We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Nordic cuisine”
Review of Arakataka

Arakataka
Ranked #52 of 1,575 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grunerlokka - Sofienberg
Description: Informal gourmet restaurant with creative dishes made with Norwegian ingredients. Every day the chef composes a three-course and a five-course dinner.
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

This was a gem we stumbled upon on a cold winter's night in Oslo. Thanks to great reviews, we gave it a go and were not disappointed. We opted for the 4 and 5 course tasting menu which was better value than a la carte. The wine pairings were varied coming from France, Portugal and South Africa. The food had very delicate flavours with Nordic ingredients such as artic chard, row, cod, duck, bergamott dessert and even a great selection of Norwegian cheese. The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and the wine.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 170 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and excellent service.
Waiter was really helpful with recommendations and food was very good. Worth looking for - will be back.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank mw86204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This is a restaurant that has maintained a high status in Oslo for many years and is frequented often by the locals. Great food at a reasonable price has lured many customers to this hidden gem off the main streets of downtown Oslo.

Had a dinner here with some friends ahead of Christmas. Great atmosphere and the staff was friendly and attentive, but the food was a bit disappointing this time. Great fish to start us off, but the season inspired main pork dish was a huge let down.

Starting to feel that this place is slipping a bit, which would be a shame as it has been a steeple in the Oslo food scene for many years.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

I was here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. We had the set menu with wine (900NOK/person).
The food was very good. Refreshing take on Norwegian traditional food.
The presentation of food and wine that the waiters gave us was very rushed and they really seemed understaffed.
All in all recommended, but it's not perfect.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Steinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Arakataka is known as a restaurant with great value for money and a kitchen that serves food with an interesting twist. I have been here on several occasions, and always been happy with the food. The dishes are quite small, they're meant as 'tasting plates'. The service has always been really good, my only complaint is the speed of which food is delivered to the table if you don't specifically ask them to wait between each course.

A great restaurant located in central Oslo, and definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank Anette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arakataka also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Arakataka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.