We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Ornen(Bergen)(Great Value!)
USD 242
USD 205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 224
USD 212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 203
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 217
USD 204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 205
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
USD 228
USD 212
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 245
USD 223
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marken Gjestehus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
USD 98
USD 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
USD 181
USD 163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
175
379
298
173
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
379
298
173
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish marketnice hotellobby areabeds were comfortablecentral locationhurtigruten cruiseexcellent breakfasttrain stationpascalharbour
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Great frontdesk. They were really welcoming and did everything to serve us. Breakfast was good (times served were bad specially with young kids - 6.30 to 9.30). Location was excellent.
Dirty room.very outdated bathroom with no hooks to hang the towels. No cleaning from housekeeping during our stay. They did change towels and tidied our room, but dust was everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kronoz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Kronoz

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the service an our breakfast. I do apologize for the problems you had in your room.
I do hope that you will visit us again on some later occasion.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

stayed for 4 nights recently but renovation was going on so the lobby will be much better and restaurant Breakfast was good but taken upstairs in an odd style restaurant but plenty of food in buffet including cooked eggs and bacon and fish of course Room was reasonable Good location in Bergen near the fish market We ran out of toilet paper and room not cleaned properly Went to reception, as no one answered the phone, normally only one person on duty the lady was helpful after one hour and no help returned reception to see the manger and no one on duty This is very poor the lady said sorry but was alone and said when she finished duty and next person came on she would attend to the problem and she dis apologetically This hotel needs to pull its socks up with management staff were always courteous

Room Tip: don't pay for upgrade room eat out
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnde215ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear John!

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast in the period that we were renovating our reception and breakfast restaurant. I do apologize for the problems you had in your room.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The reason for the rating is that the first room we got was absolutely with no normal functional quality (wardrobe obsolute, hangers for towels in bathroom lacking etc. etc.). Have not experienced anything like this ever on all our travels in Europe and elsewhere! First receptionist very stressed/introvert? The second room in the new wing was very good, however, no possibility to regulator the temperature (extremely lovely weather in Bergen these days!!). The service personell elsewhere were very good! Lovely and very good breakfast which ended a bit early (09:30 hrs.??) with a lot of guests there. The hotel has a very good location in central Bergen - a very short walk from Bergen's many interesting buildings, markets, museums etc.
Parking very convenient five mlnutes walk from the hotel in a public garage (minus 20% of the normal fee).
So in fact, a very nice stay bit with a completely unnecessary start!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank torgeirr257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and our location.
I will look into the problems you describe in the first room you had and I apologize for the problems this occurred for you.
Welcome back any time!

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I was extremely happy with this hotel! It is located one street away from the bay area which has a great view towards the central area with the famous picturesque houses. It's about 10 minutes walk from all the central areas you want to go to, like the fish market.

The hotel itself was being redecorated in the main hall area during my time there, however the construction did not bother me in any way (like noise).

Breakfast had a great variety of food choices, but it was held in a replacement hall (since the main was being redecorated) and therefore was a bit crowded.

The room was basic, comfortable but a bit cold during the night. I could not regulate the temperature. The staff was very friendly and helpful and would give them a big plus. Would definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Niskia!

Thank you for this nice review.
We have finished to redecoration and I do hope you will be back and enjoy the new reception, and our new restaurant.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

What's good:
-Very conveniently located //Within walking distance from city center boats.
-Excellent breakfast buffet with cereals, several hot entree choices, large salad/fruit selections. Food was fresh, well-prepared.
-Beautiful well-lit lobby w/gathering area.

What's not so great:
-Rooms are compact (common for Scandinavian hotels). Bathroom area is about an arms length from edge of the bed & separated by an etched glass door. This doesn't leave much privacy.
-Bed mattress appears to be a thinner mattress over a covered spring mattress. Average comfort. Only covering is an enclosed thick duvet (we've also found this common)---way too hot for summer. Suggest asking for an extra sheet when you check in.
-Hotel rooms could use updating & fixing regular wear & tear. Average on the "clean" scale.

Other comment:
-Be aware most hotels don't have air conditioning. Windows open, a good thing. This hotel is near city center & docks, so you'll have more noise than usual.
-Americans used to washcloths should throw one in their bag. Not supplied in any Norwegian hotel we've visited.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marcia K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Marcia!

Thank you for your review!
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and location.
I wish you welcome back any time!

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews