We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lackadaisical but adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri

Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stavanger
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lackadaisical but adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

B&B just outside centre of town. Rooms clean and comfortable, but decor old fashioned and drab. Most rooms with only a washbasin, so share toilet and shower, which were cramped and basic. Management amateurish, eg a toilet ran out of loo paper, paper towels and soap. No room cleaning - but no notice of this. Towels thin & poor. Breakfast buffet varied and generous, but lots of things served straight out of tins. We had to search for bath towels - little info given.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The people truly make this place - they were kind enough to store some medicine for us for a couple days even though we only stayed here one day, and they have 4 bicycles that they let their guests use (you have to reserve them) for free during your stay! We rode the bicycles up to the Iron Age Farm, and it's a good ride with a beautiful view. The breakfast is delicious - one of the best we've had in Norway during our two week trip.

The beds and showers were comfortable, and the location is close enough to the city center to be convenient, but not so close that noise will keep you awake. It is right on the edge of one of the residential parts of the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights in June. The guest house is an old building just outside the centre of Stavanger, but easy (10-15mins) walking distance. The guest house is an old building that retains much of its period charm. We had a large room with double bed, sink, separate couch and arm chair and TV. The bathroom and toilet were shared and in the hallway just outside. Breakfast was a very generous Scandanavian style buffet with cold meats, fish, salads and bread.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay in the guesthouse. When my girlfriend was unwell the owner was very helpful and attentive and showed true hospitality. The rooms were comfortable and warm (if a little dated) and the breakfasts provided a cracking start to the day. Only downside was that our room was next to the TV lounge and so we could hear noise in the evening when trying to sleep. Otherwise no complaints. Given the price and the location this was superb value. Would recommend to any other travellers to Stavanger who want to avoid the ridiculous hotel prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Most welcoming and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Their friendliness helped greatly with my feelings of homesickness, and they accommodated my need for an early start each day. The bed was comfortable, and the linen clean and fresh. The room was compact and warm (it was extremely cold outside). The location is close to the town and local museums - very easy to walk everywhere. The breakfast was excellent and my appetite was satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed there for one night. 750 Kronen per room, breakfast included. The guesthouse ist more than 100 years old. Toilett and bath is not in the rooms but on the floor. Evertthing is very clean.

It is nothing for luxury but very nice and u can feel how people lived 100 years ago. The breakfast was very good.

The house has approx. 10 rooms (some 2 some 3 bed rooms)

There is now wlan available. On the street in front ot the house was a open wlan from some other house.....

I can recommend this guesthouse

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ApALex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.3 km away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#22 of 27 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 km away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Havly Hotell
BEST WESTERN Havly Hotell
#11 of 27 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 27 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.9 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri

Property: Rogalandsheimen Gjestgiveri
Address: Musegata 18, Stavanger 4010, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price range (per night): $7 - $8
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing