We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stylish hotel with central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ring
Ranked #27 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Ring for 2 nights in mid January.

My first impressions were that the hotel is very well located and look impressive from the front. It is very stylish and modern without feeling cold and as you can expect from a hotel of this quality the service and cleanliness was impeccable. The staff greeted us with smiles and were happy to take care of everything for us, including booking taxis, suggesting restaurants and giving directions as we needed.

The room we stayed in was on the top floor with a great view out over the city towards karlskirche church in particular. The room was very spacious, the bed was extremely comfy. For such a central location it was also very quiet allowing you to relax in the evening. The hotel also has a great gym, spa, sauna and steam room, although we did not make use of all of these facilities.

The hotel also has a nice bar, but as with most of Vienna it is a smoking environment and this is a little off putting to non smokers like myself and certain travelling from the UK I have grown accustomed to enjoying a night out without the smoke. That said, again the bar staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our time there.

With so much to do on your trip to Vienna I am sure I will return in the future and The Ring would provide an ideal base for another stay. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vienna.

Room Tip: Ensure you remember to ask for a non-smoking room if you wish to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akajimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'akajimi', thank you so much for this detailed review, much appreciated! Looking forward welcoming you again in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    204
    47
    13
    13
See reviews for
102
468
70
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hongkong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

the rooms are really nice and hugh with a large bathroom and an extra toilet
the bar is also good to have a drink
I also ate in the restaurant at lunch time, good menu for a reasonable price

The only worse thing is the price of the restaurant ! They charge 31 Euro.
That's the most expensive breakfast I ever had, that's a big minus

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starbabe2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'starbabe2108', great review, thank you! Good to read that you liked our hotel, as to the price of the breakfast, there are many luxury hotels in European cities that do charge far more.....warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here last week 13th Jan 2012 for two nights. Lovely hotel, very stylish and clean. First impressions were the staff, nice to see a smiley, happy face, very friendly and chatty, we booked in but we forgot to ask for a non smoking room. We were shown to our room by a lady I believe was Winney Ly, may have spelt this wrong, as soon as we walked in we realised our mistake and explained that we wanted a no smoking room, to which we were taken to reception, no fuss and they were very happy to change our room. Wow, were we lucky, we had one of the roof top suites No 701, amazing, could not find fault. The beds were so comfy, great view out over the city and so quiet, with such a central location. Checked out the sauna and steam room which were very modern and clean, but we had so much to see we didn't get chance to try out. The staff were very helpful. booking tables for us and staff at the bar were friendly too.
I hope to return to Vienna again, so much we didn't get to see, I would hope that my stay would be at The Ring. Could honestly not find fault.

Room Tip: Make sure you state whether you want a smoking or non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'sara h', such a great review!!! I have nothing to add, just hoping that you will return to Vienna and of course stay@The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is wonderfully located - steps from all the major attractions. The rooms are beautiful and spacious - I had the X-ordinary which may have accounted for the larger size. And of course the Molton Brown toiletries were awesome.

I did not have any interaction with the staff - there is no concierge service and I did not find the staff to be overly welcoming. Reading back through the past reviews, it appears that other reviewers received a different experience - room upgrades and extras in the room - I definitely did not experience this. My room was on the first floor and although the windows opened to the street the noise from the tram was intolerable.

Lastly, there is a thermostat in the room but it does not adjust - it is fixed on a temperature and it cannot be changed. Seems insignificant but the room was very warm at night and made for difficult sleeping conditions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'MarianneF', thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Happy to read that you liked the location, the rooms etc. As to our staff, they are acting pretty 'casual' so I am just wondering what exactly you are aiming at? Other reviews do seem to be OK.......anyhow, I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.....where you will stay in a room where the thermostat has been adjusted. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Very professional, friendly, no fuss service. Room very comfortable with a roof window, super cosy with lots of space. I don't particularly mind the separate toilet without a sink, it's almost the norm around this part of the world. Bathroom could have been a little more welcoming,instead of the industrial minimalist style, mind you, it had a lot of storage space and easy to keep clean I guess.
Adjacent restaurant has wonderful food, quite fussy though. Bar also serves more casual meals. Lovely old elevator.

Only complaint is the noisy air con that seemed to be impossible to turn off, even after asking advise from the front desk. Why do hotels even bother with systems that are complicated, when all you need is a simple on/off button?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerchat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan69, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear 'flowerchat 1', such a great review! Happy to read that you loved this place, we do as well! As to the 'noisy air con', we cannot turn this off by just pushing the 'off button' as this is a general air con sytem, which would mean that we would have no air con at the entire hotel.....but we are working on it.....best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#22 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#26 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
#16 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring

Property: The Ring
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): $260 - $657
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing