We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”
Review of Scandic Ornen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Ornen
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with two children (9 and 7). We had a family room which was modern, clean and the children loved the bunk beds. The breakfast was good with lots of choice so even the fussy eaters found something that they liked!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank rsj168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per P, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear rsj168,

thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you and your children enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Stayed at the hotel while on tour of Norway. The room was very comfortable and clean. The decor was extraordinary. The headboard above the bed had a lighted owl that was exceptional. The restaurant breakfast buffet was great. Location was good as well, within easy walking distance of city center and waterfront. No complaints or problems and would recommend for nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per P, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Ed50_13,

thank you for your feedback!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This hotel in central Bergen is just lovely, helpful polite staff, parking discounted across the road and the most stunning top floor Restaraunt with fantastic views. We stayed for 3 nights as part of a norway tour and were just delighted with our choice here. Breakfast can be busy but the staff cope well.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per P, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Gracudd,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hope we will see you again soon at Ørnen!

Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights . The first room offered was so small that it did not have a wardrobe, there was a rack with coat hangers. It also had no tea or coffee facilities . When I rang down I was told I would have to pay 300 kroner (about 30 $ Aud) extra for a SUPERIOR room which I agreed to. The room we moved to was marginally larger, had a wardrobe and an electric kettle. It did not have shower gel in the dispenser nor did it have tea bags. Despite a request for both, neither was supplied until I found a clearer on the last day of our stay.
The window winder did not work, the iron could not be used as it stuck to fabric, the room was not vacuumed during our stay even the prized kettle was dented . The shower / toilet was so small the towels hit your head when you sat down and the gym was on the ninth floor not the advertised eighth.
It was however, quiet for sleeping, with a good breakfast and in the centre of town. The restaurant had good food at reasonable prices and in fairness I must admit I was not charged extra for the room on checkout. The place was understaffed and poorly maintained. I would not stay there again .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tomcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per P, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Tomcher,

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you were not satisified with the first room you got, but we are glad to hear that the superior room was better for you.
I will take this forward to our housekeeping manager, so we will improve regarding the missing items in the room.

All wishes for a great summer and welcome back to Scandic Ørnen!

Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Scandic Ornen is a modern hotel, a short walk to the tourist area. Breakfast looked amazing - choices for those with special dietary needs, big appetites or just the cereal and toast people like me. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per P, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your nice review!
We are very glad you enjoyed everything with your stay.

Hope we will see you again soon!

Best regads,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
957 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
333 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ornen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ornen

Address: Lars Hilles gate 18, Bergen 5008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Ornen 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Ornen, centrally located in Bergen, close to the city's cultural centre, the Grieg Hall and Bergen Art Museum. Spacious and modern rooms, including accessible rooms. Try our fantastic restaurant Roast and Bergen's only skybar, located on the 13th floor with a fantastic view of the city and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Wotif.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Ornen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing