We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our deluxe seaview room was spacious and comfortable, even though the fittings were some what worn, and the bathroom had a lingering smell of pee. We sprayed down the bathroom occasionally, coverd the worn and stained armchairs with beach towels, ... The beach and pool areas are clean. We had breakfast at the cafe every morning and it was fairly enjoyable; food quality was average but there were small daily changes to the menu for variety, though some items were quite suspect, eg meat loaf in brown sauce turned out to be slices of breakfast ham stewed in some gravy!
We really appreciate that there is a free return shuttle leaving the hotel in the evening for the night market at Batu Ferringhi, and two single-trip shuttle servives to Gurney Plaza in the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    259
    240
    108
    90
See reviews for
291
255
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SheffieldUK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 10 years ago and it was very good all round.
This time it was very poor.The restaurant was dirty the food very poor.
The reception staff had very little local knowledge.
Our first visit I would say. 4/5 star, now 2 star.
The new owners need to sort it out.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDaveSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

robina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

we really enjoyed our second stay here , this time with kids in tow . didnt get to hotel till 9.30 pm so had no probs checking in , we had a 2 bedroom family sea view room on the 6th floor, room 624 . each of the 2 beebrooms had its own bathroom , flat screen tv , and sea view balcony , a 3rd balcony was off the lounge and ovelooked the main street out front of hotel , the room had 3 tvs in total . yes some of the furniture may be a little dated but its still in fair condition , the bed were very comfortable and had no probs sleeping at all , hot water was a little slow to get to bathrooms , just needed to be turned on a min or so befor u got into shower , the really own down side to our room and its the same with any rooom here was no balcony furniture which ment had to take the inside chairs outside which many seam to do . wifi worked well ...

The breakfast buffet is fine and had no probs getting what ever we wanted , better to go early or towards the end of the breaky sitting to aviod the mid sitting rush ....

The Flamingo has a very nice swimming pool which is adjacent to the beach , dont expect too much of the beach if you are from aussie , Sunbeds which really do need updating tend to get "reserved" very early and i am talking 7am , its the quick or the dead lol , but over all a very nice area to laze around and relax , The pool bar which does little business (maybe because it was hard to get a sfaff member to stay there and serve ) was expensive but had a happy hour from 17.00 to 18.00. .

The hotel's location is about half way between Georgetown and Batu Feringghi . A regular bus service stops outside the Hotel means you can get to either for a 1 ringgits . The Indian restaurant opposite the hotel is definitely worth a visit. Over all we enjoyed our 8 nights here and will return in the future .....

i know the hotel gets it fair amount of bad press and its not five star by any means , but to have a good confy bed and a nice pool on the beach front with a good range to choose from at breakfast for $35 aussie dollars per person per night .... it aint that bad !!!!!!

have include pics of our 2 beroom suite as it was hard to find any decent pics of it on here or the hotel web site , hope the pics help other familys to see what they get for the cash etc !!!!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice pool area, and right at the beach. The hotel in it self is OK, seemed clean, but a bit impersonal. I felt like I was in any of the numerous charter hotels in Spain. The room was big and nice. We really enjoyed the Indian restaurant across the road, with great cheap food, and such a fun staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I like my stay here. The room is nice (Deluxe King Seaview) on the 3rd floor. Very modernize room although their aircon is a bit loud! Love the atmosphere here, a lot of patrons mostly fr middle east, india n Japan.

Love the walk by the beach and u will notice some staying nearby houses will walk their dogs in the morning n evening.

Worth the money u stay here...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.1 km away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
777 reviews
5.3 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,715 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
752 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,209 reviews
4.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Property: Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price range (per night): $61 - $141
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing