We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OOzed Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steens Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Geelong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OOzed Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We opted to stay here one night after disembarking the Hurtigruten and embarking on the train to Oslo. In this situation it is best to pay the transfer bus organised on the ship rather than go by taxi. We loved the suburban location of the hotel. It was surrounded by lovely grand buildings and overlooked a pond. The nearby Museum gardens are well worth a visit. Unfortunately, the hotel has no lift. Don't be put off by this, simply request a ground floor room. I was fortunate that my heavy case was taken up to the second floor by a staff member. I was prepared to take it up myself and was very impressed that the staff member simply took it up without me asking. Our room was comfortable and roomy. It was great having access to hot refreshments in the lovely dining room with stain glass windows and overlooking the pond. The breakfast was plentiful. The hotel has a nice old charm feel about it. The 1km walk downhill to the train station might put some people off but it is very manageable.

Room Tip: If you have heavy or large luggage request a ground floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesiadGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    69
    29
    19
    7
See reviews for
25
81
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Steen's and were not disappointed by the hotel. The hotel is beautifully decorated with antiques and is on a street that not only is quiet, but is opposite a small pond and park. The hotel is up a slight hill and around 5-6 blocks from the train station, about a 10 minute walk. The rooms are nicely furnished and ours had a small balcony and large windows that opened up to the park across the street. The breakfast is more than adequate and very good. Coffee or tea is served in the lovely sitting room in the afternoon. The only drawback of staying here are the steep spiral staircases up to the 2nd and 3rd floor bedrooms. Plus the walls are thin and we could hear a TV in the next room. But afterall this used to be a nice old house. I highly recommend this hotel/bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is my second time in Bergen. On this occasion it was for a one night stopover after getting off the Hurtigruten and before starting off on 'Norway in a Nutshell' tour. Like some of the other reviewers had mentioned earlier, this hotel is in a revitalizing residential neighborhood; it is not in the city center. Taxi fares are not cheap in Norway - as I found out when I took a taxi from the cruise center to the hotel after alighting from the Hurtigruten vessel, and also when I took a taxi from the hotel to the train station for the Norway Nutshell tour. Yes, the train station is within walking distance from the hotel but this means walking either up or down a step slope - which can be tricky when one has luggage.
My single room overlooked into a backyard. In this room, As there is no shower stall, one has to shower carefully to avoid getting everything wet in the bathroom.
The lounge area on the second level is quite charming and cosy, overlooking the park which as swans in the pond.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odyssesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the city center. The neighborhood is quiet and residential, and there's a beautiful park across the street. I liked the breakfast - boiled eggs, meats, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. There were cookies in the evening, and the coffee and tea were available 24 hours. I thought the price was quite reasonable. I would definitely stay here again if I came to Bergen.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Steen's is a little out of the city center but offers great value and a nice breakfast. The hotel is located is a nice neighbourhood and staff were quite pleasant. Rooms were a little tired but the breakfast room was amazing with wood paneling and a large stained glass window. The breakfast selection wasn't huge but all was freash and included in the room price. I would recommend to anyone looking for a unique hotel with great value. I travelled in the fall of 2009.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steens Hotel

Property: Steens Hotel
Address: 5007 Parkveien 22, Bergen 5007, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price range (per night): $150 - $277
Hotel Class:3 star — Steens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Steens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steens Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing