We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
53
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel antique furnishings adjacent restaurant the hotel manager fresh fruit royal palace small hotel large bathroom located close underfloor heating first floor comfortable stay main attractions minute walk train station gm suite
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Beautiful historical hotel, full of charm and character, gorgeous room (we were upgraded to a suite), excellent location behind the park of the kings palace, walking distance to main boulevard. The manager and staff so nice and friendly. Wonderful, excellent breakfast. We just loved everything about this elegant house.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This 19th century historic villa housed one of Norway´s greatest female authors and national icons, Camilla Collett, between 1846-1851. The house is now part of Norway's cultural heritage. Beautifully preserved and restored, it now serves as a small boutique hotel, with only a handful of rooms. Our junior suite had a high ceiling, very comfortable bed with first class pillows and blankets, a mix of antique and modern furniture, TV and tablet, free wifi, and big bathroom containing modern bath tub and shower. Bath robes and slippers too. Staying here was like living on a film set, everything was either brand new or restored to the smallest detail. The building is very quiet yet has a central location with walking distance to the city center, shopping district and the royal palace park right outside the door.
Mr. Mario, the hotel manager, greeted us personally and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast menu consisted of a variety of eggs and yoghurt as well as other dishes, and was served at the table.
Being natives of Oslo, and wishing to spend a different kind of weekend in our home city, we could´t have chosen a better place. Highly recommended for guests looking for a hotel experience that includes not only a beautiful part of our city, but also an important part of Norwegian history.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lutfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We were guests here last friday and I am compelled to write this review.

We were greated by a young man who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and at home. We got an upgrade to a junior suite. Fresh roses and fruit at the room.
All the fabrics at the room are heavy, soft and luxurious. This includes the bed linen, bathrobes, curtains, towels, just everything. Most fluffy pillows ever!

The room (and the rest of the hotel) is spotless clean and it smells wonderful. L'occitane shea butter bathroom amenities, great water pressure, and again - super clean everywhere.

Breakfast serves coffee and tea of the best quality (you can really tell) and they obviously spare no expense when it comes to the quality of pastries, bread, salmon and ham/cheese selection.

If you decide to stay at this little gem, you will probably be greeted at some point by the manager, Mario. This will with out a doubt add that little extra to your stay because he is the "real deal". You know the caliber of managers at the Mandarin Oriental and Shangri-La, Ritz-Carlton and Savoy? That's what I'm talking about. Smooth, caring, positive, and highly discrete and accomodating in such a way that it will set a standard for your future hotel experiences.

The larger five star hotels in Oslo should send somebody to Camillas hus to learn how it is done in a way that would please even the most experienced and discerning international traveller. Well done, we wil certainly be back.

Room tip: Don't worry, you will like it anyway.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank OsloVest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

..this is like staying at home - and much better! Fantastic service, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and everything in the middle of Oslo. And of top of that - the most service minded hotel manager speaking Portugese, French, English, Norwegian,....

Room tip: Recommend Junior Suite at Ground Floor.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Camillas Hus has become my home away from home when visiting Oslo. This hidden gem of a boutique hotel offer great personal service in a beautifully restored house with historic roots situated just behind the Royal Palace. If you are looking for a different hotel experience, then you should call Mario and book a stay. You will not regret.

Arne

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ACART2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews