We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 175
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Expedia.com
USD 163
View deal
Destinia.com
USD 152
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/10/21
Hotels.comUSD 163
TravelocityUSD 163
eDreamsUSD 175
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
148
109
20
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
109
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great stay walking distance floor location city squeaky cathedral district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2019

I really enjoyed my stay here while in Vienna. The main staff members were very helpful and provided a lot of assistance to me in my movement around the city. The beds and rooms were comfortable and its location was optimal for my visit. Short walk to the Stephansplatz and Schwedenplatz as well as a short walk to the other districts. It was affordable as well.

Thank you for the very great experience!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank MarkKovacs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operasuites, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the excellent rating and your kind words! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Until next time!

Your City Pension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

An important factor to choose a hotel is the location.
The Pension City in Vienna has this perfect spot.
Located in a side street away from the busy tourist place of St. Stephanplatz and Kärntner Strasse but access to these sights by foot in 5 Minutes or less, the Pension City has this spot.
In the Mezzanine of an old house but clean, renovated and with comfortable rooms and modern bathrooms, the pension city is a good choice if you stay in Vienna for a few days.
The pension has a small dinning room for breakfast, but not other facilities. This is not a problem because once you step out into the streets, you have a large selection of bars an restaurants in the immediate surroundings.
The reception is only occupied for some hours on the morning and the evening. So you might want to plan your arrival accordingly. The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank htmcrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operasuites, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind review! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Until next time!
Your City Pension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

I am very disappointed with the service and management at City Pension. When booking online I accidentally selected the wrong day and realized my mistake immediately. So I emailed them within 5 minutes of submitting the reservation. I would not have taken any of their business and City Pension would be at no loss. The front house staff said it would be possible if approved by the managers. Once the managers were asked if a refund would be possible even with a fee, they declined. It would cost me the full cost of the booking.
By definition service means "the action of helping or doing work for someone." I see no actions of anyone helping me at this hotel. If I could rate zero stars I would.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operasuites, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Dear guest,

we are very sorry for your disappointment! Unfortunately you have booked a special, non refundable offer through Expedia and we did not have any free rooms for the other date you requested. Please note that non refundable Expedia bookings cannot be refunded by us. We are once again very sorry for the inconvenience!

Your City Pension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019 via mobile

Super nice staff, good looking room, good breakfast, great location. Little price even! The only thing I would fix is the floor beacuse it is squicking in some places but, come on, who cares? :). I would avoid the to come here also for the very near metro

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank girolamop946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operasuites, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind words! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Your City Pension Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

I would highly recommend that you avoid staying at this Pension/Hotel. The "Hotel" is on one floor in a building with other activities. The space itself is very old and somewhat shocking in how run down it is. The entire space of the rooms are very old and appear haven't been changed it many years. The worst part is that when you walk in your space the creaking floor is very loud and you can hear it in the other rooms on the floor. So if you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night everyone on the floor can hear you. We also had an issue with a smell of sewer which they noted was due to the age of the building. They brought in some spray to make it somewhat manageable. We travel every year and often in Europe and tend to stay in middle of the road locations/spaces and our expectations are not cheap nor rich and stay in the middle for price and location. What is also shocking is that they have no staff from 10:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.. The only good thing that we had was the great service by every person that worked there.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operasuites, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Pension City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Dear guest,
we are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time at our City Pension, however, we would like to comment on some of the points mentioned in your review.
Firstly, when you visit our website, we make it very obvious, that our Pension is located inside of a normal building. Considering our incredibly central location, most hotels in our area work this way.
Secondly, we would like to point out that our rooms are regularly serviced and in no way 'run down'.
Thirdly, we are aware of the fact that our floorboards can be a bit noisy, however, due to the historic nature of the building, there is very little we can do to change this.
Again, it is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay here. Regardless, we would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Greetings from Vienna, your hosts from Opera Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews