We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
264
460
244
97
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
460
244
97
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great breakfast train station hotel breakfast smoked salmon within walking distance fresh fruit central location family room fish market four nights mini bar free tea and coffee short stay few minutes walk the room was nice top floor nutshell tour
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Luckily I was 1 person staying in a 2 bedroom. The beds were shoved together, against the corner of the room and there was barely enough room for me to put my suitcase at the foot of the beds and still walk past.
The shower didn't work. It came out as a drizzle and didn't warm up.
The only reason this isn't 1 star is because of the buffet breakfast and helpful staff.
It is a few streets away from the city centre and the views.
My room faced an ally, so there was no view. The building seemed to be built in a U shape, so many rooms would have the same view.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elyshia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Byparken, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Elyshia S,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback after your recent stay.
I see you stayed in one of our economy rooms. They are the smallest room type we have, with the bed out towards the wall. If you want a larger room next time, I recommend one of our standard rooms or superior rooms. They are bigger and the beds are in the middle of the room. We also have rooms facing the street as well as the courtyard, so ask for your preference next time.
I am sorry the shower did not work. We will take a look at this right away.

We are glad to see the breakfast buffet and our staff was good.

Hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Bergen!
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Very small rooms, only suitable for 1 person. Nothing in the room as glasses, pen. Breakfast was very good and a lot of Food. The facility was not suitable for all people who stayed this week end.
never more stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Overnatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Byparken, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Overnatter,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback after your stay.
Glasses and pens should be in all our rooms, so we will take a look into our routines here and see what has happened. Thank you for letting us know.
We are glad to see the breakfast was good.

Hope you will try us again, so you can see that this was one-time thing and that we have learned from it.
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

We booked a family room and found it comfortable and clean. It was set up as 4x singles (note two beds were very short and not really long enough for anyone over 5 foot 8 or 9 inches) and they were pleasant to sleep in. There were construction lights on during the night that shone through the curtains (not blackout) but having eyeshades made this bearable.

The breakfast had a wide variety of options and was delicious! The range included - omelettes, fish, cheese, eggs and bacon, porridge, pancakes, waffles, pastries, cereals, juices, smoothies, toast and more. Not sure the normal hours for buffet breakfasts in Norwegian hotels but this one finished a little early for us weary weekday holiday travellers with sleepy teens (9.30am) but it goes to 10am on weekends.

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Easy to store luggage. Easy walking distance to the mall (incl supermarket), shops, transport, attractions, restaurants.

No minibar in your room - a little mini shop including those items and more are downstairs in the foyer.

One quirk here - you have to scan your card to lock the door when you leave your room. Don’t forget!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Byparken, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Sam P,
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review after your recent stay. We appriciate it!

We are happy to see you had a good stay with us, and that you enjoyed both breakfast and location :)

And regarding the door lock - our doors have an emergency minute where the door stays open for one minute after you close the door. That is in case you evacuate, but the hallways are closed off and you need to evacuate back into the room. When the minute is up the door will lock itself, but you can override this minute by using your key card.

Hope we can welcome you back to us, next time you are in Bergen!
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Staying in this hotel 3 nights to attend an event at nearby Greighallen. The location is excellent, 2min walk from airport bus stop and 5min to main square. There are lots of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby.
The room is very small but quite well organised and has most things you need for a short stay. Sadly no bath in the bathroom to relax and no tea/coffee facilities. Many rooms face the interior of the building which isn’t pleasant.
The breakfast buffet is great - everything you could want and you can take tea and coffee away with you. Nice fresh orange juice and fresh smoothies too. Lunch and dinner looked nice but I didn’t try it personally as there’s a lot of choice in the city.
Overall is basic and could be cleaner, but staff are friendly and for Norwegian prices it’s probably quite reasonable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank ladolcevita89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Byparken, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear ladolcevita89,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. We appriciate it!

We have rooms facing the street, as well as rooms facing the courtyard. Ask for one of the rooms facing the steet next time.
And our standard rooms don't have bathtub and coffee/tea-facilities, but our superior extra-rooms have it. But we do have coffee/tea-facilities always availabel in the lobby area.

We are glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast, and that our location was good.
Hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Bergen!
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anette J, Front Office Manager at Scandic Byparken, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews