We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rejuvenation & Hospitality in Charentevenation...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Lindonniers

Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Spacious gîte, private heated pool & gardens; peaceful setting; stunning views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brossac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan W
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rejuvenation & Hospitality in Charentevenation & Hospitality in Charente”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our week at Les Lindonniers was more special than we could have anticipated! Description & photos here are representative, little more needs saying about basic features (all the comforts of home), but we were struck by the gîte's flexibility, inside & out. For the two of us, the kitchen area was a cozy center of operations but the separate large living room & dining area are ideal for groups, multi-generational families or those that could benefit from separate spaces in which to recharge. Also noteworthy is the presence of outdoor areas positioned to catch every sunbeam. If relaxing is called for, nothing tops lazing by the sparkling pool; more active groups will enjoy exploring the large property, meeting & learning about its animals, enjoying the shade of the namesake trees. Level inside, the gîte is afforded access from the outside & pool area by 1 - 2 steps or well-constructed ramps, if needed. Our only access concern was directly resolved without hesitation, evidence of the owners' dedication to making guests feel valued. The large property is home to a few well-tended horses, beautiful chickens, geese, as well as sweet dogs who were an endearing part of our stay. We enjoyed strolls with elder statesdog, Max, watching with him as wild rabbits cavorted in the field and falcons hunted in the distance; he seemed proud to show us 'his' unusually lovely chickens. Phillip, too, shared with us an infectious enthusiasm & vast knowledge about the Hamburgs he breeds. It was a struggle to tear ourselves away, but we enjoyed close proximity to picturesque villages such as Aubeterre & marchés at Chalais & Riberac for a quick soaking up of local colour; within 1-1/2 hour drives, the larger Angoulême, Bergerac, and Bordeaux each have something special to offer (we were surprised in particular by the number of accessible winery tours in Saint-Emilion, only an hour away). But the real magic of Les Lindonniers lies with owners Phillip & Laura. Their hospitality knew no bounds. From a cold welcoming refreshment after our long journey to freshly-baked surprises, we felt spoiled the entire stay. In the past, we avoided resident owner accommodations, fearing our desire for privacy would be compromised. Laura & Phillip struck a perfect balance, staying occupied with their own endeavours lovingly tending the property & animals, while never seeming put-out by our endless curiosity about French country life or local flora & fauna. We were delighted when they accepted invitations to join us for spectacular sunsets; time flew by in their company. This gîte met our special needs and is superb for active groups of all ages as well as empty-nesters like ourselves just seeking rejuvenation. While it's accessible for most wheelchair users, it's good to check with the owners about your individual needs. I feel certain any barrier to your enjoyment of this corner of paradise can find a solution in their warm hearts & capable hands. We whole-heartedly recommend a stay at Les Lindonniers, for the charm of the gîte itself and even more so, its owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and their personal touch
Liked least: Having to say goodbye
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a thoughtful and comprehensive review. We are so pleased that your stay so enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millz666
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, our son and his wife and my daughter stayed here for a week in August and it was truly fantastic. It was my husbands 50th birthday while we were there and I asked our hosts Philip and Laura where we could get a cake, Phillip offered to make one for him and let me tell you, it was amazing and enormous, it lasted all 5 of us for 3 days, they were lovely people and nothing was too much trouble, but they never invaded our privacy. We spent every evening with a bbq and in the pool, it was a lovely hot week and we just had a great time chilling out and enjoying the spectacular views. We made a great friend in Max the dog who is just adorable.

Phillip and Laura are lovely people and very helpful, they, along with this lovely gite in such a beautiful area, made our holiday truly wonderful, we will definately be back

Sue, Kev, Spencer, Leanne and Millie Armitage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you for leaving your review. So glad you had such a good time and it was lovely having you! Look forward to your return xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you The Kennedy family! We enjoyed reading the kind words you left in the Guests' Book and are so glad you had such a relaxing time. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rowennaba...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a great week at Les Lindonniers in July 2016. So quiet and peaceful yet lots to do in the local area if you wish. Days out in Cognac, Bordeaux and Angouleme are within an hour.

Laura and Philip are excellent hosts. Available if you need them and always willing to make recommendations for things to do or places to eat.

The gite has everything you need, including a travel cot and high chair for little ones. Spotlessly clean and well equipped kitchen. Two patio areas mean you have sun or shade as you wish. The pool is private and warm with lots of chairs and loungers around the edge. Two bathrooms, each with a shower and one with a bath. All the rooms are spacious and there would be enough room for two families to say without feeling crowded.

We look forward to coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Dear Rowenna, thank you for your informative and thoughtful review. We are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy some interesting trips with dear little Henry!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasssypoo...
Caherlistrane, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous gitê. ”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family holiday of Grandad, Nanny, two children & myself stayed here with our hosts Laura & Phillip during the first two weeks of July. What truly wonderful hosts to have, especially when being handed fresh baked scones & bread from them, very tasty indeed.

The house is well equipped and it's very quiet and relaxing to stay in, although the birds can be quite vocal! If you want to feed the horses, walk the land or get involved you can, or you can just sit beside the pool taking in the rays until sunset, beware it's a huge sun trap and hard to escape from.

Our two week stay was fantastic and the children loved every minute of it.
It's spacious and there are two patios front and back if you need time to yourself away from children playing in the pool. The kitchen is a few steps away from the wooden deck which means hardly any energy is used if eating outside having a BBQ, which again is fantastic.
The beds are very comfy and two bathrooms means no one is in a queue.

Also a quick mention that Chalais is only ten mins in the car, and the supermarket there is fantastic and has everything you need for your holiday.

All in all a very enjoyable stay here, the children loved it and were never bored! But equally us adults felt relaxed and spoilt with such beautiful surroundings. Winner!

If we stay in the area again we shall return here as we thought Laura & Phillip were amazing and it would be lovely to see them again.

You won't regret booking this beautiful gitê.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for writing such a long and informative review of 'Les Lindonniers', and that you enjoyed the easygoing atmosphere and, as you commented, lack of rules! We make a special effort to cater to our guests' needs, whatever they may be. It has been especially pleasant when our past guests return.
During the last five years it has been interesting and enjoyable to read all the different comments in our Visitors' book. We are new to TripAdvisor and glad that our potential guests will be able to read about 'Les Lindonniers' from the visitor's point of view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing