We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,580)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveller rating
1,002
385
132
38
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
385
132
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access room swim up bar mai pub zar zar sand pool chewang beach deluxe room the fine dining restaurant happy hour mountain bikes thai cooking class luxury escapes main pool shuttle bus huge pool out of the way relaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This resort is on the quiet side of the island. There isn't really much to do outside of the resort. The rooms and resort are beautiful but there isn't much to do if it's raining outside.

Pros-
Staff are great and reception were very helpful throughout our stay.
The swimming pool and beach area are awesome.
Spa was excellent but much more expensive than the spa at the Passage hotel next door.
Beach bar menu was good, particularly the Thai salads.
Good cocktail range.
Free use of kayaks
Excellent breakfast buffet - get the omlettes.
Try a trip to Nathon. Sunset restaurant was good. There is also a night market.

Cons
At times felt like it was lacking atmosphere. We never tried the fine dining restaurant because there was never anyone in there.
No evening bar- people were leaving the resort to go down the road to PJ'S.
More activities needed, you have to book morning yoga. It would be much nicer if you could just turn up and more activities on offer.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Khun Laura R

Thank you very much for your short and nice review. Taking the time to share is very much appreciated

I am happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and am looking forward welcoming you back soon

Best regards,
Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Mai Samui (previously in 2012) and it was again a pleasant stay. The airport transfer service was good and the room was clean on check in, however there were some noticeable aspects of the hotel that have changed since 2012. There seemed to be a bit of maintenance occurring during our stay as we often ran into workers on our way to the pool or the spa, and there was a bit of noise but never during sleeping hours. The pool is still awesome, however on more than one occasion the complimentary towels we picked up had large holes in them or bleach stains. The cooking class was brilliant and we appreciated the enthusiasm of the staff during it. The buffet dinner on the beach was average, the food was mostly cold. Happy hour at the pool bar was good value and the barman on afternoon shifts was well versed in his cocktail recipes. Compared to our last visit in 2012 the hotel seemed a bit tired, the wear and tear on the facilities was noticeable and the breakfast buffet seemed to have shrunk in offerings. I'd recommend Mai Samui for people who want to be away from the hustle of Chaweng.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
9  Thank tmcnam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Khun tmcnam07

Thank you very much for your short and nice review. Taking the time to share is very much appreciated

I am happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and am looking forward welcoming you back soon

Best regards,
Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This resort is very much a couples retreat .It's quite far from the main town but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus service which is very handy.To look at , the resort presents well with lush green gardens and gorgeous pools and is clean and tidy.For us what we think makes this resort so Awesome is the staff!!These people are ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!!FRIENDLY , COURTEOUS full of knowledge about the resort and its upcoming events and so humble.They are EXTREMELY hard working and the great lengths they go to for the hotel guests is UNBELIEVABLE.
They are truly an ASSEST to this resort .
The Spa is FANTASTIC with an extensive list of services .The staff there are amazing with what they can do.
To the General Manager please continue to look after your incredible staff.Give them all a PAY RISE and you in return will also be rewarded .
Have to also mention the wonderful people we encountered staying here.Again you were so friendly and along with the staff created a great atmosphere for all to enjoy.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Freedom625799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Sir

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from start to finish and thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Our dedicated team is very happy that you received heartfelt service. Indeed, we always endeavor to ensure that all our guests have great experiences throughout their stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Mai Samui Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This beautifully presented resort has great potential. However it is in a very isolated area with limited entertainment on offer. The shuttle bus only drops off and picks up at one location and the resort private car is very expensive. We have stayed at similar resorts in Thailand which offer multiple free activities each day such as cooking classes, yoga, stretching, traditional Thai games. Mai Samui offered minimum activities and most at a price. There is no billiard table or games room. The resort advertises snorkelling and kayaking but when we enquired the staff advised that the current outside the resort was too dangerous for swimming. The pool looks amazing but the water is green and the chemicals are excessively strong and severely burnt our eyes. The staff were polite but not overly helpful. We had to request for our room to be cleaned twice because by 4pm it had still not been serviced. Drink prices are ridicously overpriced.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
9  Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Dear Khun Steph A

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We much appreciate your feedback and taking the time to let us know, all your points are well noted.

Your feedback is valuable to me and the team so we can continuously strive to improve our product and services.

Best regards,
Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We had a great stay at Mai Samui. They staff were all wonderful, particularly Tsa Tsa and Sunam and we really enjoyed the quiet location on the island, although that might not suit everyone. Facilities were lovely and food beautifully presented, particularly in the Thai pub/restaurant. We also enjoyed the morning yoga classes as well as the kayaking which were both included in the price of our stay. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Best views from the main poolside rooms
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frennies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Dear Khun Frennies

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay and your visit to Mai Samui Resort & Spa and I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our team.

Again, thank you for stayed with us and looking forward to welcome you back to our home again.

Best regards,
Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews