We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
188
391
205
46
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
391
205
46
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar waffles fish market free tea and coffee nice hotel lounge area corner room main attractions two nights nutshell tour stayed for one night minute walk quiet location breakfast buffet small balcony comfortable room nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not much we liked about this hotel. It just didn’t feel clean, the rooms and lobby looked as though they were in need of refurbishing 20 years ago and they still haven’t gotten around to it. The bathroom was large, but there was some mold on the tiling around the tub, worn out towels (one with a hole) and no bath mat for the floor. Like some places, there was no shampoo or conditioner, just one dispenser with liquid intended for those as well as body wash. The internet service was so weak on the 5th floor, we moved down to the third floor where it was only marginally better. We hit a warm spell and like most northern European hotels, there was no air conditioning. They did have a fan to use in the room. The buffet breakfast was fine, and most of the reception staff were friendly. The one nice touch was free tea and coffee in the lobby at all times. We adjusted and enjoyed our time in Bryggen, but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, the lobby is the best place.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear LFK1,

Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff, service and breakfast. The WIFI is normally strong all over the hotel. We will immidiately check the signals in fifth floor.
We are sorry that you did not like the appearance of the hotel. We can inform you that we have had 1/3 of the hotel renovated in 2013 and we have our own, price-winning, interior arcitecht. She has won prizes for the guest room intarsia doors. Our maintenance team is constantly refurbushing rooms all year except during summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First, the good stuff: Staff - kind and helpful. Breakfast - plentiful and fresh. Location - great. Room - you have to know going in, it is old and it feels old, but also a little dirty and dingy. We also had a shower head that we nicknamed the "shower beast" because it kept coming unhinged and spraying all over the bathroom. Also, not great noise insulation, had consistent noise from other rooms most of the night. The beds are more like camping cots then a mattress. Having said that the room was a decent size. We weren't unhappy we just left not feeling super refreshed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jamie W,

Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff and breakfast. We are most sorry for the "shower beast" and will immidiatley try to locate the room so we can change to shower head at once. We have a maintenance team which continously takes care of the rooms. A project of 18 new and 32 refurbished rooms were finished in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It has laundry facilities for those travelers who need to run their clothes through a washing machine and dryer! How fantastic, for those who enjoy the close proximity of the great hiking Bergen has to offer (or those who drop fish on their clothes from eating everything at the Bergen fish market!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This old and comfortable hotel is near the Bergen waterfront.The rooms are nice, and the triple that we had was particularly comfortable. They have a good restaurant, very helpful service. It is well situated for touring Bergen

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Julien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were lucky enough to secure a corner room on the third floor with a balcony which offered a nice but limited view of the harbour - we booked a triple room. The hotel staff was fantastic, always giving you their full attention and were extremely helpful which made you feel comfortable and at ease

As we traveled with 2 kids, the washing machine/dryer and microwave on the 4th floor made life so much better as we were able to all have clean clothes for the next sector of our journey. There is a supermarket and some general stores located just behind the hotel so we were able to have some meals inside the hotel. The location was great - easy walking distance to the sites and it was very quiet at night.

We ate at the Altona Bar one night, excellent food and service. We ordered the house wine as the extensive selection was beyond my recognition - it turned out to be a very nice red.

Some not so good points, the hot water was erratic, sometimes the water was hot and at other times it was at best luke warm. So we had to test out the water throughout the day to see if the hot water would arrive.The heated bathroom floor was also erratic but being summer, it didn't really matter but it would have been nice to have some consistency.

On the first night, the fire alarm went off at 4am and after some confusion it was confirmed to be a false alarm. But we only found out from other guests so it would have been nice for the hotel staff to check each floor to confirm it was false as I had 2 small kids who needed to be woken up and carried out if it was indeed real. Also the door doesn't always self lock, it states on the room key card but I only realised the next day as I assumed it self locked like other hotel keys.

Overall, I would stay here again as the price paid was comparative to what was offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews