We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth stay at Bon Sol Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Illetes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The Bon Sol just keeps on delivering.. and seems to improve on what I would say being an already first class hotel.
The only thing I would suggest is warning guests how difficult it is to catch a taxi from hotel in the evening.

Room Tip: No improvements necessary
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here in July on the recommendation of a friend who lives near to the hotel.
The hotel is family owned and run which means thats standards will be consistent. Guests i have spoken to have really enjoyed their stay and many are repeat visitors.
The main hotel building is set quite high on the hillside with excellent sea views. The complex sprawls down to the sea. I wasn't sure how this was going to be but there are a series of tunnels and lifts which link the different levels meaning no hill climbing is required.
Our room was on the first floor and was the end/corner room so had dual aspect windows/balcony with a superb view.
We were 2 floors above the bar and a little noise could be heard but never much later that 11:30pm so not a problem. This may be more of an issue if on the floor immediately above the bar though.
The room is very large with 2 comfortable single beds and an extra one brought in for our daughter.
The toilet is in a separate room to the bathroom. The only issue we had was the shower kept going from very hot to very cold. We mentioned this to reception twice and nothing was sorted do we put up with it. A shame though as apart from this we can't really fault the place.
Food here is brilliant. A great selection at breakfast and if you go half board (and you should), you can choose to have either lunch or an evening meal. Lunch is served at the beach terrace restaurant. Evening meals are served at the more formal indoor restaurant (no shorts and flip flops gents) or at the beach terrace restaurant. If you want to eat evening dinner at the beach terrace you must book the day before. We did this once only then ate at the indoor restaurant thereafter. (A seagul managed to hit me with his digested lunch at the beach terrace! - good shot though.)
At the indoor restaurant you get 2 menus... a standard 4 course a la carte or a gourmet set menu with slightly more adventurous fare. Food is nicely presented and good quality.
Pool side beds were taken when we got down there by 10am, so if you want to sit there you better get up early. We always managed to get beds by the beach at 10am though. The beach is small although works as the cove allows people to swim far out. Most sunbeds at the beach don't get sun until around 11:15am and then have it all day. The hotel provides beach towels so no need to bring yours. There are toilets/showers/changing rooms at the beach level.
You do get the odd jellyfish sting here - maybe 1 or 2 a day have been seen whilst i've been here. I have escaped so far.
There isn't much outside the hotel so we stayed in the bar after evening meals. It gets quite a buzz going there as quite busy. Plenty of seats though and waiters are good.
There's a supermarket about 50m from reception where you can buy drinks/snacks.
If you hire a car you 2 small car parks to use. Spaces are a bit limited though and parking is tight.
We really enjoyed our stay here and recommend it highly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank gcolLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

It is some 8 years ago since we last visited the Bon Sol and not a thing has changed - thankfully. I've just read a review written by someone who may have been staying at the same time as us pointing out that this hotel caters in part for many 'returners' who may or may not be getting older. We travelled as a party of 11 ages 16, 20, 21 through to 60's and not one of us had a bad thing to say about this 'venerable, family owned and run marvellous hotel'. If you want a a sterile, ersatz modern (see my separate review on the Hotel Illa D'Or) hotel catering to a younger less discerning crowd then I suggest a Hilton or similar corporate chain hotel may be more suitable.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a Junior suite but all the rooms are extremely nice
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RSSEnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This hotel really is exceptional. Myself and my husband have just returned from our second stay here, the first being three years ago for our honeymoon and my husbands 40th birthday.
The hotel gave us the exact same room that we had for our honeymoon which was lovely! It is near the beach restaurant and the private cove so perfect for wandering down for breakfast followed by a day of relaxation.

The reviewers that say this hotel tends to draw an older crowd is partly true but there are plenty of mixed ages staying which is a lovely mix. Also there were some children there and there appeared to be plenty for them to do. The pools are great.

Palma isn't too far in a taxi..€16 one way or €1.50 on the bus so if a younger couple wanted a change of scenery they could always head into the city. The staff at the hotel are young so could recommend the best places in the city to go to, however we opted to stay at the hotel every night as it really is perfect!
The food is amazing, I really had to rein myself in as there is so much choice. 4 courses each night and a very good choice. A typical meal would be soup, tagliatelle, steak or fish followed by a wide range of desserts.
I had a fab massage from Hannah in the relaxing spa. At night we decided this time to eat in the hotel restaurant as we spent our last stay at the beach restaurant. There is an amazing piano and violin duet who play while you are eating and they are truly fantastic.

The other reviewers have mentioned the French couple that have been returning for 50 years. I really regret not starting up a conversation with them because they were there three years ago when we were on honeymoon also!

The owners Martin & Lorraine are very friendly. They came over to wish us happy anniversary and to wish my husband a happy birthday. The family dine at lunchtime in the beach restaurant so it is great to see such family interaction. This hotel truly is like they are welcoming people into their home.

All the staff work hard but I would really like to especially mention Marcus, Snr Vincente, Snr Clemente, and Maria.

Thanks once again Bon Sol. We will be back without a doubt as this place is very special to us and ultimate relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I was trying to think of something negative to say about this hotel,but I couldn't.
We had a wonderful week with every possible need catered for.
Thanks to the wonderful staff and Martin and family .
We hope to return.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Jono2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illetes
0.5 km away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
987 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.4 km away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,677 reviews
53.8 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
5.4 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Illetes

Been to Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa

Address: Passeig Illetes 30, 07181 Illetes, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Illetes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Illetes
Price Range: $290 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Illetas, only 8 km (5 miles) from central Palma, the clifftop Bon Sol nestles be amid pine trees, its moorish tower lofting from luxurian gardens and dominating the picturesque Palma bay. The Bon Sol is a family-owned and managed hotel, proud of its reputation for the very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonsol Illetas
Hotel Bonsol Resort And Spa
Hotel Bon Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing