We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Pharmador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Pharmador
Ranked #34 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This pension was wonderful! We were doing a road trip & this pension has parking on-site for no additional charge (just need to reserve in advance!) They also offered free in-room wifi, and of course the typical large breakfast. The room we had was fine - the only down side was that the water heater only had enough hot water for about 1 1/2 shower. The location was fine for us - we walked (although they were longer walks) to all the attractions. They also have a nice patio with tables and chairs outside in the courtyard. We would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    126
    30
    2
    4
See reviews for
95
123
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wherever I happen to be...
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This pension is quiet, friendly and totally non-smoking.

Our room was HUGE for Europe (and for the price we paid). The beds were very comfortable. We had a good desk and free Wi-Fi.

It was a bit of a maze finding our room. The room numbers are not in any sort of logical order, which we found very funny. Along with someone else who wrote a review, we were a little concerned how we would get out if there was a fire. But when we looked out the window, we saw that the flat roof of the breakfast room was right outside. We could easily get onto that roof and use our mattresses and blankets to get safely to the ground below, so I don't think it's a big deal.

The bathroom was super-clean. The tub/shower combo unfortunately didn't manage to be either a tub or a shower, since you had to be under 4 feet tall to use the shower, and the tub didn't have a drain plug. (Not one that I could find, anyway.) Also, I felt that the tub was quite slippery. Older people might find it dangerous and I think the owners should consider providing shower mats so that people don't slip and fall in the tub.

The breakfast was very nice, with a wide variety of quality items.

The location is pretty good. They told me it was best to walk from the Westbahnhof, but I disagree. It's best to take the U6 one stop from the Westbahnhof to Burggasse-Stadthalle. Then you want to come out the south entrance (in the direction of the Westbahnhof). You will be in a big square with benches and portable food vendors. Walk across the square to the far traffic signal, and turn left on Westbahnstrasse. Take the third right onto Schottenfeldgasse and the sign for the pension is easy to spot, on the right. (There is a good, non-smoking Italian restaurant on that corner.) When you get to the sign, turn right and walk through the breezeway, into the courtyard. The courtyard location makes this pension very quiet and we slept well both nights.

This was a very good find and I plan to stay there every time I go to Vienna. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbit1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bratislava
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Our group of friends travels often to Vienna for cultural events, staying the night each time. Up until now, we have stayed in a different place each time, and always found our choice lacking in some essential way. This time we stayed at the Pharmador, and we will stop looking for anything else.

Our room, a triple on the fourth floor (there is a small elevator), was quiet and very clean and fresh, with very comfortable beds and a deep tub with plenty of hot water for soaking in after an active day. The room isn't modern, but I don't care about that if it's clean, and it was spotless. I hear that they have modern, refurbished rooms on the first floor for anyone who does care. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and spoke English well.

The free breakfast buffet in the morning was fresh and delicious, fully stocked with everything you could ask for.

The Pharmador is 4 long blocks in one direction from Mariahilferstrasse - a well-known shopping street - and 4 in the other direction from Burgstrasse-Stadthalle, which hosts many concerts and cultural events. There are U-Bahn stations in both those locations to take you to the center in just a few minutes.

We all felt we got the best value for price and will happily stay there again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dobes918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neumarkt am Wallersee, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was a little troubled when I saw it a first - set back from the street, and the outside looking a little dingy. But, once I got inside (which is where it counts), I was pleasantly surprised. Because it is set back, it means you hear none of the traffic, and rooms are small (I was in a single room), neat and clean, and properly serviced. Very good free Internet in the rooms, and very reasonably priced. It's also great that it's quite close to the U-Bahn, and only one stop away from Wien Westbahnhof. I'm definitely returning the next time I stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKTC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Pharmador in June and we were very happy with our choice. The hotel is in a side street with a short walk from the Metro and a busy main street that takes you into the centre of Vienna, a perfect location at this price. The Phamador is set back from the street in a courtyard so therefore there is little by the way of noise. We were on the first floor which had just been extensively and tastefully refurbished. The rooms are large and bright and the bathroom spotless and modern. Breakfasts were way above average for this type of hotel, everything being of good quality and freshly prepared. The Phamador appears to be a family run hotel and nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure the comfort of their guests. Vienna hotels tend to be expensive or grotty with little in-between but the Phamador was very reasonably price and exceptionally good. When we return to Vienna we will look no further than the Phamador.
The hotel also has free parking for guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have been refurbished (Jun 2011) and are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinsonKktc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#65 of 362 in Vienna
389 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#57 of 362 in Vienna
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#95 of 362 in Vienna
378 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
727 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Pharmador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Pharmador

Property: Pension Pharmador
Address: Schottenfeldgasse 39, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): $117 - $201
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Pharmador 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pension is centrally located but shielded from any traffic noise. You will enjoy calmness in Austria's capital. Many sights are within walking distance and the stations of the public transporting system nearby allow rapid shifting within the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Pharmador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Pharmador Hotel Vienna
Pharmador Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing