We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real tourist trap with nice atmosphere.”

Bryggen Tracteursted
Ranked #48 of 413 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 145 - USD 465
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bryggen - the Wharf in Bergen - is known worldwide as one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites, the centre of historical Bergen and a must for any visitor to Bergen. In the middle of Bryggen you will find Bryggen Tracteursted - renovated and reopened - with respect for its historical surroundings and with an ambition to restore its reputation as one of Bergen's top quality restaurants. Bryggen Tracteursted consists of "Schotstuen" - the Assembly Room, the Firehouse - representing the kitchen and in the back the Stable and the Hayloft. Svensgårdens Schotstue - anno 1708 - is a listed building and the only one left in its original location. The word Schotstue comes from "skytningsstova" the place where you shared your food with others.. At Bryggen Tracteursted you will find a modern kitchen inspired by local Bergen and Hanseatic cooking.
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Small lunch menu until 5.
Like everything in Norway extremely overpriced.
Food quality was ok. We had 2 rostbeaf sandwiches.

Thank dajazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We thank you for your review and appreciate your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve both our products and services, to be able to give our guests a great experience at our restaurant. Our staff at Bryggen Tracteursted welcomes you back and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Only wanted a light lunch after a hearty Celebrity cruise breakfast. Saw menu outside and thought the fish soup at 69.9Nk (around £7) would be okay. Ordered inside to be told that the menu outside was the evening menu and therefore we would have to order from the lunch-time menu. This also had fish soup which was described slightly differently, but the cost was significantly higher at 159.9Nk (around £16), We had high expectations of something quite nice, appreciating that prices in Norway are higher than England, only to be very disappointed. What we got was two half-filled bowls of creamy soup with a half a dozen small bits of fish, plus some bread. At over £31, (we did not have any drinks) this was a disgusting rip-off even at Norwegian prices. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE. COMPLETE RIP-OFF.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 48DiscerningGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Beer is very expensive in Norway, so be sure to tell the bar keep to fill it to the top! I was guided here by my favorite Norwegian and enjoyed a few Hansa beers outside at the tables. The history of the place is amazing, so take a few minutes to enjoy it.

Thank Bluskyzahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for Your visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. Look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch as it came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. The staff was helpful and the food was delicious.

1  Thank TazzyBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Kundeansvarlig at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The room is a bit askew, but what do you expect in a 300 year old room that used to be a stable? We quite enjoyed the setting and were very pleased by the great variety of interesting menu choices. Rather than order the main course items, we treated the many appetizers as a kind of tapas selection, and shared our dishes amongst the four of us. We liked everything we ordered and came away quite satisfied.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CRSJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at Bryggen Tracteursted, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Bryggen and our restaurant. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryggen Tracteursted also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Bryggen Tracteursted? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;