We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, clean with excellent breakfast buffé”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Small rooms, reasonably priced. Good location a few minutes from central square and the fish market.

The breakfast buffé is extraordinary and would not be a shame in a much higher price range. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear Martin K,

Thank you for your feedback and rating. We are very glad to see you had a good stay with us, and that the breakfast was enjoyed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Acting Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I took my 87 yr. old father and 3 other family members to Norway. This hotel has a great central location walking distance to any Bergen attraction. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The rooms super clean. It is literally one block from the KODA museums full of art--beautiful parks. The Fish Market is maybe 4 blocks away. The train station to catch a train to Oslo is maybe 6 or 7 blocks. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lzetzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Hello lzetzman,

Thank you for your good feedback and rating. We are very glad to see you had a good stay with us, and that our staff was helpful and pleasant.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Acting Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were a group of 28 persons and we stayed in this hotel for two days. All the rooms we stayed were too small, no space to move freely,no sufficient light in the room,the bathtub in my room wasn't working, the reception staff wasn't polite to me. The only thing which was good is the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tpanayiotou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear Tpanayiotou,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a feedback after your stay.
First I would like to say I am sorry that you were not happy after your stay! I will talk to the front desk staff and find out what happened here. This is not how we want to be perceived at all. We will also go over the room you stayed in so we can fix the bathtub.

Regarding the room, we have several room types; from economy (quite small) to Superior rooms and Suites, some facing the street and some towards the backyard. I recommend that you try one of our Superior Extra rooms next time, then you will have a spacious room, which is quietly located.

Hope we can welcome you again, so we have the opportunity to fix the impression you have now. Please contact me directly so I can offer you a free upgrade to a superior room (if available).

Best regards,
Anette Johansen,
Acting Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed at the Scandic Byparken for 7 nights in late July 2017. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all main attractions such as Fish Market, Bryggen, all KODE museums, Bergen Railway Station, shopping centers (Xhibition, Galleriet, Kloverhuset, Bergen Storsenter), shopping along Torgallmenningen, The Floibanen, Bergenhus Fortress, etc. Right down the street is the beautiful lake Lille Lungegardsvannet and park. Supermarkets and restaurants are all within easy reach of the Scandic Byparken. They offer a complimentary buffet breakfast with your stay. It's wide and plentiful with lots of selection such as smoked salmon plus other fish, different cheeses, cold meats and spreads, freshly fried eggs, omelets, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage, meatballs, fried mushrooms, baked beans, assorted fresh bread, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruits, crepe, just to name a few. Check-in and Check-out were no-nonsense and quick process. Reception was very courteous and helpful with all our needs. We had a family room on the 5th floor facing the street with a nice view of Mt. Floyen. Everything with the room was satisfactory, except on the last night of our stay, housekeeping forgot to make one of our beds, which was weird, but not a horrible problem. I only wished housekeeping would make use of the Swiffer mop a little more on the floor, because we can tell it was not properly mopped/swept as we can still see crumbs from the day before. Other than that, it was a nice and comfortable stay and I am quite satisfied with the overall hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a bit noisy. If noise bothers you, opt for a quieter room, which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 August 2017

Dear Florence C.

Thank you very much for this great review and rating of our hotel, I really appreciate it and hope to see you here again very soon.

All the best

Lene Mjeldheim
General Manager
Scandic Byparken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This is the second Scandic hotel my husband and I stayed at in Norway. How very different the two are. Our room was a normal European size - decent enough for two people and had room to put away our clothes. It also had a small refrigerator, so we could purchase some food instead of eating out all the time. No USB ports, but plenty of outlets to use adapters. They claimed to have blackout curtains, but ours were lacking and there was a steady glow of the June midsummer sun all night. As with our other Scandic hotel, there isn't any cooling machine (fan, A/C) so you need to leave the window open for some air. The breakfast was mighty, but very very busy/crowded. This is the big plus for Scandic as the breakfast is included in your room price, so you can load up on a good amount of food and get through a good portion of your day without needing to step in to a restaurant. The front desk staff was mostly helpful, and all very friendly. The location was fantastic - just across from the park, which is a lovely walk. The harbor is walkable, though it is about 5 blocks. The train station is diagonal across the park - very very walkable, and there is the end of the tram line just two blocks away. I would stay here again - I'll try the other seasons for more darkness and cooler sleeping temps, though.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 August 2017

Dear Mary Z.

Thank you so much for a great review and rating of the hotel, I really appreciate it!
Looking forward to see you again.

All the best
Lene Mjeldheim
General Manager
Scandic Byparken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,406 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 51 in Bergen
974 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 51 in Bergen
75 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 51 in Bergen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $148 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing