We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location but not cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bergen YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bergen YMCA Hostel
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location but not cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were two families of 3 adults and 5 children who stayed one night in two four-bed rooms. The rooms were nice and clean and we especially loved the roof terrace which had an amazing view! The standard was good for a hostel but quite expensive even by Norwegian standards! The location was great, within walking distance of everything in Bergen. Being so central we struggled to find reasonable parking for our cars, we either had to pay NOK120 and walk 10-15 minutes, or find free overnight parking in the street but then have to move the cars by 8am. All in all we're very happy with our stay and would recommend the YMCA hostel to anyone (but especially people not travelling by car)!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no7helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    126
    91
    25
    4
See reviews for
18
51
96
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Bergen YMCA is perfectly central. It is only a few minutes away from the central station and the fish market is practically next door, only a few steps will lead you there. This means you can get very fast to Bryggen and to the funicular, to countless restaurants and shops.

The rooms are just okay, nothing special, but there is toilet and a shower in them, which is nice, but still leads to the << everyone wants to take his shower at the same time >> problem.

The kitchen is well equipped and you get free tea and coffee. There is also a shelf with free food in the fridge. As for the common room, it is nice (even though no computer works there... you really have to bring your own, there is free WI-FI) and comfortable.

The only thing this hostel should have is a laundry room. When I asked, the lady at reception sent me to a laundry place close by... and it was really ridiculously expensive. Don't go there.

But despite this, Bergen YMCA is a perfectly good value for your money, especially if all that you ask for is to be close of everything there is to see in Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroumzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The YMCA is in a fantastic location. The staff is helpful and the facilities are clean. If you are traveling solo and book a room in a bunk room just remember that the bunk rooms are coed. You cannot beat it for the price and location in Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimgirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A great hostel, very centrally located and within walking distance of major attractions within Bergen. Rooms are modern but fastidiously clean and the welcome in reception is warm and the staff helpful.
A great base for a weekend break or longer stay in Norway - we ventured to Voss for sea kayaking in the fjords and on to Flam which was breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Claire_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquetes, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I went to the hostal with a group of students from my school as part of a Comenius meeting. We weren't the only ones, there were a total of 70 of us for that visit. The hostal staff were helpful and easy to talk with. Its rooms are clean and generous, They don't have any luxuries but then, it is a hostal. At least all the rooms are newly furnished and warm.

Best of all the location, the hostal is in the heart of Bergen a stone's throw from everywhere. All in all recomendalbe if you want a hostal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto the square, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuwEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen YMCA Hostel

Property: Bergen YMCA Hostel
Address: Nedre Korskirkeallmenningen 4, Bergen 5017, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Price range (per night): $32 - $150
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen YMCA Hostel has a superb location in the city center, minutes from the main attractions! The rooms are bright and spacious, with en-suite facilities and kitchenettes. We offer single, double, 4 and 6 bedded rooms. Budget dorms are available during summer. Other facilities: Internet Cafe, WiFi, TV lounge and common rooms, guest kitchen and a roof terrace with incredible views over the harbour! We are open all year. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bergen YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergen Ymca Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing