We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
albertbillli
Perth, Australia

good location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Sept 2016
On our 23rd Annual Holiday at The Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Malaysia was great and we found everything as usual. Million Dollar View of Ocean, Quiet Beach for Honeymooners and families,close by to Markets and great shopping malls, Helpful and Friendly Staff, Free Shuttle bus and Wifi.Will return again next year. Albert Billi Perth w.a.
Date of stay: June 2016
Room Tip: we stayed in the Terrace Block close to the ocean very peaceful
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review
Responded 13 Sept 2016
Dear albertbillli,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, which is definitely a great motivation to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

The Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Children's Pool at the Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$76
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chocolat - twin sharing room
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$70
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$62
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Outside
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$47
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Orchid Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
100
274
273
130
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
274
273
130
116
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

A nice hotel with a special location on the sea i recommend it for families with average rating for food and furniture but it has a huge structure . I recommend it for families. Contains a nice restaurant with different food.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Zeiad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Zeiad D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We are happy to note that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel in many aspects including our secluded beachfront.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We went as a group of 4 adults and 2 kids. Stayed in deluxe room which has a beautiful but slightly obscured view. Breakfast buffet was average. As we went during peak season the pool was full however the kids enjoyed themselves. Overall was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank priya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear priya80,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Well , this is a nice and quiet place compare to many hotels in town area . Is not far from town area too . Though this hotel is old but everything is neat , clean and friendly staff whom supply what customers need . Another reason I love it because of the basement parking too , price consider cheap or reasonable . Will be my first choice again while visiting Penang Island . A nice Seaview room for me this round .

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mouselee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear mouselee72,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, which is definitely a great motivation to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

..and I mean disgraceful.
I recently spent 3 weeks in penang recovering from Dengue..due to the festival around Georgetown and our last minute decision to extend my Penang visit we did moved around numerous times during those 3 weeks...6 different places in total.....this is classed as a 4 star hotel; I have no idea who could even rate this as one star....i enjoy nice accommodation and I'm just as happy in a 18 myr dormitory....his place was disgusting..just horrendous.
Dated..... old..smelly..... blocked sinks within 1 minute of arrival; dirty carpet that I refused to walk on barefooted....ned sheets badly stained (not saying they hadn't been cleaned but they were all badly stained)....pillows were not used due to an odour.
The photos and description within their website needs some serious updating.
The very fast internet as advertised within their website was as slow as a carrier pigeon when trying to get on line information...hey Copthorne, 1mbps is NOT fast.....nor is 2mbps.
Internet was okay if you didn't mind being in tje corridor...but remember the dirty carpets, standing for 5 minutes on the one spot on a dirty carpet felt like I was being sucked into a quagmire.
The arrival was farcical; a smoking room with sea view and a double bed was paid for via their website.....we received a twin non smoking room with a view of three high rise buildings....we were given another room which resolved the twin bed issue...but nothing else!
Thankfully if you walk out of the hotel and cross the street there's some great eating places to include a small hawked market; Mexican ; German and Bulgarian restaurants along with some great local food daytime cafes....friendly people and always ready to help out with solid information or just ready to have a sociable chat...lovely are a to hang out around (even has a dominoes pizza place and the usual convenience stores).of course you could eat in the hotel restaurant but only if the staff there decided to put their phones down to cater for their guests...and when they did you just knew you'd disturbed them on an on line chat with one of their friends.
Okay..so I've given this place a really bad right uo; check out all my other reports on destinations and accommodation over the years and you'll see this is the second bad report within many reports....it deserves everything I write.....i wouldn't return to this place even if it was free...
The management should be removed and re trained.....i didn't come across any management, but someone has to take the fall for this badly run; outdated and very dirty amd unhygemic hotel.
Sorry Copthorne but your hotel in penang penance is the worst place I've ever stayed in!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank donnie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear donnie1965,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We have noted your overall comments. We have forwarded the issue to the respective departments for necessary improvement.

Hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you on your next visit to Penang.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel looks tired and smells moldy. Not worth a visit. Staff don't smile or give attentive service. Very disappointing. The hotel was at less than 60% occupied yet I was not allowed to check out at 2pm as I was told it's policy that check out time is 12noon. Seems and looks like unhappy staff or complacent staff.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chrisboliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson L, Revenue Manager at Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Chrisboliv,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang.

We have noted your overall comments. We have forwarded the issue to the respective departments for necessary improvement.

Please be reassured that we will do our best to improve on our services, and hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you on your next visit to Penang.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews