We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and satisfactory stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 23 June 2017

As the name stated, this hotel is near to Bergen Airport but rest assured that you will not hear the noises by planes taking off or landing but there is still some distance away. This hotel is also one of the few better hotels that we had stayed in our entire recent Scandinavia tour. The hotel has a modern and trendy theme, huge lobby (with lots of seats) and land area.

Our tour group arrived at the hotel around at about 6.30pm and the check in process was fast and prompt despite of other tour groups checking in, mostly the Japanese. Do note that in the evening and morning, the lobby was extremely crowded with large groups of guests checking in and out respectively and so do take note of your luggage and valuables.

Our room was 109, on the 1st floor, meaning we do not have to take lift and so in a short while, we had already checked into our room. The room was very cosy, nice, clean and spacious with a nice outside view from the window! There was also a huge and comfortable sofa which we enjoyed! The bed was very soft and comfortable and we have a great sleep. The room had a kettle, fridge, TV but sadly no bathtub or it would be perfect! It also had aircon (most European hotels do not have that) and was functioning like a charm.

Wifi connection was fast and stable and was offered free!

What is interesting was that there were 3 self-service coffee machines at the lobby where hotel guests can help themselves with the coffee free of charge! That's a very nice gesture unlike other hotels offering similar services but at a cost! Awesome.

As the hotel's cafe was under some renovation work, we had our meals in the ballroom instead that was setup like school canteen (in rows) though but was ok, as it was spacious with nice table and wall decor, skirting on the dinning table. We had both dinner and breakfast at the cafe with the former a 3-course meal and the latter buffet styled. The dinner was just passable (main course was fish but dessert was good and flavoured tomato soup if I did not remember wrongly) while the breakfast buffet had quite a good spread of items, generally western and Scandinavian items. Staff was friendly and polite.

Outside the hotel was the carpark and there were some metal tables and chairs to allow guests to rest or have a drink (from the lounge or pub) and enjoying the nice green surrounding.

With a short walk from the hotel (about 200-300m), there were some cafes and eateries and a supermarket Rema 1000 (closed by 11pm), where you could grab some snacks, fruits or supper if you feel like eating at night.

Our stay here was enjoyable and were highly satisfied as it met our expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZfyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Bergen Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed here the night before flying back to Bergen, the have a transport stop 200m from the hotel with the airport a 4 minute trip away. The hotel is easily accessible from the town centre, just get the bybane (which is the one that runs on tram lines and goes from next to the park in the city centre). Hotel really nice, bathroom has a bath and heated floor, smart TV where you can access Netflix or Spotify (Netflix wasn't working at the time). My flight was too early for the breakfast but if the evening food was anything to go by it would have been gorgeous. Also had a fitness pool and a sauna.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siren S, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us such nice feedback here on Tripadvisor.
Great to hear about you have being taken well care of and that you enjoyed our hotel.

Looking forward to be welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Best regards
Siren Steffensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Clean, spacious room, only about 10 min.from Bergen airport and about 40 min. tram ride from NSB station in downtown Bergen. Walking distance to some local grocery and convenience stores. Helpful reception staff who spoke English well. Remarkable breakfast.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank vmsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siren S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you so much for leaving us such an excellent feedback here on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again some time soon here on Thon Hotel Bergen Airport!

Best regards
Siren Steffensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Quite a nice hotel for 1 night. Recently refurbished with clean and comfortable rooms. Good bed. Breakfast has more than enough choice and the sausages end beans are excellent. I'll be back

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siren S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a positive feedback. Happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast.

Happy to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Best regards
Siren Steffensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very nice but a bit far away from the city of Bergen. That's no problem you can use the tram which is nearby. At the hotel they got a very nice breakfast buffet. The restaurant is as well a nice place to have a good dinner in the evening.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank E8208NSthomasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siren S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving us positive feedback here on Tripadvisor.
Glad you had a nice weekend!

Best regards
Siren Steffensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
1.6 km away
Scandic Flesland Airport
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Edvard Grieg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Bergen Airport
0.1 km away
Scandic Bergen Airport
Scandic Bergen Airport
#1 of 1 in Kokstad
336 reviews
10.4 km away
Magic Hotel Solheimsviken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Bergen Airport

Address: Kokstadvegen 3, Bergen 5257, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $162 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Bergen Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Bergen Airport is a large , modern conference hotel closely situated to the main airport in Bergen. The hotel was renovated in 2013. Shuttle bus to the airport is only available monday through friday at 05:45am, 06:15am and 06:55am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Kokstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing