We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
83
105
45
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
105
45
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm trees beautiful private beach blue sea dinner service sega dance huge bed half board breakfast buffet sandy beach staff are extremely friendly grand baie restaurant staff swimming pool the ground floor pereybere public beach beaches diving
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Pros: Location is nice. Plenty of facilities close to the hotel and it is just next to Perebere beach which is one of the best in Mauritius.
Cons: Poorly maintained infrastructure. Rooms are old and toilets are smelly. Even the yard is poorly maintained. We discovered an open manhole cover just next to our room. That explained the smell.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank chetan593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIIBISCUS, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Mr Sudhir we thank you for your comment as it helps us to review the quality of the service and the establishment. We are very sorry that the hotel was not up to your expectations. Unfortunately due to the torrential rain and the cyclone Berguitta have disrupt the service and made cleaning of the garden very difficult. Some rooms which are in the garden had the a smell due to the increase of humidity due to the trees surrounding us. During the cyclone we made sure that all our guests were secure and provided the service in their rooms and in the restaurant. Now that with the cyclone is behind us everything is back in order. Still we wish to apologize for the bad experience you had and hope that you will come and visit us again. Thank you. Kind regards. Toshlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We have booked there one room with my wife and daughter for 9 days and it was realy pleasent. The hotel is clean ( but everyhere are ants), very gut situated 30m far away from nice beach ( there are not beach in front of hotel garden, only artificial wharf, but this place is good for swimming) and the hotel garden is a nice place for relaxing with umbrelas and deckchairs. The open wall restaurant is next to swimming pool. Room was clean, good furnishings, bathroom was relatively big. The hotel have realy one big problem, staff in restaurant. Behaviour of waiters towards to guests were not profesional and were this behaviour bother sometimes. They have interest in other things than to serve guests. Breakfasts and dinners were every day the same what have already been impossible to hold on after a few days.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIIBISCUS, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment as it really helps us to improve the quality of the service. We will have a meeting with the Restaurant Manger to resolve the issue of the waiters and the breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the bad service of the waiters. Rest assure proper action will be taken. Thank you again for your visit and hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards
Toshlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The hotel was located very centrally. So it was convenient to get to shops, supermarket, beach etc.
The hotel staff were very helpful & friendly. Food was delicious. I enjoyed watching the cultural dance during an evening while having dinner. It was awesome.
Thank you to all the restaurant staff, and reception staff, you were amazing.
A soecial thank you to Aatish and Sanjiv for goi g above & beyond. Well done.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SHAMZ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

This was our "40th honeymoon" which we arranged at rather short notice (from South Africa) and many of the better-known places were fully booked. I found Hibiscus on Hotels.com, and no regrets at all. OK, it's not a 5-star luxiry beachfront resort (with prices to match) but I find this sort of place more homely - about 50 rooms in a series of 3-storey blocks arranged around a lush tropical garden.
It is set on a low rocky headland, with a pontoon for snorkelling, boat excursions etc, but there is a sandy beach on either side - the popular Pereybere public beach, accessed via the road, and a smaller, quiet semi-private beach accessed via a private lane. There is a fair size swimming pool (in the shape of Mauritius) and a sandy "beach-lounger" area between that and the headland. Some water sports are available on site, and a few others from operators nearby.
The hotel is right in the little town of Pereybere and there are a number of decent restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred metres - as well as a good supermarket
and car hire offices (I recommend trying the delightful Samila, based just before the Chinese restaurant).
The hotel collected us from the airport (at an extra $50 for the 1-hour drive across the island), and on arrival we wre invited to sit on a comfortable sofa and given fruit cocktails while the receptionists did all the paperwork and brought it across for signing - no standing at the counter! In general the staff all go out of their way to be helpful.
Our room was extremely spacious, with a huge bed, aircon, safe, fridge, DSTV (only limited English channels), armchairs and furnished balcony - almost a suite. There was a kettle but no tea service - you have to get this yourself from the restaurant, for some strange reason, and replenish your supplies from the breakfast buffet. We also loaded up the fridge from the local supermarket. Large bathroom with two basins, shower - but no bath tub. A very efficient extractor fan, so the mirror does not mist up, and lights behind the shaving mirror, not above it - so you can actually see what you are doing.
I found the "continental" breakfast buffet in the open-air restaurant more than adequate - selection of fresh tropical fruit, cereals, yoghourt, cold meat and cheese, hot croissants and rolls - but there are also eggs to order, bacon, beans etc if you can manage them! We ate there a few times in the evenings as well. They do a "themed" buffet each evening, and the Indian one was particularly good - we called the chef out to congratulate him. And one evening there was a Sega dance troupe performing, who invited us all to join in - with variable results! Only small complaint was that not all of the drinks on the bar menu were available (several liqueurs, gin).
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, both at the Hibiscus and driving round the lovely island. It is probably a bit pricey by South African standards, but not compared to Europe - and a fraction of the cost of the luxury places down the coast. Given the chance - I shall return!

Room tip: Well, the upstairs rooms with a sea view are more desirable but also more expensve.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Okay, manage your 2-3 star expectations as you read my praising, cartwheeling words about Hibiscus. It is not a new fresh place but it has comfort, old palms that sway in the steady breeze, and a staff that genuinely seems to care. Having stayed in four places in one week, I can compare. IMO, in terms of service and a personal touch, this place even beats the best three hotels (which must remain nameless for my review to be published!) near Flic en Flac beach. If that matters to you, take note, dear Reader!

The food was certainly good enough, the open air setting for meals was nice, the grounds were homey. They have a small private little beach off the grounds to the left... a makeshift one on their property and then a super short walk (via the street) to Peyebere, a beach especially nice on weekdays- less crowded.

All sorts of water sports are there. Hibiscus has a dive center on the property- someone was having instruction in the pool when we were there. (The dive center is closed on Sundays, btw.)

Hibiscus even had on the second floor an independent spa with a hammam! Be still, my heart! I had a fabulous massage with Sylvie (make sure you bring cash for any of their services, btw).....

I liked it there. The value was good. Would I go back? "Yes", in a word!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews