioned above.

Our visit was November/December and it was obvious that the hotel has had a busy season and is now in need of some refurbishment and redecoration before the 2017 season. A survey by the owner of each room and guest areas will show missing caps and covers, broken items, worn carpets, worn and noisy plumbing. No need to go on - I'm sure it'll all be fixed in time for the new season. The owners seem to be determined to invest in the upkeep and improvements for the benefit of guests.

Last point should be mentioned first. The first step in the flight of steps from the street is very high and not easy to navigate for less mobile people - with or without luggage.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you for identifying that we are a large guest house. Sounds like perhaps you booked thinking we were a large hotel? I'm pleased that this did not cause you to overlook our positive points. We continuously review the state of our rooms and refurbish when funds allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The hotel was comfortable, staff brilliant, great breakfast a wide choice, would stay there again..a short walk to the seafront, shops ten minutes away...the room was so comfortable best night sleep for a long time...clean and comfortable,

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews