We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good foods but......”
Review of Arakataka

Arakataka
Ranked #52 of 1,576 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grunerlokka - Sofienberg
Description: Informal gourmet restaurant with creative dishes made with Norwegian ingredients. Every day the chef composes a three-course and a five-course dinner.
Reviewed 15 November 2020

We had girls evening at Arakataka.
We were welcomed with big smile by man who seems to be restaurant manger.

We didn’t get any explanation regarding to menu just we found just a piece of paper with seasonable course many. So we ordered corse menu.
Bread were brought immediately after we ordered.
Bread was warm and very tasty.

We were quite satisfied with all corses. I evaluate chefs efforts, but some dishes were overdoing I think. Too complicated instead of maximizing taste of ingredients.

We were very disappointed since we were not able to see clearly what we ate due to insufficient lightning.
I think all chefs didn’t notice that since they were preparing foods under strong light!

We didn’t also like the attitude of our waiter. She was very pushy since only one of us ordered glass of wine. Which made us feel uncomfortable.
Also one waiter who seems to be apprentice didn’t impress us.
We understand she probably didn’t have long experience but she didn’t have any service mind at all unfortunately.

Otherwise we had good evning.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
1  Thank Koalaoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

Loved our visit, lots of interesting flavor combinations without being too much out there. Informal atmosphere perfect for an easy mid-week dinner with friends - we’d love to try the full 5-course deal with wine pairings, though. We’ll definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank TuuliHietikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2020 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant many times before and were really looking forward to it. It said on the menu they had snow crab/peppercrab, but to my disappointment this turned out not to be correct. We went for the tasting menu which had a couple of really nice elements and likewise uninteresting ones. Very good service though!! I can’t help feeling a bit disappointed, because I know what a great experience this CAN be.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank tr0ndc0rneliusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Great combination between the courses, complementary tastes! Waiter was always giving attention to drinks and more food. A full restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank StevenNutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Went here with local friends while visiting. Had the 4 course menu. service was good but frankly the dishes are just a little too high concept for us— just felt like they were trying too hard. Some of the combos were frankly rather odd. Don’t plan to return.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arakataka also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Arakataka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.