We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay, 5 mins to metro and close to centre.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #9 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, 5 mins to metro and close to centre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and had no regrets. The hotel is well located and the rooms are very nice. Staff are friendly and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it was a little expensive, if substantial. We found a very nice cafe 5 minutes down the road which does a good breakfast for €6. A good tip for sacher torte is cafe central, nice atmosphere and good cake. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-L-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    209
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
189
683
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Rathous or Tax House in English .

This hotel is warm and friendly, efficient and professional , flexible and delightfully novel.

Truly free and fully functional wifi! Hallelujah !

Close to the museum quarter, this is a superb themed hotel , located on a quiet street off the main circular road that takes you to everything in Vienna. The location is quiet with superb restaurants in the area. It has parking too.

Each room is wonderfully themed around a Viennese vineyard. Our room was The Hillinger, fabulous with a superb walk-in shower. The room facilities were complete and funky storage in the bed base to hide the cases away was a great bonus. The quality furniture and finishings set this apart from many hotels.

The minibar well stocked and not over priced. With fresh decanted water in the room every day.


The breakfast was the most varied we have ever had for this type of hotel , with a range of speciality dishes , boutique cheeses and cold meats , Viennese cakes and fresh cooked eggs etc. The verity and quality was stunning. Served in the restaurant area of the wine bar, overlooking a court yard this is a cosy relaxing place to eat where every need was efficiently catered for.

The hospitality of the staff and quality of service uphold the high Viennese standards that Vienna must surely be famous for. Understated, demure excellence!

Jet-lagged from a long trip , the staff opened the kitchen twice for us during our busy stay to accommodate our needs. To Quote "Nothing is too much trouble"

Every Viennese wine and meal we had was superb. The Viennese Vodka is excellent too. Viennese wines are obviously hidden gems. Rarely have we been so constantly enamored with every wine we indulged in, both in and out of the hotel.

There are a few stairs to the lift that may be a problem for guests with disabilities but the staff are so friendly and efficient nothing is a problem here and all you have to do is ask or pre-warn them for assistance.

Thank you to the staff and management of Rathous for a wonderful introduction to Vienna . We will return. Vienna is a wonderful city and this hotel would make it and it's people very proud.

I believe there is another hotel with the same name , so make sure you tell the taxi Lange Gasse 13 (long street).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

It is a fabulous hotel near the city center. Each room is individually designed and very welcoming. The service is seemless and you feel like you've come home. Not only the wine is superb - the best breakfast is just unbelievable. If you go to Vienna you need to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexhahn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Rathaus for 5 nights, 3 for leisure and 2 for professional reasons. There is nothing more to say than GREAT. I can highly recommend this hotel: breakfast is superb, staff very helpful and friendly and the wines were tasty.

We had a double room with lots of space and a nice ambiance. All very clean.

Locationwise ok too, with the underground about 5 minutes by foot.

Highly recommended!

HINT: If you need a taxi please make sure that you check the driver. The one I got to get to the airport a. didn't let me pay with credit card and b. was a crazy guy trying to race with others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastapieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

During a 2-week trip through Germany and Austria, we spent 3 nights at this hotel over New Year's - Dec 30-Jan 2. We had three rooms, each of which was beautiful and extremly comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had anywhere in Germany or Austria. The staff was amazing and helpful. One word of warning...if you drive, do not leave your car parked on the street in front of the hotel. While we were taking our luggage up to the room, we got a parking ticket. Fortunately, the hotel was able to explain and the ticket was removed. The location of the Hotel is very convenient to most attractions with a bit of walking. We also used taxis a couple of times. New Year's eve around St. Stephen's was magical, as was all of the historic district.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): $164 - $287
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing