We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best Place to stay in Tromso” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Place to stay in Tromso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at Clarion Collection With in Tromso only one night but it was the best decision we made. It may initially seem more expensive than other places, however included in the price of your room are the waffles at 3pm, an evening meal between 6.00 and 9.00pm and a breakfast. Once you add up what these would all cost outside the hotel it makes the room rate almost cheap!!! Also the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and very informative on local places to go. Although the check in time is 3pm the hotel is very happy to store your baggage in a locked storage area much earlier in the day - giving you time to tour the town and return to have your waffles!!! (We would suggest you don't get involved in the 3pm scramble and arrive 3.30pm!). The location is brilliant. We were lucky enough to get a harbour view but apart from that the hotel is just a short walk away from the first stop for the airport bus. Also it is near The Polar Museum. All in all a brilliant place and I would recommend it to anyone stopping over in Tromso.

Room Tip: It is probably worth paying a little extra for a harbour view. Although as we had one I don't k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrManagerMan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Ann
Thank you so much for your nice words. Please let me know if you plan to come back to Tromsø.
I also want to thank you for the tip about the waffels. A lot of people around 3pm, but some minutes later it is much easier to make your own waffel.

Kind regards,
Øyvind Alapnes,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    443
    84
    17
    9
See reviews for
184
749
97
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned after a 5 night stay in this wonderful Hotel ! We chose this Hotel as we wanted a quiet hotel away from the main roads and bars and what a great choice it was !
The Hotel is right on the waterfront with views over all of Tromso. We loved sitting in the 2 leather tub chairs in the room watching all the harbour activity and seeing the snow fall.
As recommended by other reviewers we booked a room facing the harbour and requested either the 4 or 5 th floor ..... it is 'well worth' the little extra. We were very kindly upgraded into room 411 which is a larger superior room with a sitting area and large desk and chairs. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the bathroom is spacious with an endless hot water power shower. The decor is tasteful and the room and bathroom was spotless and serviced very well each day.
The staff are so helpful and friendly and from my first contact with Per during the booking enquiry stage we knew this Hotel was going to be wonderful ! After reading all the reviews I rang and spoke with Per who was fantastic in recommending a room in the hotel to suit our requests and to be upgraded on arrival went far beyond our expectations ...thanks Per and Hilda for all you great efforts! Feel very comfortable in ringing the hotel before your arrival to fine tune a room allocation to suit your needs as nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff at this hotel !
As mentioned in other reviews the included evening buffet meal offers a different main course each evening with a good selection of cold fish, meats and delicious freshly made salads. There was a traditional Norwegian soup most nights and a desert, the bread basket both at breakfast and dinner had 5 or 6 different freshly baked breads and rolls. The breakfast buffet had a huge fresh fruit platter, 5 different cereals, nuts, seed 2 or 3 different egg/bacon dishes, 3 selections of yogurt, 2 different yogurt drinks and endless freshly brewed coffee......what more could one want ! The fantastic breakfast staff constantly topped up the buffet so you did not have to wait for anything.
The dinner starts at 6pm and as some of the tour pick up times are 6.15 -6.30pm it can be a very quick dinner before the 5 minute walk to the pick up location. One afternoon we asked if it was possible for bowl of soup to be ready by around 5.45pm and when we came down at 5.45 the whole buffet had been laid out for us so we could have a full dinner before our tour.....that is the sort of fantastic service you will receive through-out your entire stay !
The waffles are a real treat ....leave room for dinner !!!
For the Northern Lights we went out on 4 nights with 3 different companies and like many people had done much research and reading about the different companies. Coming for the lights you must have clear skies to see anything and if you are fortunate enough for that then you will be in for a magical time you will never forget !
We booked 4 months ahead with Guide Gunnar and he is "the best " ! He took us to a secluded valley surrounded by snow capped mountains in the middle of the forest with elk wandering around. The sky was so clear and full of stars and then the lights appeared and started dancing across the whole sky .....what a spectacular sight for several hours ! Gunnar will take you out for 8 hours or more looking for clear skies and then set up camp with a log fire, hot drinks and Norwegian strudel while you set up your camera and talk with the others waiting for the lights.
On two nights we went out with Ivar - Northern Lights Bus- and were fortunate to see the lights once with him and on the other night it was far too cloudy nearer to Tromso so we enjoyed the chase and company but not the lights. Ivar's tour generally is only up to 4.5 hours so if you need to go further out to find the clear skies he does not stay that long before heading back to Tromso....it can be a bit frustrating knowing other are out there waiting for the lights to appear when you have to head back to Tromso ! Ivar is a great fun guy and would recommend his tour if you need to be back by midnight to wake up early for a day tour the next day....if the lights appear earlier you will be back to get some sleep !
One night we went out with the company - Full on Northern Lights Chase/ Arctic Guide service- and they use a large coach and will be out for up to 7 hours so good going if they need to drive to the Finnish border for clear skies. They are a newer tour company and offer a great tour with professional photographers on the bus who will help you set up your camera and are very informative about Tromso and the Northern Lights. (they also have a toilet on the bus which is great for the 2.5 drive to the Finish border !!!!)
For our day trips we went to Lyngsfjord Adventure on 2 days once for the Reindeer sledding and again for the Dog sledding ....really great fun !!! The 1.5 hour drive to their camp is via beautiful countryside along the fjords. With the dog sledding you go out in pairs with one standing up driving the dogs and one sitting on the sledge, you can swap over half way. You are out for just on 2 hours and it is so much fun and the scenery is spectacular, it is easy once you get the hang of it and then will not want to stop !!!! With the reindeer sledding you are with a Sami herdsman who is talks about his amazing native culture before you head on the reindeer sledges...very easy going for all ! After the sledding you all met up in the lavvo for a traditional Norwegian stew ...fish and vegetables.... and Norwegian strudel. Would Highly recommend this company !!!
For a trip to Tromso ....top tips would be......save up a little more and do as many Northern Lights trips as possible, heard many people so disappointed not to see them as they only budgeted for 1 or 2 tours! Do several day trips , keeping in mind you may arrive back to the hotel between 2-3 am after a Northern Lights tour and need to be at pick up for a day trip at 8.30am. It was tiring with back to back tours but great fun at the same time. It was a trip we will never forget and will defiantly be going back and staying at Clarion Collection With and doing it all again ...just need to save up now !!!
Have fun and happy chasing !

Room Tip: Room facing the water on 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The staff was very friendly - upgraded us to a room with a nice view of the harbor without us even asking. Small room, but comfortable and clean. The included meals offered plenty of choices - my only suggestion would be to add another waffle maker to the waffle buffet - I didn't actually get to try one since I went down a little after 3pm and there was already a huge line of people waiting to make waffles and I didn't have time to wait. Otherwise, a nice stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaitlinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have just returned from Tromso, what a brilliant holiday! The hotel was first class, worthy of four stars. The room I had was quite small but, so clean, the bed one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in! everything was to hand, apparently the double rooms had very little hanging space, but in my room (single) I had a nice size single wardrobe with draws inside. Shower room very modern (better than my own!) nice comfy chair, and great views, more than adequate. Food great, good choice of breakfasts, tea/coffee on tap, great waffles! Evening meal similar to breakfast but just as good. Staff great, very helpful, always smiling, and all English speaking! The harbor and views were wonderful. Saw the Northern Lights magical. Definitely recommend this hotel, I shall be going back hopefully next year

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I cannot praise this hotel and is staff highly enough.
After arriving disgruntled and tired after a cancelled morning flight we were met by a reassuring Stein Are who informed us that food was still available for us at 9:45pm and then came to find us to let us know that the Northern Lights were visible right outside the front door.
Praise to for Oyvind Alapnes the manager whose help and advise about places to visit in and around Tromso and how best to get there was invaluable.
Personal care and attention, good facilities, rooms, food and location mark this out as a hotel to be definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor overlooking the fiord give you a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.0 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.5 km away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price range (per night): $171 - $322
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing