We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mowbray
Nearby Hotels
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 66*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
USD 155*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
USD 260*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
USD 51*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 72*
USD 70*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 187*
USD 182*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 52*
USD 50*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 177*
USD 153*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
322
88
20
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
88
20
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpillow menuon arrivalbiscuitsmurder mysterysuperior roomhuge showerfresh fruitfull englishdvd collectionguest houselittle extraswarm welcometennis courtshot breakfastsmoked salmoneggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I'll list the good features:-
Location - a very short walk to the promenade, the seafront and an easy walk to town - all on the flat.
Easy, free all-day car parking on the street - courtesy of The Mowbray.
Caring, helpful staff - especially Angela and Lavinia. Nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent breakfasts with a great variety of fruit, cereals, cooked breakfasts, smoothies and good coffee. As much as you want.
A warm, comfortable, clean 2nd floor superior en-suite room with king size bed.
Overall, a very reasonable off-season, all-in price.

The negative issues will be well known to management and can be easily offset by the many good points mentioned above.

Our visit was November/December and it was obvious that the hotel has had a busy season and is now in need of some refurbishment and redecoration before the 2017 season. A survey by the owner of each room and guest areas will show missing caps and covers, broken items, worn carpets, worn and noisy plumbing. No need to go on - I'm sure it'll all be fixed in time for the new season. The owners seem to be determined to invest in the upkeep and improvements for the benefit of guests.

Last point should be mentioned first. The first step in the flight of steps from the street is very high and not easy to navigate for less mobile people - with or without luggage.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you for identifying that we are a large guest house. Sounds like perhaps you booked thinking we were a large hotel? I'm pleased that this did not cause you to overlook our positive points. We continuously review the state of our rooms and refurbish when funds allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The hotel was comfortable, staff brilliant, great breakfast a wide choice, would stay there again..a short walk to the seafront, shops ten minutes away...the room was so comfortable best night sleep for a long time...clean and comfortable,

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The Mowbray is central to the town, beach, theatre and pier yet quiet and peaceful at night. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was outstanding. The little extras were very thoughtful. A smoothie with breakfast. Packs available with the little things you forget - toothbrush, toothpaste, razor and shaving gel etc. There is a bar and when the owners leave the premises there is an honesty bar and freezer with ice creams etc. Reasonably priced and can knock the socks of other bigger hotels. Parking is on the road with a voucher issued by the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a lift to all rooms but not dining room
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you so much for your kind views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Only stopped for one night for a concert but what a find. Met by a young lady who had apparently only been working 2 days but showed great professionalism and was very helpful in pointing out nearby eating spots. Location is terrific near to theatres and beach. room was on small side but hotel doesn't try to hide that some rooms are compact. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was excellent great choice with super English Breakfast. There were lots of other small things - the honesty bar, the very friendly lady at breakfast/reception in morning, the nice decor (the owners show pride in their hotel and clearly have spent money on maintaining it - not always obvious in many hotels nowadays). To top it all B&B rate was just £51 - great, great value. If staying in Eastbourne I would always book here in future.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room if available.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're pleased that you liked our small touches. Don't forget to contact us direct for the best rates when next coming to Eastbourne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

One of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in..

A lovely big room , windows over looking the theatre, massive shower and nice bathroom

All excellent and very clean..

Great location for everything, five mins walk into the town centre,

Don't believe booking.com there is no parking on site..

But the hotel supplies a pass and there's parking outside and about even with a large van I found places close by

And then the breakfast... Staff opened up early for me! Try getting that in a bland hotel chain

Lovely set out of everything cereals, fruits ect

Then a fresh full English to top it off

Highly recommend very highly


Thank you for all your hard work in making my stay so pleasant,

A real home from home in a beautifuly kept bnb, that puts many hotels to shame

Did I say excellent ?



Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank malcolm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themowbray, Owner at The Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Wow - thank you so much for your kind words. They really mean something when they come from someone who spends a lot of their time travelling away from home. Glad we were the home from home you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews