We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,506)
Filter reviews
1,506 results
Traveller rating
688
608
151
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
608
151
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barclub roomclassic hotelbeautiful hotelcentral locationbreakfast buffetpublic areasroyal palaceairport busnational gallerylobby areaquiet roomstreet noiselocation is excellentwithin easy walking distancegreat breakfaststandard room
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,506 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel on my first ever trip to Oslo.

The hotel is incredibly well situated just around the corner from the National Gallery and a 2 minute walk from the main CBD.

The hotel itself is elegant and historic in feel. Big chandeliers, plush furniture, gold trim. The service is pleasant and efficient at recepetion but a tad disaorganised in the restaurant area. I had to make a booking three times for one night for our group.

Room is a decent size with good toiletries but unfortunately my room was very noisy on the Saturday night since it was directly across the road from a night club. Even wearing ear plugs I could hear the music all night.

We especially loved the Literary Cafe/Bar as you walk in. I had the best hot chocolate I've ever had and it is a buzzing place popular with locals. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nightclub.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank imaginelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AprilGil, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear imaginelle

Thank you for this wonderful review of Hotel Bristol and glad you enjoyed it. I am sorry to hear about the street noise that you experienced. We would love for you to try one of our "quiet" rooms facing the courtyard during your next visit.

Welcome back to Hotel Bristol.

Kind Regards
Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had a comfortable room with comfy bed. The hotel high level of service and you can have your car parked by the hotel staff. Bristol is a natural meeting point for not only visitors to Oslo city, but also for citizens that use the hotel for lunch, dinner and drinks, or just for a cofee. A place to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationManager, Reservation at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor.
Welcome back some other time!
Kind Regards,
Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel whilst attending a conference at the University of Oslo. I felt welcome from the moment I entered the lobby. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful, and I had a lovely traditional room with hard wood flooring and super comfortable beds. It was facing an inner courtyard/rooftop, and was quiet and peaceful. Towels are nice and thick, and the shampoo/conditioner/shower gel from L'occitane. Every day when I returned from a long day at the conference, it felt like coming "home" to my room. Nice and tidy, and a complimentary bottle of water every day. The breakfast is lovely - warm and cold food, and several bottles of different smoothies and juices were on display. The lounge has a piano player form lunch time and onwards. The lounge area is popular and can get quite crowded in the evening, so reserving a table is a good way of ensuring a seat. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Tonje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AprilGil, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Tonje B,
Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay was wonderful!
Welcome back some other time for more!
Kind Regards,
Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Although a period hotel with beautiful decor and an atmospheric lounge / bar / restaurant, it is very modern in all the things that matter! The rooms are spotless, the bathrooms finished with the most modern and convenient sanitary ware (including heated shower floor!) and the service at the lobby excellent. At the check-in desk, a basket of fresh season's fruit awaits you and a smiling welcome by the duty attendant. Wonderful sleep, an awesome breakfast buffet with all the goodies for all tastes all over the world and very helpful staff to inform you about the city's best sites and how to view them! Altogether memorable!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MARILIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AprilGil, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear MARILIA P
Thank you for leaving your wonderful feedback.
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you welcome to us in the future.
Have a nice day.
Kind Regards
Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We stayed two nights in adjacent rooms with an interconnecting door, as we were staying with our 9 year old daughter. The rooms were wonderfully appointed with large comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, plenty of room to store luggage and hang clothes, minibar, modern bathrooms and air conditioning. In the club room, the bathroom had underfloor heating, a full-length bath and a separate shower with bathrobes and slippers provided. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very well presented.

We would have rated this hotel excellent, were it not for the fact that our rooms were located on the side of the hotel facing the main road. It was not the traffic noise that was a problem but rather the nightclub opposite that played very loud music until the early hours of the morning on both nights. The volume was such that it sent beat vibrations through the walls of the hotel. The noise levels kept us awake even with the windows shut. This was a shame, as the beds were some of the most comfortable we have slept on. We mentioned this to the hotel reception staff, on leaving. They were aware of the problem in that area of the hotel and suggested that, if we were to return, we should request inside facing rooms.

The breakfast buffet was very busy on the morning that we were there, perhaps because the hotel extends the serving hours to 11am at weekends, although we were not particularly late in attending breakfast. The buffet was wide ranging with cereals, meats, fish, cooked breakfast and pastries but was quite congested. The food was well cooked and tasty. The staff were polite and helpful but both the reception and serving staff seemed overwhelmed by the number of guests.

The hotel is styled in a colonial fashion. The large lobby area has a lovely atmosphere with comfortable armchairs, coffee tables, a cafe and live piano playing. The hotel's central location makes access to tourist attractions easy on foot. Oslo Central station is 10 minutes away. We recommend the Oslo Visitor's Pass, which includes access to a plethora of amenities, including public transport and museums.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in central Oslo but just ensure that, if you book, you request a room facing inwards.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat-Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idunn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Mat-Julia,
Thank you for your lengthy and constructive feedback on tripadvisor!
We are happy to learn that you were so happy with your stay.
We are, however, sorry for the noise you experience from our neighboring night club. As you know, we are situated in downtown Oslo, and not in a peaceful countryside spot. Still this kind of noise will not be tolerated by the hotel, and we will make sure the nightclub in question changes its routine re. the music they are playing/the level of noise.
In view of this, we are hoping to wish you and your daughter a warm welcome back some other time!
Yours, Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews