We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #24 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Bristol over the New Year. It is very conveniently located at the edge of the old city, next to metro stops and the state opera. The staff were helpful and arranged a baby cot in the room as requested. The rooms are a little small, but somewhat compensated by the large marble bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rewaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Allow me to add to your comment, that we do have different sizes of rooms available (as in any other hotel) - ranging from 30 sqm (330 sq feet) up to 45 sqm (490 sq feet). It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Please ask our reservations experts about the different room sizes to ensure you can book your preferred room! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    290
    70
    36
    17
See reviews for
199
560
90
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a top notch hotel in a great city. We stayed 3 night in March. The hotel is in the best location, right beside the opera and very close to most major attractions in Vienna. We did not have to take any transport and walked to everywhere. Being members of Starwood, we were upgraded to a very nice room on the business floor. Room and service was superb. Every night they put chocolates on the bed side table. When we checked in there was a small fresh fruit basket in the room. The breakfast in the morning was great. The concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful with directions. We could not ask for a better hotel and will be back on our next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awningsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for your review which you posted on this forum. It was a pleasure to read your kind feedback about your stay. We are of course delighted about your review. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bristol just prior to Christmas as one of my "bucket list" desires to spend the holidays in Vienna and Munich visiting the Christmas Markets. For us it was a splurge that was truly worthwhile. The central location made sightseeing more than easy. The old world charm and beauty of the hotel fit in perfectly with the "fantasy trip". And, the graciousness of everyone on the staff made us feel as if we were guests who stayed there every month or so. One episode epitomizes the attitude of the staff. We were in the room one evening when housekeeping came by to put out that nights treat. My wife opened the door to her ring (the rooms have doorbells so knocking is not necessary) and noticed that besides the usual treats the housekeeper also had oranges. Thinking that they were in the cart to be used to refill the fruit dish, my wife asked, in her almost understandable German, if we could have two. The housekeeper explained that the oranges were her personal purchase, but before my wife could say anything else she took out two and gave them to us and continued on her way! It may be a small thing, but it is representative of the attitude that we experienced at The Bristol - charm and graciousness from everyone we encountered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theraincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is of course a pleasure to read about your nice stay experience at our property. I absolutely like your story about the Oranges. It are these little touches that we always teach our associates as these really make the difference! Thank you for sharing this on this forum! We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The epitome of gracious elegance, even beyond our expectations as first-time visitors. Comfortable room on the fifth floor, facing the quiet street to the north toward the cathedral tower, a glance left to the Opera House. It took a while to figure out how the light switches worked. Concierge service was immensely and cheerfully helpful, both in advance of our arrival and throughout our stay (for Lippizaner and concert tickets, restaurant reservations, travel directions). Didn’t have any meals at the hotel except one breakfast; found the second-floor dining rooms where breakfast is served to be a bit tired and nondescript; could be done up nicely to evoke a coffeehouse/café ambiance. I’ll never be fully comfortable with a duvet, but that’s the price I pay for loving to visit Europe. Can’t comment how the bedrooms compared to the other “big three” hotels (Imperial, Sacher) but the public rooms on the ground floor are much more sedate, bright, and logically laid out than the two others seem to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hentyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Bristol. We will look into your comments regarding breakfast, however allow me to add that the breakfast was served only during the Festive season last December on the first floor. Usually breakfast is being served at our main Restaurant 'Korso'. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future!
Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our experience at The Bristol was amazing. The hotel has so much charm. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms look like they are out of a 17th century period piece. The minute we walked in the door (held open by the helpful and friendly doorman) we knew we had picked the right hotel. We had a car rental and my husband was dropping me and our luggage off so he could go and return the rental car. The doorman informed my hubby they could return the car for us. Ummm...how amazing is that? A-MAZE-ING.

The hotel is in such a good location. Everything at your fingertips...walking, public transportation, book stores, restaurants, shopping.

The concierge and staff (as mentioned above) were top notch. They were ready to jump at your every whim. The concierge assisted us with concert tickets, tourist attraction tickets, and public transportation tickets. He had great recommendations and getting around the city was so simple with his help. We honestly didn't have to think about a single thing. It was all taken care of...worry free. This is, by far, the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Madame, Sir

Thank you for your review posted on this web site. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It makes us very proud to receive such great comments about our staff. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#23 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): $347 - $573
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing