We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Pension”
Review of Pension Pharmador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Pharmador
Ranked #37 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our stay at Pharmador was great. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, we appreciate them letting us store our bags twice. The rooms are very spacious and modern, no air conditioning though. Breakfast was delicious, they had many choices of fruits, meats, cheeses, bread and cereal. I wish there was a metro station closer but the hotel's location was still pretty good. Free wifi was a plus also! I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Well priced accommodation not too far from main Viennese attractions. Nearby transport available. Parking on site, breakfast and wi-fi included. Halls to rooms need an airing of carpet otherwise room ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Not enough space to tell it all.
One word-fantastic.
Pension Pharmador will work their hardest to make you feel at home. A huge thank you to Peter (young and hip, don't be fooled by the voice) and Dominic for making us feel so at home and making us feel so welcome.
Very helpful -to the point of offering the use of their own personal belongings.
Extremely efficient and will go out of their way to assist and advice.
Not at all interfering and 'in your face' just perfect.
Free upgrade to the 2 room apartment. Once you get over the flight of stairs, the apartment was bigger than our own house and a thousand times nicer.
Thank you a million times, we are very grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is in a walking distance to both trams (5 minutes) and metro (less than 10 minutes). Also walking distance to shopping area when walking toward Zieglergasse‎ metro station. We drove to Vienna so we needed a parking lot and this hotel provided free of charge. They served complimentary breakfast too! The room is very clean and the hotel staffs are very helpful. We had a pleasant stay and would come back here :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiny17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I booked an apartment here for one night because of its location near the train station and because the information on the internet advised that there was a washing machine in the apartment. After 10 days on the road, I was planning to get washing done on the arrival night so we had something clean to wear in the morning.
Arrived after some flight delays at 10.25pm, 5 minutes before the advertised closing time of 10.30pm for reception. All was closed and dark, and it was raining. Pressed the bell a number of times wondering what to do, and eventually were let in. First there was no lift, and we had to lug our bags up stairs to the upper floor. Then the key given to us did not turn in the lock, and someone opened the door from inside; we had been given the wrong room key. Then I had to go all the way downstairs, out into the rain, and press the bell again for the man to give me the right key.
Then I found there was no washing machine as advertised: the man did say I could use the one near reception in the morning, which was fine but it meant no clean clothes for another day. I put a load in, and then we went out sight seeing. When we got back in the afternoon, that load had been washed and dried together with a second load- this made me feel a bit better about the Pension.
Good things- the apartment was spotless and (apart from the washing machine) well equipped. Area was quiet but conveniently close to the train station. Just be aware- the local supermarkets all seem to close at 830pm so going out to buy some food and a bottle of wine after that was not possible.
A further minor drama was that we mislaid some pajama pants, and a shoe whilst there. After we discovered this some days later, we emailed, and we are grateful that the Pension has posted the shoe and the shoe has now arrived at home. The pjs were never found!

Room Tip: If you have any amount of luggage, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cewpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#39 of 359 in Vienna
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Döbling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#51 of 359 in Vienna
709 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Pharmador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Pharmador

Address: Schottenfeldgasse 39, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: AU$102 - AU$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Pharmador 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pension is centrally located but shielded from any traffic noise. You will enjoy calmness in Austria's capital. Many sights are within walking distance and the stations of the public transporting system nearby allow rapid shifting within the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Pharmador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Pharmador Hotel Vienna
Pharmador Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing