We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Abbazia

Abbazia
Ranked #1,039 of 4,808 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: USD 9 - USD 22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Margareten
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The food was wonderful. Very fresh seafood and it is cooked so beautiful.
All the staff are professional but casual and kind.
We visited and enjoyed with our child and infant without any stress.
Definitely we will come again for the next time of Vienna.
Strongly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KZYKRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We came to the restaurant by recommendation from locals who enjoy the home atmosphere of the restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised with the high quality and taste of fresh fish from the Adriatic. Every dish is home made and tasty. It is a small family restaurant with very pleasant atmosphere. Besides the exquisite fish dishes the home made deserts are also excellent and should definitely not be missed.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank dejano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

My Girlfriend & I took a trip to Vienna last year booked into our nice little hotel and asked for a recommendation for somewhere nice to eat on our first night. The hotel made our reservation and we arrived at 7 by taxi.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we loved this place. So friendly I'm sure the waiter (although he may have been the manager) might have got in trouble for talking to us so much. We left there knowing what to see and not to see in our short time in Vienna. Thankfully his grasp of german and english meant he had to run through the menu with us and even brought us samples from the kitchen to taste.

Its a cosy relaxed family run restaurant on a residential street just off of Wiedner Hauptstrasse, so not exactly bang in the middle of all the tourist attractions but made it all the more authentic. Turns out the family that run the restaurant moved there from Croatia which might explain the great sense of humour.

Crisp table linen and fresh plants scattered throughout the restaurant and grilled sardines as a starter... unbeatable.

The next time we trip back to Vienna won't be to see the city it will be to go back here. Cant say anything bad about it at all.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank M_Supple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

If you are searching a non pretentious place with nice atmosphere and best Croatian home made sea food which is fairly priced you should definitively visit this restaurant.

Being Croatian that spent half of the life on the Adria and adores home made authentic sea food i know what i am talking about.

This is a small family run restaurant, the hosts being adoring Croatian people who will always have a nice word for everyone.

But let me come to the food. One is always served with home made fresh bread made with olive oil that tastes wonderful. Since i live in Vienna, i choose to come on Wednesdays when there is an all you can eat fish buffet for 14 eur. The reason i do it is simple.. I can taste all that great calamari, fish, brodetto ( a delicious fish soup), octopus salad, potatoes, sea shells, shrimps.. so i basically don't have to drool over the menu thinking what do i have to leave out. The food is being prepared by the wife of the owner with lots of love and care.

You should definitively ask for some wine. Žlahtina is always a nice choice to go with the fish. Light, tasty, semi dry wine that does have a hint of a fruit note.

The cakes are also great, usually they have Croatian specialties like kremsnite, Medimurska gibanica, however there are always fresh pancakes available.

I cant say much about the meat, since i never tried it ( why should i when i am sitting in the authentic Croatian fish restaurant ;)) ), but i have heard from my friends that its also delicious, especially beef tartare.

Clearly there are other Croatian fish restaurants in Vienna, some of which i also tried, but non of those really convinced me, specially when i think of the high prices that i paid there. For this type of family run restaurant, its definitively the best Croatian fish restaurant that you can find in Vienna, since you will get great quality for your money.

2  Thank KathrynM395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

This is a family-run restaurant located on a residential street just off of Wiedner Hauptstrasse. The restaurant is not fancy, but has an outdoor area along the sidewalk and a cozy indoor seating area. The dishes that we had were delicious. we tried the octopus salad and the grilled sardines as starters and the grilled dorade and calamars as the main dish. All were well cooked, tasty and fresh. It was nice for us to be out of the main tourist area to try something different.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Etmo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbazia also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing