We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shorebase Annex

Shorebase
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Mezz level overlooking dining and living open plan
Even in winter the Gower is beautiful
My fav coffee spot just a short walk from the Annex
view into bathroom area
Bedroom with vaulted ceiling
stair well in bedroom
Or you can do one of many costal runs/walks that are spectacular
Any season is good for the Gower as there is alway lots of activities
Living area with flat screen tv
External shot of shorebase Annex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mumbles, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nicky B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely 3 nights in this property. Sarah was very accommodating when my partner was too ill to make the weekend we had booked and amended the booking to 3 weeks later at no extra cost, which we were super grateful for. The annex itself is charming and was bigger than we expected it to be. Really cosy and homely with all the amenities you need. Location is perfect, tucked away behind a house on a quiet road, but only 5 minutes from the main area of Mumbles. My only gripe was the bed and pillows were too soft so I didn't sleep particularly well, but this could be a personal thing as others may prefer that. I would definitely recommend this place to others. A great base from which to explore the Gower. The Welsh cakes on arrival went down a treat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
HI Nick,

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we will make a point to check in with other guests regarding the bed and if they are also on your line of thinking we are happy to change it out. I wish you had mentioned it during your stay as pillows are a easy fix and even a board unthe springs would have been totally doable and would have let us keep our 5 straight point rating which we pride ourselves on achieving ....I hope we get to welcome you back some time (with a harder bed)

Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A touch of class”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A cosy and personal space with lovely furniture and fittings. Perfect for a romantic weekend or a little longer if visiting the area. Easy walking distance to the shops, Oystermouth castle and Mumbles foreshore. The only downside was the lack of parking but that need not put a dampener on your visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darna91
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning, elegant, eclectic - accommodation with that WOW factor”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

That Shorebase annex has that wow factor is something of an understatement. There is craftsmanship on show, from the skirting carved around the stone walls, the exterior lighting, to the modern and stylish kitchen. It has been furnished with impeccable taste and a practical eye with a touch of whimsy - the antique ladder as side table is delightful, as is the double sink installed on an old dresser. A slate blackboard has important telephone numbers scribbled in chalk. There are cozy blankets for snuggling in front of the TV on rainy days. The location is excellent - just a short walk to the main road where one can go on an oceanside walk or sample one of the Mumbles' excellent restaurants. We loved our weekend stay and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and styling of the property
Liked least: Do get in touch with the owner if you're allergic to feather pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guineapig...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet and Interesting Cottage”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely little cottage in Mumbles. It is at the top end of Mumbles, about 5 minutes from the centre with some lovely little shops and so many places to eat. A perfect base to travel the Gower or into Swansea or Cardiff. There is no allocated parking but we managed to park outside both days we were there. The 'Annex' is tucked around the back of a house, so it is very quiet and felt secluded. We loved the interesting decor and it is exactly as shown in the photos. Very quirky and different, we especially liked the use of old windows and doors and the exposed brickwork. Our favourite place was the chair on the mezzanine with lovely views, perfect for a cosy day reading. We were very lucky with the weather so went out both days but would have been equally happy tucked up in the Annex in bad weather. I would recommend this cottage to couples; it is very romantic and cosy and in a perfect location for exploring.
Also enjoyed the Welsh Cakes on arrival - thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting decor
Liked least: No parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Year”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a fantastic place to spend New Year. The accommodation is cosy and warm with lots of lovely little quaint features, but totally comfortable. We spent 4 nights and had a really good time exploring Mumbles and the surrounding area. We don't. usually think of returning to places we have stayed at before but this could very well be the exception. A lovely place to stay if you like to have lots of options for walks and fresh air. Overall, a really great place to relax and unwind.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Dear Robert and Tracey,
We are so happy that you had a good stay, I have to travel for work but coming home is always like falling in love the the place all over again. I am glad you felt some of its magic. Please come back to see us again as it changes so much from season to season, each one with its own charm. If you do come back please make sure we know you are a repeat booking so we can make something new and special for your arrival. All the best for 2016 Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing