We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Hotel Grand Central(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 193
USD 172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 139
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Saga Poshtel Oslo Central(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 205
USD 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 230
USD 119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
USD 171
USD 123
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 255
USD 232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveller rating
1,045
357
44
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
357
44
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight supperpaleo restaurantgreat hotelguest loungefloor loungebluetooth speakercomplimentary dinnersparkling watersqueezed orange juiceevening supperamazing breakfastnational galleryhot dishbreakfast buffettrain stationtop floornespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

good hotel with little touches of luxury. Breakfasts were a certain highlight--full and wide variety. Even offer an evening light dinner. Rooms were right off a Rosenkrantz gate, but with windows closed we experienced no noise--quiet and comfortable

Room Tip: good hotel with comforts that make it worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martywalsh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Synnove F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear martywalsh13,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience after your stay with us. I'm so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz. It is a true pleasure to hear that the room was nice. We also appreciate your feedback on our breakfast, we do our best to give all of our guests a great start of the day.

Greetings from all of us, we hope to see you again. Welcome back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

From the moment we checked in, we received top-notch service and comfort. The hotel was recently remodeled, and our room had comfortable beds, a large wall-mounted television, and a soaking bath tub and shower that was delightful after a day on our feet. The breakfasts were outstanding each morning, and an additional wonderful benefit was the complimentary light dinner Sunday through Thursday evenings. The location was great, right next to the harbor and the important sites in Bergen. My husband and I highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra H. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Synnove F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Debra H. C

Greetings and many thanks for your very nice review. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay. Wishing you a warm and relaxing summer. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The hotel is centrally located in the old part of the city. When we arrived by train from the airport, although I knew it was only about a km form the station, it was raining so we took a cab. 3.2km and 180NK later we arrived!!! When we left in decent weather it was no more than a 10 minute walk back to the station.
Room 707 was surprisingly large and extremely comfortable. The only downside was a lack of drawer and hanging space for clothing - most important for travellers who are on the road for any length of time. Surprisingly, given that the bathroom was also extremely large, the small shower and lack of storage space for toiletries was also a little disappointing.
Supper and breakfast were both included in the tariff. The supper only provided a limited selection but the option and facility was very much appreciated. Breakfast was outstanding, both in terms of range and quality. We also had one evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent.
The service provided by all staff with whom we had contact was also excellent.
Extremely happy with our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeeJayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Synnove F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear, PeeJayMelbourne

Thank you so much for sharing your experience after your stay with us. I'm so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz. It is a true pleasure to hear that the room was of good size. We will look into your comments regarding more space for clothing. We also appreciate your feedback on our breakfast, we do our best to give all of our guests a great start of the day. Your comments concerning the service of our staff were especially pleasing and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues.

Greetings from all of us, we hope to see you again. Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We thought we were going to write a very favorable review (which would have been the first one of all our stays in Norway) but alas.... they blew it at the checkout!
This hotel has many positives and so you can perhaps chalk up the negatives - since you are not likely to find much better in Norway...
Among the many positives - great location! close to the central station and all activities. great value! nice rooms - clean and spacious! Fabulous breakfast - definitely the highlight of the hotel. They also serve dinner, which is decent and appreciated if you have just arrived from traveling. We particularly liked the business rooms.

We were looking forward to reporting our first "5" stay in Norway - until check-out - first they have you sign before you see the bill. Then when we got the bill (after we paid) there was a charge that was not ours - and we told them - but they had to look through all the checks to find it - which took about 15 minutes - as is turned out they had just included a random check on our bill because they assumed we mis-wrote the room number - and the girl was looking accusingly at me the whole time (as if we had indeed mis-wrote the room number to get away with what was likely a $10 charge). I did emphasize that we had not even eaten at the hotel that evening so it could not have been ours. And they they accused the kids - to which I said - I sure hope you did not serve my kids 2 glasses of wine...At any rate when they finally found the check they had to figure our how to refund it - which took another 15 minutes and the intervention of several service managers - None of whom really looked as if they believed we were not trying to make off with their wine charge...
We were so disappointed that our stay had been ruined (and I departure delayed!) but such a really silly series of service mishaps.... this is really indicative of Norway - our experience all over was just one series of service mishaps after the other....

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Synnove F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear harlemfamily,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with is, we highly appreciate it.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, the room and the service, this really mean a lot to us.
We are so sorry to hear about the situation at check out. Our staff never meant for you to feel accused for mis-writing the room number. This is of course very unfortunate and we will look into the situation with our staff. We are so sorry for the inconvenience.
Wish you a great summer and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Had two nights here and were very pleased with the hotel. Helpful friendly staff, very pleasant rooms and fabulous breakfast. There is a light evening meal included in the price. The location is fine, except that there is a pub on an opposite corner which generates some noise at night - you could request one of the quieter rooms if you are a light sleeper. Tram to the central station passes the door.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bheathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Synnove F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Bheathen,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with is, we highly appreciate it.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, the room and the service, this really mean a lot to us. We are aware that there might be some noise from the street for the rooms facing this way, we just finished replacing all the windows here and it helped a lot.
Thank you again, it is a true pleasure to hear that you would stay with us again. Wish you a great summer and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews