We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful location”

Bryggen Tracteursted
Ranked #51 of 429 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 145 - USD 465
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bryggen - the Wharf in Bergen - is known worldwide as one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, the centre of historical Bergen and a must for any visitor to Bergen. In the middle of Bryggen you will find Bryggen Tracteursted - renovated and reopened - with respect for its historical surroundings and with an ambition to restore its reputation as one of Bergen's top quality restaurants. Bryggen Tracteursted consists of "Schotstuen" - the Assembly Room, the Firehouse - representing the kitchen and in the back the Stable and the Hayloft. Svensgårdens Schotstue - anno 1708 - is a listed building and the only one left in its original location. The word Schotstue comes from "skytningsstova" the place where you shared your food with others.. At Bryggen Tracteursted you will find a modern kitchen inspired by local Bergen and Hanseatic cooking.
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had dinner there and the food was amazing. Reindeer beef, delicious ! The only bad thing was the size... too small dish, some extra potatoes would be better. The location is epic, in Bryggen... but you should leave the place for going to the toilet. Anyway, I would reccomend it !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Kundeansvarlig at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by a native, as we were looking to try reindeer and native dishes. We were not disappointed! We had the delicious, tender reindeer loin served on goat cheese with roasted beets, cauliflower and mushrooms. I had a flaky codfish over asparagus in a sort of beurre blanc that was wonderful too. Desserts were traditional and yummy, service was excellent too. While the farm to table cuisine was of the moment, the 1700 architecture made us feel like we'd visited the past. Don't miss this restaurant!

2  Thank TravelPJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Dårlig mat og dårlig service, særlig dårlig mat til turist! Do not come!! They cheat turist and they serve ufresh shrimps, which are defrost for days, shrimps are sticky.非常差的食物,不要来!!北极虾都不是新鲜解冻的,我去理论,他们还不承认,知道我说我住在挪威,他们才不说话了。超级差评!

Thank Sheng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We thank you for your review and appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your visit at Bryggen Tracteursted did not meet your expectations. We are constantly striving to improve both our products and services, to be able to give our guests a great experience at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My husband, and two children ate at Bryggen Tracteursted in late August 2017. We sat in the backyard terrace area, with the stacked stone wall. It was very charming outside, and not crowded, probably due to it being late in the season. We got menus from the bartender inside, and sat where we wanted to.

The food was very fresh and tasty, artfully presented, and felt very local. The bathrooms are located just down the hall, and are made to look like old Bryggen.

It was a nice treat before heading to explore the historic area further.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Bryggen Tracteursted.

This was my visit to this particular restaurant, the Bryggen Tracteursted is found through a narrow passageway Bellgården off the Bergen Harbour (Bryggen) the passageway floor is made of wood planking and there are several shops placed along the alley.

The ally opens up to reveal an open space with an outside bar that serves food and drinks in dry weather.  The restaurant is build of wooden logs, the inside is intimate with subdued lighting the decor being old Hansiatic.

We were shown to our table and given the a bill of fare.

I plumped for the fried dried fish (this is better than it sounds, the fish is rehydrated then fried) unfortunately I can't remember what my friends had but we did did have severl glasses of their excellent house wine.

My fish was delicious,  served with bacon and boiled new potatoes,  For dessert I had Tilslørte Bondepiker (layers of stewed apples, crumbled cake and cream served in a glass) this is a very Norwegian dessert that I've not found anywhere else in the world.

The food was excellent and well presented, and I do not remember any of my companions complaining they all seemed to making appropriate noises of enjoyment.

Service: all the staff were friendly, polite and professional,  they new their subject and made several recommendations that we followed,  our meals and drinks were served quickly and the food was hot.

Would I go back? Certainly it was a very enjoyable interlude good food, and staff that were friendly and good humoured.

1  Thank Mariner500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback and your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant. Our staff at Bryggen Tracteursted welcomes you back and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryggen Tracteursted also viewed

 

Been to Bryggen Tracteursted? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing