We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #105 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel De France in Des 2011. We had a Nice stay- rooms were nice and large. We had free minibar but it wasn't much in it. It wasn't filled up everyday either. They were nice and helpfull at the front desk. We didn't eat at the hotel- breakfast was expencive- so we went to restaurant down the road. We did have a couple of glases with champagne. With the Champagne we got costume made chocolate that was to die for. We enjoyed our stay but felt we were a bit over walking distance in chilly Des for several atractions.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 706 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

A group of 4 friends stayed at the Hotel de France for a week. The r0oms were spacious enough, very clean, although the furnishings were a little outdated. We had free wireless available in our rooms which was a big plus. The daily breakfast buffet was delicious with a nice selection of foods. Service at the bar, restaurants and front desk was very prompt, professional and courteous. There was not a concierge available while we were there which would have been helpful. The hotel is located up the street from a tram and undergrond train stop which made traveling around the city very easy. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Opera House and shopping area. Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kisskait80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My 10-day trip began with two nights at the Hotel de France and ended with one night. I had two differnt type rooms, one in the newer section and one in the old. The older rooms have more charm and diffent bathroom layout. Both rooms had very comfortable beds and great heater/air conditioner. A cheerful greeting each morning by the breakfast room staff and a nice breakfast was a great way to get the day started. Hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre, with public transportation within 1 minute. Book this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notstoppingyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I visit Vienna a couple of times a year. My criteria for choosing this hotel was the 5 star rating, the location, price and the fitness room. The location is great. The price was very good (incl. breakfast) and the fitness room very good. The room however was quite tired looking and the heating could not be adjusted. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not really a 5 star hotel though.

Room Tip: I got room 111 at first which was next to service room and very cramped and noisy with no view. late...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike2bike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed three nights at the Hotel de France over New Year with our 20 year old daughter and her partner. Not cheap but everything in walking distance and not bad for a big european city. We booked two rooms on top floor, both of which were really spacious, one a massive size and which were also very quiet. From our daughter's room we were able to look out over the fabulous fireworks display on New Year's night which was spectacular. The Hotel gave good recommendations for dinner in the city. We had the best breakfast buffet I had in all of Austria, they even cooked fresh eggs any way you wanted if you didn't want the ones on the buffet heating dishes. We had internet issues in the room when we arrived and the response was immediate with 3 people coming to our room to sort the problem within half an hour. Rooms were spotless and well serviced. The main old town area is literally just across the road. Location couldn't have been better especially for New Years Eve with the young folk needing to get in and out of the happenings in the old town quickly and safely.

The last day there we hired the hotel's driver/car for the day to take us to Mauthausen, the Nazi Concentration Camp memorial about 90 mins drive away. It was an amazing/sobering day and for the four of us a good budget alternative to hiring a car. For some reason there appear to be NO tours ( other than private ones) to this important site from Vienna itself and we never even saw it listed in the Main Tourist Information center in the city. We only found it by chance on a google search.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaPhillipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#37 of 361 in Vienna
1,302 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#50 of 361 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#40 of 361 in Vienna
1,256 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 361 in Vienna
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Vienna

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#97 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $165 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing