We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Opera
Ranked #180 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I paid 178 euro for two nights here. What a great deal! Walking distance to the Museumsquarter, Hofburg Palace, Karlsplatz, Secession and Natschmarkt to name just a few key places. For about 80 euro per night I had an apartment with kitchen/eating area, long hallway with bath and a very large bedroom with high ceilings and windows through out. Radiant floor heat as well as radiators, the place was extremely cozy but large. Separate entry area as well as the hotel entrance. The only downside would be if you don't feel like climbing stairs, we were on the 2nd floor(remember europe starts their base floor at 0 not 1 like the States) and there isn't an elevator. Utensils/plateware was minimal. Full Breakfast every morning very very good! Reception was very nice and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimiha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

The photos of the hotel were taken with a magic camera! Rooms and location are not that great. Hotel rooms are small and dirty, leaking sink, old and not updated. Ok place to sleep but very run down. The front desknpeople are friendly, the mattress is uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoeyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This has been the most awful hotel experience I have had. In the mid of winter, the room the hotel has given me has broken heater, temperature was -10C, there was no proper drapes, just those see through ones. It was freezing cold. When the lights was turned on, you can see your neighbour. The bathroom is leaking. No coffee/tea is available in the room though advertisement says it is included. Same old breakfast every single day, gets a bit tiring if you stayed more than one week. Toilet has a bad stench. Will not recommend this to any one!!! This is even after they made the effort to upgrade me to another room. Room is consider expensive considering the quality of it is so POOR.

Room Tip: Don't choose those lousy apartments especially in winter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaci_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I agree with past reviewers - the hotel was clean with lovely staff and a good breakfast. My room was great - I felt it was very generous in size for one person. It was nice and quiet also. The lift was gorgeous! The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was huge. It was very cheap to get a cab/taxi into the centre of town or walk - I didn't catch the metro. Wifi is always a great bonus. It was a tad further from the centre than I usually stay but made for a nice experience walking through the nearby streets and exploring. Priced rather reasonably I'd say it's worth staying here.

Room Tip: I had a room on level 4 (first to the left) and it was great - very quiet and as I mentioned a great...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle_Ame_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Was there with my mom and sister. Location is very good, 15 min walk from the central street where you can shop, 5 min walk from metro. Very close to everything. Our room was good. It was like an apartment, 2 bedrooms, shower and toilet, kitchen with washing machine. Had everything in it. Breakfast was great, had everything in it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#187 of 361 in Vienna
259 reviews
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#212 of 361 in Vienna
146 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#120 of 361 in Vienna
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#242 of 361 in Vienna
236 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#54 of 361 in Vienna
980 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#285 of 361 in Vienna
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Vienna

Been to Hotel Carlton Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Opera

Address: Schikanedergasse 4, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Vienna, Austria, displaying an elegant, yet familiar atmosphere. Fin de Siecle facade with art nouveau influences. Quietly situated, but only a 5 minutes' walk from the heart of Vienna. Located in the traditionally slightly "Bohemian" Freihaus district (Mozart's Magic Flute premiered there), and very close to the Naschmarkt market. Copious breakfast buffet; rooms with air-conditioning, bath/WC, direct-dial-telephone, cable-TV, minibar, free coffee and tea, and a safe. Free internet access in the lobby, as well as a WLAN HotSpot for notebooks. Family rooms and suites are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Carlton Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Opera Hotel
Carlton Opera Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing