We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norwegian Classic”

Bryggen Tracteursted
Ranked #48 of 411 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 145 - USD 465
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bryggen - the Wharf in Bergen - is known worldwide as one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, the centre of historical Bergen and a must for any visitor to Bergen. In the middle of Bryggen you will find Bryggen Tracteursted - renovated and reopened - with respect for its historical surroundings and with an ambition to restore its reputation as one of Bergen's top quality restaurants. Bryggen Tracteursted consists of "Schotstuen" - the Assembly Room, the Firehouse - representing the kitchen and in the back the Stable and the Hayloft. Svensgårdens Schotstue - anno 1708 - is a listed building and the only one left in its original location. The word Schotstue comes from "skytningsstova" the place where you shared your food with others.. At Bryggen Tracteursted you will find a modern kitchen inspired by local Bergen and Hanseatic cooking.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Bryggen Tracteursted.

This was my visit to this particular restaurant, the Bryggen Tracteursted is found through a narrow passageway Bellgården off the Bergen Harbour (Bryggen) the passageway floor is made of wood planking and there are several shops placed along the alley.

The ally opens up to reveal an open space with an outside bar that serves food and drinks in dry weather.  The restaurant is build of wooden logs, the inside is intimate with subdued lighting the decor being old Hansiatic.

We were shown to our table and given the a bill of fare.

I plumped for the fried dried fish (this is better than it sounds, the fish is rehydrated then fried) unfortunately I can't remember what my friends had but we did did have severl glasses of their excellent house wine.

My fish was delicious,  served with bacon and boiled new potatoes,  For dessert I had Tilslørte Bondepiker (layers of stewed apples, crumbled cake and cream served in a glass) this is a very Norwegian dessert that I've not found anywhere else in the world.

The food was excellent and well presented, and I do not remember any of my companions complaining they all seemed to making appropriate noises of enjoyment.

Service: all the staff were friendly, polite and professional,  they new their subject and made several recommendations that we followed,  our meals and drinks were served quickly and the food was hot.

Would I go back? Certainly it was a very enjoyable interlude good food, and staff that were friendly and good humoured.

1  Thank Mariner500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback and your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant. Our staff at Bryggen Tracteursted welcomes you back and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Small lunch menu until 5.
Like everything in Norway extremely overpriced.
Food quality was ok. We had 2 rostbeaf sandwiches.

Thank dajazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We thank you for your review and appreciate your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve both our products and services, to be able to give our guests a great experience at our restaurant. Our staff at Bryggen Tracteursted welcomes you back and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Only wanted a light lunch after a hearty Celebrity cruise breakfast. Saw menu outside and thought the fish soup at 69.9Nk (around £7) would be okay. Ordered inside to be told that the menu outside was the evening menu and therefore we would have to order from the lunch-time menu. This also had fish soup which was described slightly differently, but the cost was significantly higher at 159.9Nk (around £16), We had high expectations of something quite nice, appreciating that prices in Norway are higher than England, only to be very disappointed. What we got was two half-filled bowls of creamy soup with a half a dozen small bits of fish, plus some bread. At over £31, (we did not have any drinks) this was a disgusting rip-off even at Norwegian prices. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE. COMPLETE RIP-OFF.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 48DiscerningGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Beer is very expensive in Norway, so be sure to tell the bar keep to fill it to the top! I was guided here by my favorite Norwegian and enjoyed a few Hansa beers outside at the tables. The history of the place is amazing, so take a few minutes to enjoy it.

Thank Bluskyzahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for Your visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. Look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch as it came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. The staff was helpful and the food was delicious.

1  Thank TazzyBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Kundeansvarlig at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryggen Tracteursted also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Bryggen Tracteursted? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing