We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Maggiewolfe
Brisbane

Great night away

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 July 2023via mobile
Fantastic stay and the most wonderful views !
Beds / linen and amenities so luxurious. Will definitely come again.
Food amazing too !!
Easy drive from Brisbane and the hosts so generous.
Beautiful place in winter and would be fun in summer also.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount French Lodge, General Manager at Mount French Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 10 July 2023
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Mount French Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you had a great night away and enjoyed the wonderful views the lodge has to offer. It's fantastic to know that you found the beds, linen, and amenities to be luxurious, ensuring a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mount French Lodge for another memorable stay in the future.

Warmest regards,
The Mount French Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Cozy Queen room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
8.2 km from Mount French Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$129
  • Booking.com
25.8 km from Mount French Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
52.0 km from Mount French Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wild Lime Cottage with uninterrupted views
Contact accommodation for availability.
55.3 km from Mount French Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
56.3 km from Mount French Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
50.4 km from Mount French Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
57.5 km from Mount French Lodge
Free parking
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
60.3 km from Mount French Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Charlwood
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
190
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
190
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing hosts french lodge accommodation james serenity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2023

We enjoyed the most magnificant stay at Mt French, James, and Sophie, the hosts were extremely hospitable. The location and view are to die for, the food is delicious and the fact that you have this magic lodge to yourselves is perfect for any event or getaway, with extremely comfortable beds and views from the rooms. I can't wait to get back there. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount French Lodge, General Manager at Mount French Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Dear Kelly,

Thank you so much for your incredible review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a magnificent stay at Mount French Lodge. James, Sophie, and our entire team strive to provide exceptional hospitality, and we're delighted that their hospitality made a positive impact on your experience.

We couldn't agree more about the location and view. The natural beauty that surrounds our lodge is truly awe-inspiring, and we're glad you had the opportunity to soak in the breathtaking scenery. It's fantastic to know that you found the food delicious as well.

Having the lodge to yourselves truly adds to the charm and exclusivity of your stay. We aim to provide a perfect setting for any event or getaway, and we're thrilled that you found it to be just that.

We can't wait to welcome you back to Mount French Lodge. Your enthusiasm to return means the world to us, and we're excited to provide you with another wonderful stay in the future. Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Mount French Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Gorgeous setting and place with six star service. The serenity oozed around us and the accomodation and facilities perfect. Great venue for family or friend get together sim a relaxed environment - can’t help but relax and enjoy. Amazing hosts as well. Couldn’t fault and Will definitely visit again . Highly recommend

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 846simoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount French Lodge, General Manager at Mount French Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Mount French Lodge! We're delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience during your stay. Our team takes great pride in providing top-notch service and creating a serene atmosphere for our guests.

We're thrilled that you found the setting and place gorgeous, and it's great to know that the accommodations and facilities met your expectations perfectly. It's our goal to ensure that every aspect of your visit contributes to a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to hear that you plan to visit us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing another exceptional stay. Thank you once again for your kind words, and until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Lovely weekend away. Rob and Marina are fantastic hosts and the property is absolutely stunning. Suites are clean and comfy and the breakfasts and dinners on offer were delicious. Just wish it had been warm enough for a swim! Will hopefully be back soon.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mount French Lodge, General Manager at Mount French Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2023

Dear valued guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Bunyip Retreat and appreciate your glowing 5-star review. We are excited to let you know that Mount French Lodge is now under new ownership, and we have made significant additions to the property to make your experience even more exceptional.

One of our most significant additions is our new pavilion, which offers stunning views of the range and is a perfect spot to relax and unwind. We have also added four new architecturally designed apartments that offer a luxurious and unique guest experience. These apartments will be opening soon, and we can't wait for you to experience them.

At Mount French Lodge, we are now a group venue and can cater to groups of up to 16. Our property is perfect for family gatherings, corporate retreats, or other group events. We also host events and weddings, and our beautiful location provides an unforgettable setting for any special occasion.

Please check out our new website, Mount French Lodge for more details on our updated accommodations, amenities, and experiences. Thank you for choosing The Bunyip Retreat, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best regards,
The new owners of Mount French Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at The Bunyip Retreat for our 20th wedding anniversary and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
Marina and Rob were wonderful hosts and catered to our every need. We asked that they provide breakfasts and dinners for us and all of their food was superb. The locally sourced eye fillet for dinner was a standout.
The apartment accommodation was modern and minimalist but well setup and the bed was very comfortable. Views over the Scenic Rim Valley were awesome and there was ample room on the grounds to maintain privacy if needed.
The Great Room was a terrific shared central area for all guests and was a real highlight of our stay. The indoor fireplace is warming but there is also an outdoor fire pit to enjoy in the right weather.
Rob and Marina are happy to share their stories as well as to give advice on local experiences and places to visit. Rob even got his telescope out for us on one clear night, which was awesome.
We hope they get some rain soon to green the estate up, but we still had a fabulous time and recommend highly for a kid free couples escape. This was the R&R we were looking for.

Room tip: All four apartments are same layout. Stairs need to be climbed to get up to the bedroom.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank K9576IFstever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marina Izatt, Owner at Mount French Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Hi. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and comments. We are very happy that you had a perfect getaway and that you enjoyed all we have to offer here. You must have been wishing hard for us as we have just enjoyed some lovely rainfall which has certainly topped up our water tanks and the grass is already starting to look a little green!!!! Thank you again and hope to see you another time down the track. Marina & Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2020

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day break, we couldn't believe our luck in finding this slice of heaven. The views as the sun sets are sublime, the food is sooooo good, and the apartment accommodation is perfect, for romance, relaxation and rejuvenation. Great walks are not far, which reward your efforts on the ascent with expansive views. The bonfire at sunset is perfect as the sun slowly sinks below the horizon. Thoroughly recommend this, would love to go back

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marina Izatt, Owner at Mount French Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Thank you. It was a pleasure meeting you and we’re so glad you had a great stay and were able to relax and unwind. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you can find another opportunity down the track to return. We look forward to it. All the best. Marina & Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews