We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Italian experience in Vienna”

Osteria del Salento
Ranked #534 of 4,807 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Josefstadt
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This small, cozy, rustic and authentic Osteria is as close as you'll get to southern Italian cuisine, ambiance and hospitality here in Vienna.
The fantastic couple that runs the place has a vivid, colorful Salento style. Giuseppe used to be an activist in social issues and in the underground musical scene back in Italy, and he's carried his passion in the heart of Austria. So, you'll hear a background of traditional pizzica salentina, but also more modern combat-folk Italian bands, stuff that will take your guts and make you feel like dancing.
But of course food is the core business, so let's talk food.
Fully Italian style antipasti are served, and you should let Teresa and Giuseppe serve you with their choice. Pasta is excellent, with tons of seafood or simple tomato sauce. Ask for the special aged ricotta that will add a twist of southern hardcore tastes to the dishes. And easy on the hot chili. It is HOT. And this is from a Calabrese like myself, well accustomed to hot chili peppers.
Octopus is a celebrate dish there, but be sure that you'll have a great Italian experience whatever you pick.
It was a heart-warming, moving dinner. Actually, two dinners. In three days.
You'll see lots of Italians there, which is also usually a good sign. Worth every € you'll pay for the meal, which is in line with Vienna's prices.
I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucasorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We had a relaxed and prolonged diner with friends in this typical italian “ristorante”. Small and cousy restaurant in old traditional italian style with very homley athmosfere. The business owners Juseppe and Terresa are one of the most charming couples which we have met. Juseppe is the shef and Teressa takes care of the serving the food and the drinks. Juseppe,s menu was a complete surprise for our table. For for-corse we had octopus, king shrimps and italian green olives, italian pasta with mussels and tuna fish smoked fillet. Main corse we had grilled medditerranenian fish and all this topped with light italian red wine. For desert home made thirramissy. The food, the wine and this very friendly and warm athomsferre contributes for all of us, guests and stuff, to end up late night singing together italian “canconetti”, laughing and dansing. We will remeber this evening forever and if some day we come again to Vienna we will definately come to this place. Strogly recommended for a diner visit.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Like being on a short visit to Italy in Vienna. Generous portions of seafood, tasty bread, pasta and wonderful tiramisu. The atmosphere is great and everybody seems to enjoy life and have the best of times. Only down side is the smoking policy. As the restaurant is indeed very small, it is recommended to make a reservation.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H5260BCmariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The food is simply amazing! The seafood pasta I could eat every day! The menu is in Italian and German, so if you are English speaking bring a translator, the staff is not English speaking. But don't let this stop you, the service and food is great!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jeanML15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Giuseppe and Teresa make the best authentic Salentinian seafood that can be found in Vienna. Reservation recommended.

Not only is the food excellent, Giuseppe and Teresa are wonderful, caring hosts. You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Salento also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Osteria del Salento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing