We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse then bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sea View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Do yourself a favour and stay away from this place! Hazte un favor y alejate de este sitio!
Yes it is close to the pier but EVERY single one hotel and guesthouse in Nathong IS, look in front of the pier for some other deals for 300 or 400 bahts if it happens to have to spend 1 night in Nathong.
Every try to COMMUNICATE WITH THE STAFF IS A NIGHTMARE. Other than the manager no english is spoken. Yes, when everything is ok I dont mind this but the chances that your stay is smooth are equal to none and consider it costs 4 times more expensive than any other place around.
We arrive at 23.00 just to have a shower and depart on a day trip very early next morning. There was NO HOT WATER plus the bathroom WAS DIRTY (used bar soaps were left by the tub), I called reception and 20 minutes after I had the guy bringing some drinking water in...after another 10minute we had the security and the bellboy inspecting the bathroom but I just wanted another room, it was late and just wanted to get some rest. They gave me another room next door and guess what....IT WAS DIRTIER! No signs of toilet cleaning after the last customer years ago.
We spent the night as we could, in the morning I COMPLAINT IN RECEPTION about the hot water and they DOWNGRADED ME!!!, gave me a worse, smaller room 2 floors down for my stay!!! no time for breakfast so had just a sip of JUICE which sent me straight to the toilet, VERY CHEMICAL AND ARTIFICIAL (A joke in a land like Thailand) and left.
After the excursion we came back to the hotel and I had a few words with the manager. He offered me a sunset view for the same price and being too tired to move I accepted to spent another night before going to Surat Thani early next morning. MISTAKE! There is no sunset view from the window, just some palm trees and plenty of electricity cables, seriously. And that night there was plenty of children from the staff in the pool sreamming and playing and shouting I could hear from the room. Im not too angry about this, just wanted to let anyone interested know. Other than that the pool is a good point and is very quiet, the hotel in general is dead, probably cos people is clever and have a look on internet reviews and go somewhere else.
The front beach is not such, is a stripe of broad sand near to pebbles with plenty of broken glasses. NO BATH IS POSSIBLE, very low tide and plenty of seaweed. But is very quiet. Ugly view to the right, with an old pier and A BUDDIST CEMETERY to the left just behind the trees, we were shocked although I must say this was an interesting discovering.
The day after we had some time to have breakfast and still quite poor. Cereals are buffet but hot things you need to keep asking the waiters which will take ages to arrive. We spent 1 and 1/2 hours in the restaurant and only crossed 1 other customer, no wonder why the hotel is empty.
The worse stay of our 15 days in thailand. We looked for another 5 places in the area, regreted not to have chosen the first one for 400 baht (I wanted fan and they had only air con) and finished paying 1800 on this hole.
We felt released when we left and glad they didnt ruin our stay longer...
Nathong is full of proper thai restaurants doing a tipical thai BBQ buffet, is not too big either and feels 100% safe wherever you stay you are close form the night market, the pier, a Tesco or any travel agency which closes at 22

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indizara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel on 2nd Jan and our credit card details were used that night to make 2 purchases totalling £1000, the guy at reception must have cloned our card as he told us he had a problem with the card machine and it was taking a while to connect so he took us to our room then dropped the card off 5 mins later.

Wont ever go back and do not recommend!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VickyMcfScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 24 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My girlfriend and I spent four nights in the Grand Sea View Resotel on Koh Samui. The hotel is located in the town of Nathon and, as the name suggests, the property is on the waterfront. We reserved a deluxe sea view room, which had wonderful views across the bay and the town. The room itself was very spacious as was the bathroom. The facilities in the room included a large television [complete with a large selection of local and satellite stations], electronic safe, stocked bar fridge, air-conditioning and comfortable queen-sized bed. The room was kept spotlessly clean daily. An American buffet breakfast was included in the room price but we never made it to breakfast. There are two restaurant/bars located on the premises but we never saw anybody in there. In fact, we only saw three other couples staying there during our visit.
The pool area was excellent. We spent four afternoons lazing by the pool. The [infinity] pool itself was fine, which was helped by the fact that there was hardly anybody else using it. They could have done with some more sun loungers if there had’ve been more people using the pool. The hotel has a small stretch of beach, which had sufficient loungers and tables. However, the water in front of the hotel was extremely shallow to the point of visible sand banks so not much use for swimming.
The hotel is located on the southern outskirts of Nathon. It is between a 5-10 minute walk into the town centre and ferry piers. There was a reasonable selection of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Next door to the hotel is a restaurant/bar called Sunset, which we frequented daily to watch some amazing sun sets. Other restaurant/bars of note were: Samui Samui and Coffee Island. There is a decent sized Tesco supermarket located in the town centre. There were plenty of ATMs and currency exchange booths around the town. Most of the tour offices are located close to the vicinity of the ferry piers.
As far as value for money is concerned this hotel is an absolute gem and we would stay there again. If you are coming to Koh Samui for a holiday then you are more likely to prefer a more secluded resort-style hotel. However, if you are here on business or need to spend a night in a hotel close to the ferry piers then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CervezaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ang Thong
14.4 km away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
1.1 km away
Chytalay Palace Hotel
Chytalay Palace Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ang Thong
8 reviews
12.3 km away
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
#176 of 184 in Bophut
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#7 of 8 in Lipa Noi
221 reviews
14.1 km away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
325 reviews
3.6 km away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea View Hotel

Address: 175/4 Moo 3, Ang Thong, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range: AU$33 - AU$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Grand Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sea View Hotel Ko Samui/Ang Thong, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing