We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the city centre”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 6 August 2017

A Good place to stay with children. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but the rooms are big. Nice breakfast buffet, but the children missed the pancakes. The hotel is situated very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank 994liner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear guest!
Thank you for this nice review. I am glad to read that you had a nice stay with us together with your family.

Welcome back any time !

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Neptun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Great frontdesk. They were really welcoming and did everything to serve us. Breakfast was good (times served were bad specially with young kids - 6.30 to 9.30). Location was excellent.
Dirty room.very outdated bathroom with no hooks to hang the towels. No cleaning from housekeeping during our stay. They did change towels and tidied our room, but dust was everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kronoz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Kronoz

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the service an our breakfast. I do apologize for the problems you had in your room.
I do hope that you will visit us again on some later occasion.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

stayed for 4 nights recently but renovation was going on so the lobby will be much better and restaurant Breakfast was good but taken upstairs in an odd style restaurant but plenty of food in buffet including cooked eggs and bacon and fish of course Room was reasonable Good location in Bergen near the fish market We ran out of toilet paper and room not cleaned properly Went to reception, as no one answered the phone, normally only one person on duty the lady was helpful after one hour and no help returned reception to see the manger and no one on duty This is very poor the lady said sorry but was alone and said when she finished duty and next person came on she would attend to the problem and she dis apologetically This hotel needs to pull its socks up with management staff were always courteous

Room Tip: don't pay for upgrade room eat out
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnde215ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear John!

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast in the period that we were renovating our reception and breakfast restaurant. I do apologize for the problems you had in your room.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The reason for the rating is that the first room we got was absolutely with no normal functional quality (wardrobe obsolute, hangers for towels in bathroom lacking etc. etc.). Have not experienced anything like this ever on all our travels in Europe and elsewhere! First receptionist very stressed/introvert? The second room in the new wing was very good, however, no possibility to regulator the temperature (extremely lovely weather in Bergen these days!!). The service personell elsewhere were very good! Lovely and very good breakfast which ended a bit early (09:30 hrs.??) with a lot of guests there. The hotel has a very good location in central Bergen - a very short walk from Bergen's many interesting buildings, markets, museums etc.
Parking very convenient five mlnutes walk from the hotel in a public garage (minus 20% of the normal fee).
So in fact, a very nice stay bit with a completely unnecessary start!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank torgeirr257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and our location.
I will look into the problems you describe in the first room you had and I apologize for the problems this occurred for you.
Welcome back any time!

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I was extremely happy with this hotel! It is located one street away from the bay area which has a great view towards the central area with the famous picturesque houses. It's about 10 minutes walk from all the central areas you want to go to, like the fish market.

The hotel itself was being redecorated in the main hall area during my time there, however the construction did not bother me in any way (like noise).

Breakfast had a great variety of food choices, but it was held in a replacement hall (since the main was being redecorated) and therefore was a bit crowded.

The room was basic, comfortable but a bit cold during the night. I could not regulate the temperature. The staff was very friendly and helpful and would give them a big plus. Would definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerjeHa001, General Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Niskia!

Thank you for this nice review.
We have finished to redecoration and I do hope you will be back and enjoy the new reception, and our new restaurant.

Best regards
Terje Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#35 of 49 in Bergen
721 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,318 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
First Hotel Marin
#17 of 49 in Bergen
1,296 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $160 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing