We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful and helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Ruthensteiner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Ranked #1 of 200 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The rooms were clean and nice, the bathrooms were clean and no wait. Location was great, and the staff was VERY helpful. They sent me emails telling me the cheapest and best way to get there from the airport, and loaned me travel books during my daily adventures. Traveling alone, as a female, I felt very safe going to and from the hostel and walking around. Internet is paid by coins, not a bad deal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    220
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
149
298
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Initially my boyfriend and I had booked two nights here in a private room at the hostel. Upon arriving we were told that due to someone else cancelling we had the option to upgrade for no extra cost to the self-contained apartment. We happily accepted this offer.
The apartment was incredibly spacious. It had a well-stocked kitchen, dining table, couches and a comfortable bed.
This hostel/accommodation may seem out of the way, but the location really isn't a problem. It is right near Vienna's main train station (Westbanhof) and there is plenty to do locally. It seems to be a student/backpackers area so there are heaps of lively pubs and cheap shops right around the corner.
In terms of getting into the city center, the Viennese public transport system is so efficient and easy to use it's really not a problem, even if you don't speak a word of German like us. To get to the city center and main attractions from the hostel it is a minute's walk to Westbanhof station and then a five minute train ride (3-5 stops, depending on where you are going).
I highly recommend Hostel Ruthensteiner and hope to return there soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Hosten Ruthensteiner is a very very economical way to experience Vienna. Traveling with a younger family member, I met teachers and professors staying there and got tips from them about what to see in the city. We had a room for four, and then came back to stay in a double room.

This hostel also has reasonable food offerings, the coffee is excellent, and there's a pasty shop just about 3-4 blocks away on the main street as well as a small market to stock up on fruit, pastries, etc for your sightseeing and picnics.

The location near a major train station greatly enhanced our visit to Prague and side trips around Vienna.

Room Tip: the rooms for four and the double rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claymaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The place is very beautiful and reception. There is a nice garden, a bar and few tables where it is easy to meet people. On the wall different instruments of music and a piano. You get a good breakfast for 2.5euros which is cheap for Vienna and you can drink a fresh beer during the day. The reception is nice and flexible. It is 200 meters from the train station and 2 metro stops from the center.

For a couple to have their own bedroom it is a little expensive since we have to pay 50euros together for 1 night.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gregoire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Ruthensteiner Hostel:
mindful, open, friendly,young and professional staff. Central! - as mentioned by the Ruthensteiners. Comfortable coummunity rooms with little bar. International meeting place. Furnished tastefully with eye for details.really good place to stay, for several days as well. Fair prize. Klaus aus Bremen.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#28 of 200 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruthensteiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruthensteiner

Property: Hostel Ruthensteiner
Address: Robert-Hamerling-Gasse 24 | 1150, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 200 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price range (per night): $23 - $112
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Ruthensteiner 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Vienna's original independent backpacker's hostel, Hostel Ruthensteiner is the perfect place to stay - with its friendly, international atmosphere in a smoke-free environment. * "One of a kind" and not "one of a chain", our fun hostel is run by family and good friends and is the ideal hostel for the individual traveller or small friends/family group. * Newly renovated, our early 1800's historical building is just a stone's throw from the Westbahnhof Train Station and equidistant between the City Center and lovely Palace Schoenbrunn. Here, weary travelers can rest their bodies and refresh their souls! * "Cleanliness & friendliness" is our motto, helping you feel at home is our passion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Ruthensteiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruthensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing