We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
115
100
80
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
100
80
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean one night staff was friendly scrambled eggs superior room alternative parking positive experience check in was quick nice breakfast harbour discussion receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel has no air conditioning but window opens only 10 cm and only one window opens. The carpet floor stinks of cigarette smoke. It is 30 C in the room but the bed has no top sheet, only a duna. So we have to take duna out of its envelope.
The sofa bed is grungy with greasy stains... and no sheets and the view out the window is of a tin roof. Not precisely charming Norway.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Franscesca,

Thank you so much for you feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to do this.
We try to improve our product everyday and therefore it is so important that our guests let us know what we can do better.
We are currently planning a large scale renovation of the hotel, including the rooms, this will take care of the problems you explain in your feedback. The windows only open 10 cm for security reasons, but during the record hot summer in Norway we understand the frustration around this matter. All our rooms are non smoking and the carpets has been changed years after the smoke prohibition was effectuated. Still, occasionally, some guests break this rule. We always clean the room extra i these matters - but maybe not god enough this time. We will check the room today and do what it takes if the smell is still there. The sofa will of course also be fixed or replaced.

We do our best to improve every day and the feedback from our guests are super valuable to us, so again; Thank you, and welcome back for a better experience next time.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Check in was quick. Room at the 6th floor, facing the back of the hotel. Good size room, renovated in 2014 according to information in the corridor. No air condition in the room. Outside temp. around 30 celsius. Temp. in room about the same, not easy to sleep.
Room seemed to be clean at arrival. Not decent cleaning during our stay.
Had breakfast 3 mornings, ok, but not as good as other hotels we have visited recently.
Conclusion. Hotel fairly nice, but a bit worn down. A hotel like this should have aircondition in the rooms. Aircon. available at other hotels in Tønsberg?

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ErikG231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi Erik

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We are currently planning a major renovation of the hotel and the issues you address will be improved when this takes place. The hottest summer for 100 years in Norway gave us some challenges, but we will be better equipped to deal with this the next time.

Welcome back to Klubben, have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The hotel has a fair price for the room. I had a nice view over the “harbour”. Don’t expect a luxury room all the necessary things are there but you can notice that the hotel is already “old”. The small thing what is irritating is that there is no electric charger next to the bed, so no possibility to charge your phone during the night. The room was clean which is the most important thing of course.
The breakfast was okay. The breakfast staff was not that friendly, but it was early in the morning.

The checking in and out went quick and her the staff was really friendly. All and all an positive experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear guest

Thank you so much for you feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to do this.
We try to improve our product everyday and therefore it is so important that our guests let us know what we can do better.
We are currently planning a large scale renovation of the hotel, including the rooms, this will take care of most of the problems you explain in your feedback. We have taken some new actions to improve the breakfast and hope you will find this welcoming the next time around.

Have a nice summer.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I stayed there for one night. I was given a very nice clean spacious business room with a perfect view. The breakfast was very good and the personnel polite. The hotel has a restaurant and is very central. The only thing is the parking. There is a parking place closed to the hotel, but it is quite expensive.

Room tip: Rooms high up on the seaside gives a great view
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bjartek2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

On arrival to the hotel, 4 night stay we were given a small room not at all like the picture that they used to make my booking, the bathroom was bark and smelly, on going down stairs the Receptionist was very good and gave me another key same small room smelly bathroom, asked if I could pay to upgrade our room and showed her the picture of the lovely rooms they abvertised thought I had got the message across but no another room but it was a Superior room with sitting area but not a great bathroom and no storage in the bedroom no drawers at all, I settled for that one at no extra cost the receptionist said as I did not get offered anything else. No toiletries either in the bathroom. Towels very small and very thin. Very basic for the price we paid. Did see the rooms I thought we had booked and they were lovely.
Bar only open at the weekends, free tea and coffee all day in the lounge as no kettle in your room. Breakfast was included a very grump older lady worked the 4 days we had breakfast ran out of breakfast tea on the 1st morning just none left, had to wait for the eggs and bacon as ran out. Out last morning breakfast was very quite, soft boiled eggs were cold, fried eggs the yolks had a thick skin on it
from sitting out, all the hot food was cold.
The reception staff were nice and the location was very central, just opposite the quay you would have a gorgeous view if you had a front facing room.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 34walkerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We truly appreciate that. This is the only way we can continue to improve.
We have read through your experiences at Klubben and will take action where needed.

Thank you again and we hope you will take the chance on us some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews