We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cosy and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Arendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Arendal
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arendal
brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed almost a week here. Here are the highlights:

-breakfast served from 7-11 and included in the room price, this really helped as it is very expensive to eat out in Norway;
-very friendly and helpful staff on the front desk;
-rooms have a 'loft' which is cute for storing stuff, or kids;
-if you are travelling with kids, they seem really kid friendly, even had a play room with movies, wii and loads of toys.

No downsides, it's all good.

Top tip: don't pay the excessive prices for laundry - this is a laundry right opposite that will do it for about quarter of the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank academic013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-THA, General Manager at Thon Hotel Arendal, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you for kind words.
We are hoping to see you back in Arendal and Thon Hotels in the future.

Best regards

Erik Riis Jacobsen
General Manager
Thon Hotel Arendal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    61
    35
    23
    7
See reviews for
30
33
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwick ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We came from America and stayed in hotels all over Norway. This hotel was on par with the other hotels.
Excellent breakfast, small comfortable room.
I think some of the other reviews were unfair given the circumstances
The people we dealt with were very accomodating as were most we found in Norway

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjbellvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-THA, General Manager at Thon Hotel Arendal, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for grat comments and kind words.
We are all hoping to see you back in Norway and sunny Arendal, and hope that you had a pleasant holiday.

Best regards

Erik Riis Jacobsen
General Manager
Thon Hotel Arendal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Once you booked this hotel online, you've lost any right you might think have as far as making any changes to you reservation goes. No one will even remotely want to / try to help you is this regard. Extreamly poor service. But, you will get use to this in Norway.

  • Liked — Check out.
  • Disliked — Extreamly poor service.
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Boxter_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-THA, General Manager at Thon Hotel Arendal, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear guest.

As i am reading through your respond, i see that you have made a reservation through our low priced web deal.
It is not possible to change these reservations after the reservation has been made.
We are announcing this as you are about to make the reservation.

I still hope that you had a pleasant stay in Arendal and Thon Hotels, as we are very focused on presenting the best service inhouse.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arendal hotels

Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

The Hotel is in the middle of being refurbished, the room I was first given was next to 2 rooms in the middle of refurbishment, mine was not refurshed and very scruffy.

I asked to move rooms, the second room was much better but looked directly across the road into Tiger Tiger nightclub, hence very noisy until 2am!

On the positive side the hotel was central to everything.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank DurangoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-THA, General Manager at Thon Hotel Arendal, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear guest.
I am very thankful for your respond.

We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the late night noise from the night club above the street. We are pleased to notify that this club has been closed down.
Thon Hotel Arendal finished its refurbishing summer 2008.
We are proud to present a complete new hotel experience for all of our guest.

We are happy to welcome you back to Arendal and Thon Hotels.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

The Thon Hotel in Arendal is very centrally located, about 5 minutes from anything (or two minutes from the harbour). The views aren't special - overlooking the large church in the heart of the town, but nothing else that is scenic.

The rooms are functional with very comfortable beds. As is standard in Europe, if you book a single room, you get a single bed - even if the room is large enough to accommodate a double bed! The TV has a few channels and the nice thing in Norway is they don't dub, so if the show was originally filmed in English, there will merely be Norwegian subtitles beneath it.

The inhouse movies are outrageously priced though! There is a cinema next to the hotel and a shopping centre selling DVDs a 5 minute walk away, both with cheaper movies than what this hotel is charging!

But that aside, my one real quibble with this place was the shower. It has to be the coldest shower on the planet (in a place that looks like they are providing warm showers). The tap says 38C, but it felt like it could barely be above 20C - there was just enough warmth in the water that you didn't leap out screaming with frostbite... In a country where recycling is so prolific, maybe this is a ploy by the hotel - provide very tepid water so that (a) you don't spend much on heating and (b) you don't spend much on water consumption because no one would linger in that shower!

Overall, I'd stay there again, but defintely not for a long period - I couldn't stand having to psyche myself up for a shower....

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Cold shower
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cybamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-THA, General Manager at Thon Hotel Arendal, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear guest.

Thank you for your respond.
We at Thon Hotel Arendal are very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.
Unfortunately we have had som problems during and after the refurbishing regarding hot water.

We are pleased to announce that these problems are now solved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arendal
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 5 in Arendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 km away
Arendal Maritime Hotel
Arendal Maritime Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
11.3 km away
Strand Hotel Fevik
Strand Hotel Fevik
#1 of 4 in Grimstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Scandic Grimstad
Scandic Grimstad
#2 of 4 in Grimstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Arendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Arendal

Property: Thon Hotel Arendal
Address: Friergangen 1, Arendal 4836, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Arendal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arendal
Price range (per night): $198 - $300
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Arendal 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Arendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing