We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
28
14
15
7
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
14
15
7
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luggage rack bed was comfortable top floor nice breakfast fish market mirror balcony toiletries bryggen
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Although this hotel is located in a mall, it's relative location is magnificent. However, if you stay on a Friday or Saturday night the Disco upstairs will keep you awake all night (even after the dancing stops- the clean-up noise begins) When we complained the next morning, we were told that others had complained also. When we shared that our toilet did not work all evening and there was no phone in the room to notify anyone, we were told that no one could come to fix it because if was Sunday. Really??? And to add to our misery, there was no way to control what seemed like "air" for our room - and we didn't dare open the windows (they'd only open an inch or two anyway).
We insisted that we were checking out of the hotel and wanted to be reimbursed since we had to prepay! We were credited with the future night that we did not stay there, but were not reimbursed for our night of no sleep. We should have been, because sleep is the service we expected to receive. (as with any credible hotel) It ruined the rest of our visit to lovely Bergen.

Room tip: Just don't stay there!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonssjef at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Harriet,
thank you for writing us your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear that your stay in Bergen wasn't as good as it could've been.
Unfortunately the nightclub in the same building as ours can be disturbing to some of our rooms when its open in the weekends. We have now come up with some better solutions for the rooms that are more exposed to the noise than others. As for the issue with the toilet and the climate in your room, we can only apologize for making a poor stay worse. We do hope you still had a nice stay in Bergen, and that we one day can make it up to you if you ever return.

Best Regards Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms are on floor 5, 6 and 8. The nightclub on floor 7. So do not expect to sleep before 2.30 in the morning during the nights the club is open. Wen alerting the staff regarding the unacceptable noise levels the reply is: 'were you not warned at check-in?'. We were not....

Apart from that:
Nice looking impractical rooms with nowhere to put your stuff. The double bed is put in a corner. Comfortable beds.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonen at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Sea-mew,
and thank you for your review and feedback.

We're sorry you left with this experience. We are working to improve it and to reduce the noice.
Furthermore we can only apologize for the lack of service you experiences with our staff.
We will make sure to bring it forward so that hopefully we can improve the stay for our future guests.

We're glad you found our beds comfortable, and hope you still had a nice stay in Bergen.

Best Regards
Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

As per the title - the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I should have refused to check-in when the receptionist offered me ear plugs due to ‘possible night club noise’! However I’d pre-paid so it was too late! I had my own ear plugs that I use for my job and they are usually sufficient to keep the noise out - nope... the noise and vibration of the club (2 floors away !) was horrendous. I got to sleep at 3! The hotel is clean and quirky - however don’t stay here if you like sleep!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Gran_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonen at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Gran_G.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, much appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that you were bothered by lound music from the night club while here.
We do have some rooms (based upon availability) that are less affected by the noise,
and are working to better get the information about the city nightlife out on our bookingsites.
We still hope you had a nice stay in Bergen.

Best Regards
Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Things did not start well. We checked in around 3pm, and the person at the front desk notified us that it was Saturday, which meant that the Nightclub was open from 11pm to 2:30am, but that normally guests were not inconvenienced by this, and that if it was a problem, we could just walk down to the lobby and the night attendant would accommodate us. She apologized for the fact that we had not been notified of this ahead of time, but the hotel was fully booked, and she could not move us to another room. For the records, the Nightclub is on the 7th floor, and our room, 616, was right beneath on the 6th.

Upon entering the room, the first thing we saw was a fresh set of earplugs on the night table (uh-oh!). Moreover, the hotel did not provide us with the Signature room we had reserved through Expedia. Even though I displayed a copy of my confirmation, the person at the front desk told me that Expedia had sent them a reservation for a regular room, and that there was nothing she could do. Upon my insistance she found a 'Junior Suite' (It seems they were not fully booked after all!), which does corresponds pretty much to the description of the Signature room on the Expedia web site.

We thought things would be ok, but upon returning from dinner at 11:30pm, the party was in full swing, and the earplugs added with the pillows over our heads couldn't overcome the loud thumping from the Nightclub. At 12:15am, I decided to go down to the front desk in an attempt to have a firm but cordial discussion with the night attendant. After looking at our options, which included moving to another Magic hotel, I was offered room 805, which was much, much quieter, for sleeping, with the option of leaving all our things in the other room until checkout in the morning.

Wasn't the hotel fully booked? Why didn't they give me room 805 from the beginning? Although smaller than a junior suite, room 805 was larger than a regular room, and had a couch and a coffee table, which could've approached the description of a Signature room, which supposedly had a "separate living area".

All-in-all, a very bad experience.

On the plus side, the performance of wi-fi was very good, and the hotel is extremely well located.

So be warned: the Nightclub operates Thursdays though Saturdays.

Room tip: Don't stay on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank egarceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonen at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Egarceau,
and thank you so much for your honest feedback and review.

We can only apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the service of our staff
and the nightclub (open Saturdays) located in the mall. Some rooms are more exposed
to the noise and bass, and we are looking at solutions to reduce the noise into the rooms of our hotel.

I'm glad to read that you in the end got a silent room and a good nights sleep,
but very sorry that we didn't initially arrange this when you first checked in.

We do hope you still had a good stay in Bergen,
and that we can welcome you back in the future to better your impression of us.

Best Regards
Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We picked this hotel to celebrate a special occasion in Bergen and ended up having an exceptionally bad experience.

At start, checking in was terrible. We booked a view which was listed as “a suite with a view and terrace”. Surprising enough, we were checked into an awfully cramped room (which looked ENTIRELY different from the pictures when we booked it), not to mention without a terrace and having the view of the dome of the shopping mall. Disappointedly, we went to ask for a change of rooms but was greeted by rude hospitality from the receptionist. He didn’t only repeatedly claim that the room we got was what we paid for, but also refused to look into our booking details. After some hassle, he said he would now “upgrade” our room to a suite in a condescending manner. When we changed to the second room (which is still without a terrace btw, though with a view of the harbor through the windows), the receptionist insisted to us that it was not the room we booked at the beginning but rather an upgrade he has done for us. It was surprising to me how a hotel with such high rating on various sites could treat its guests with such manners and make unnecessary rude comments. It was equally disappointing how the hotel trains its staff to handle such situations without being helpful and friendly at all.

During our stay, sleep was disturbed by loud noises and music from above (the night club on the top floor). The bass was really loud and won’t stop through midnight. So if you are looking for a serene stay at Bergen, this hotel should def not be the choice.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank llhhyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløverhuset R, Resepsjonen at Magic Hotel Kloverhuset, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear llhhyy,

thank you so much for your review and feedback.
This is truly appreciated, as it helps us improve where its needed.
First of all, we can only apologize for the inconveniences during your stay,
especially as you came to Bergen to celebrate a special occasion.
Its regretful that you were given a different room than you initially had booked
and that the service from our staff didn't live up to our ususal standards thereafter.
Second, some rooms are more exposed to the city nightlife - and the nightclub in the same building as our hotel,
and we are working to improve it and to reduce the noice.

Again, thank you for your comments, as they are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service.
We still hope to see you again in the future, so we can give you a better experience at our hotel.

Best Regards
Camilla
Magic Hotel Kløverhuset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews