We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
357
155
59
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
155
59
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargrand experiencethe room service menuindoor poolfabulous locationparliament buildingupgraded roomonly stayed one nightfabulous breakfastcentral locationhuge selectionair conditioningthe heart of the cityroom was largeroyal castlepublic areasyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My experience of this fabulous hotel in the heart of Oslo concerns the lobby area and the bar on the 8th floor which overlooks the city's beautiful square with the National Theater. What can I say about the lobby and the adjacent luxurious ground floor bar with its "Murano" chandelier and orchid flowers? Awesome! Tastefully decorated combining old and new, classic and modern art exhibits! The bar on the 8th floor is good for all ages offering a superb heated veranda with views across the square, good music and friendly, casual atmposphere.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MARILIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear, Marila.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Welcome back!

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Location is ok. Bathroom in the room is not worth 5 star hotel, gym is ok, small but well equipped, hotel bar excellent, breakfast really good, room nothing special.
Many amenities missing regarding that you’re staying in a 5 star hotel

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Masha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear, Masha.

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is essential for our improvement and we will take your comments to further improvement.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Central location. Rooms are comfortable. Feels a bit like old Waldorf Astoria in new your city - a tad outdated rooms. Great suites. Service is impeccable. Grand cafe, 8 bar and main restaurants are lovely. Good value for money. Gets my recommendation.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear, Espergaerde.

Thank you for reviewing us!

Your feedback is essential for our improvement.

It is fantastic for us to see that you have enjoyed your stay at The Grand and we welcome you back for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful 1900 hotel in central Oslo. Beautiful reception and dining rooms. However room even though superior, was disappointing. Windows dirty , unexpected for this category hotel, Bathroom very small, uncomfortable bath shower not up to modern standard, even though rooms have been renovated, style in bedroom very clinical, not keeping up promise from reception area. Minibar minimal for this category hotel, glasses lacked water glasses for example. Shame needs better housekeeping and some extra attention on design and comfort rooms

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank jmk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear, jmk61.

Thank you for reviewing us!

We will adress these issues directly.

Your feedback is essential for our improvement.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The Grand Hotel Oslo has a great spirit, rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable, The breakfast is served in the extremely nice restaurant and it is one of the best I have ever had. Definitely recommended, I will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear, Tomas C.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I will forward your kind words to our staff.

Welcome back :)

Kind regards,

Ole K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews