We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great New Year's interlude at this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #74 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great New Year's interlude at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here for six days over New Year and enjoyed the experience thoroughly. From the moment I entered the foyer, I was well looked after by the staff of the Intercontinental. I opted to stay in the Club rooms ; this entitled me to access to the top floor lounge where tasty morsels of food, soups and a great selection of drinks were available to customers whenever they were in the mood for grazing. The lounge also boasts panoramic views of Vienna. A relaxing place in which to have breakfast, a light lunch or a couple of drinks before heading out to the theatre/concert halls in the evening.

The staff could not have been kinder to me. The concierge is a mine of information about different Viennese locations. There is also a great guy who runs the casual restaurant adjacent to the bar in the main lobby. He serves the food and drinks with an elan which conjures up visions of the era in which Viennese hospitality was second to none. Around tne corner from the hotel, there is a great ice rink, where my two nieces learned to ice skate over the six days of the holiday.

The hotel is in a central location. Six or seven minutes walk away from the Central Railway Station, and about ten minutes walk from Stefansdom. There is also an S-bahn station just across the road from the hotel. Using this particular station, you can travel directly to Schonbrunn Palace in the space of about fifteen minutes.

If I had one small quibble about the hotel, it would be that the rooms are not all that large. But they are very comfortable and their size did not detract from my overall experience of the Intercontinental hotel. Indeed, when we returned from the fireworks displays on New Year's Eve, the lobby was really humming with the excitement and adrenalin-rush of the occasion. We spent a couple of hours there taking in the vista ahd watching humanity of all sizes, shapes and ages unleash itself with brio onto the dance floor beside the bar. Great craic (the Irish expression for fun and devilment!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Insightful,

Being one of tripadvisor's Top Contributors, I was especially delighted to receive such a wonderful review from you.

Of course, New Years is a very special time of year to be in Vienna and the InterContinental Vienna is certainly one of the best places to stay.

Our guests all rave about the Club Floor rooms and the Club Lounge, with it's great views of the city and the many nice amenities that we offer throughout the day.

Thank you also for mentioning our attentive and knowledgeable staff, they all take great pride in their profession and it shows.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Vienna in the not too distant future. There is so much to do and see in this beautiful city.

Safe travels

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    671
    220
    62
    34
See reviews for
251
693
87
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lome, Togo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Located in the very heart of Vienna, just across the Stadtpark's U-bahn station, it certainly is at a premium location for enjoying what Vienna has best to offer.

Being a building from the 1960's, it is nice to see the changes that occurred through time.

The front office staff is very polite and security aware.
The only exception goes for the bellboys. INSIDE the property - they are very helpful. However, to drag your suitcase across the the entrance stairs, there was no one to be seen.
There is a secondary entrance on the side that is at street level, but you only are aware of this once you get inside.

The room is of average size, but the toilet is very small. You can't fit two people at the same time.

The club lounge on the 12th floor has very nice views over Vienna's skyline.
It is reasonably stocked. I really enjoyed the wasabi nuts.

The TV was still and old CRT set.
The big downside of the hotel is the exorbitant price of the internet.
With other chains offering the internet as a compliment, it is time to say we are not in the 1990s anymore, and paying 25 euros for 24 hour access, is probably more that many european households pay monthly for that service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear pjso,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

My apologies for not assisting you with your luggage. However, I did note that you rated our Front Office staff highly.

Our TVs are actually all LCD screens throughout the hotel, I'm guessing you saw the CRT TV at another hotel?

I'm hoping you will be staying at the InterContinental Vienna again soon, we will save some of those great Wasabi nuts in the Club Lounge for you.

Best wishes,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel in May on a trip with my 23 year old daughter and requested two beds on my reservation. I was given a room with two twin beds pushed together and made up as a single bed. When I told the front desk about the situation, they told me that I could push the beds apart myself if i needed to (now this is suppose to be a 4 plus star hotel). When I asked for two beds again, I was downgraded to a smaller room with a double bed and was given a cot. I slept on the cot which was a bit nicer than my 10th grade boyscout bed. Magagement should be fired. I am a Platinum member of Priority Club, Intercontinentals VIP membership club, so membership obviously has it's advantages.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear DrC55

Thank you very much for your feedback. As a Senior Reviewer your comments are especially valuable to us.

I was very surprised to learn about your bedding issues and of course discussed it immediately with the team. Separating beds as you had requested is certainly not unusual in any way and something we do almost on a daily basis. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding on our part, for which I would like to apologize.

The new room that you were given as per your request was actually the identical room category, but perhaps due to the fact that the twin beds were separated may have appeared smaller.

I am very sorry that you were given the impression that our staff is not helpful; I would like to assure you of the contrary.

I sincerely hope that you will be returning to Vienna in the not too distant future and that we can reinstate your confidence in our hotel and InterContinental Hotels in general.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

A stay at the intercontinental Vienna allows you to combine the best of both worlds: The hotel lobby, bar and restaurants in the old viennoise style and the rooms and suites with modern equipment and excellent broadband internet connection. Also the sports facilities is excellent. Only drawback is the lack of a swimming pool.

Please take some time for a walk in the "Stadtpark" just in front of the hotel. A nice, charming park which wil delight you by its mix of "ancient stones" and beautifully treated fowers and plants. Something you will never forget.

The service is perfect. They will remember your name already on your second stay !

There are also lots of pleasant restaurants all around the location. Just leave the hotel and turn left and you will find left of the "Stadtpark" towards the center of the old town en enormous variety of restaurants, certain to appeal to any taste.

Room Tip: If you have a priority club card and you upgrade it to an intercontinental card you will - depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Fantastic location, nice rooms, very grand style older hotel. We really enjoyed our time in Vienna and also staying at the InterContinental. The rooms were nice, small but very nicely done and comfortable. We had a lovely view over the park. It was only a short walk to the major tourist attractions (Spanish Riding school, shopping street, palace etc). Vienna is such a beautiful, romantic and pretty city - even in the height of Winter. We went to the opera on the Saturday night and even though the Opera itself wasn't the best, the atmosphere was sensational.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneysidersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hilton Vienna
#106 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#87 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#43 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): $176 - $376
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing